Schoenecker Law Library
651-962-4900
1000 LaSalle Ave.
Minneapolis, MN 55403
Reference Librarians
lawreference@stthomas.edu
(651) 962-4902
Reference Hours
Circulation/ILL
lawcirc@stthomas.edu
(651) 962-4900
Library Hours
Use alongside a casebook for topical coverage and analysis with a concentration on key cases and statutes.
Advanced Criminal Procedure in a Nutshell by
Designed for use as supplemental reading in an advanced criminal procedure course on the post-investigation processing of a criminal case. Includes a clear, concise, and thorough narrative explanation of the issues involved in the prosecution and adjudication of a criminal case, from the decision to prosecute and pre-trial release through to sentencing, appeal and collateral attack. Ideal reference for students and practitioners.
Examples and Explanations for Criminal Procedure by
A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.
A Short and Happy Guide to Criminal Procedure by
Description Coming Soon!
Understanding Criminal Procedure Volume 1, Investigation by
Table of contents: Introduction to criminal procedure -- Overarching policy issues in criminal procedure -- Incorporation of the Bill of Rights -- Fourth Amendment : overview -- Fourth Amendment : "persons, houses, papers, and effects" -- Fourth Amendment terminology : "search" -- Fourth Amendment terminology : "seizure" -- Fourth Amendment : "probable cause" -- Arrests -- Search warrants : in general -- Warrantless searches : exigent circumstances -- Searches incident to lawful arrests -- Searches of cars and containers therein -- "Plain view" and related doctrines -- Inventory searches -- Consent searches -- Terry v. Ohio : the "reasonableness" balancing standard in criminal investigations -- More "reasonableness" balancing : searches and seizures primarily conducted for noncriminal law purposes -- Fourth Amendment : standing -- Fourth Amendment : exclusionary rule -- Interrogation law : overview -- Interrogation law : due process clause -- Interrogation law : privilege against compelled self-incrimination -- Interrogation law : Miranda v. Arizona -- Interrogation law : Sixth Amendment right to counsel -- Eyewitness identification procedures -- Entrapment -- The right to counsel : at trial and on appeal.
Understanding Criminal Procedure Volume 2, Adjudication by
Understanding Criminal Procedure is primarily designed for law students and is organized and written so that both students and professors can use it with confidence to better prepare for courses and improve classroom dialogue. The two- volume format allows you to purchase one or both volumes based on the topics covered in your course. Already cited extensively in scholarly literature and judicial opinions, scholars, practicing lawyers and courts will also find the expanded content of this newest edition indispensable. Inside you'll find extensive coverage of the most important United States Supreme Court cases and discussion of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, federal statutes, and lower federal and state court cases. Overarching policy issues are considered extensively, and some of the hottest debates in the field are considered with high-quality and objective analysis. The user-friendly organization of the text helps you develop a comprehensive understanding of broad topics, or refine your focus with intuitive subsections that help you find answers to pressing questions more efficiently. Citations to important scholarship, both classic and recent, help you to expand and refine your research on specific topics with ease, and footnotes include cross-references within the text to help you easily move to different chapters and subsections to understand how topics are inter-related. This first volume, Investigation, is intended for use in introductory criminal procedure courses focusing primarily or exclusively on police investigative process and constitutional concerns. A chapter on the defendant's right to counsel at trial and appeal and other non-police-practice issues is included in both volumes to allow greater flexibility based on the design of particular courses. The second volume, Adjudication covers the criminal process after the police investigation ends and the adjudicative process commences. It is most useful in more
Looking for a little more in-depth coverage? Try these treatises covering significant cases and policy discussions.
Criminal Procedure by
This title analyzes the law governing all major steps in the criminal justice process, beginning with investigation and ending with post-appeal collateral attacks. All major themes are covered, with emphasis upon those basic issues deemed most significant in the case law and literature. Because of their special importance, leading Supreme Court opinions are given in-depth treatment. All Hornbook sections are cross-referenced to comparable sections of the authors' 7-volume Criminal Procedure treatise (readily available on Westlaw database CRIMPROC) containing more detailed analysis and citations to additional supporting authorities.
Principles of Criminal Procedure by
This book gives you everything you need to know about basic criminal procedure principles, presented in a no-nonsense fashion. It includes references to recent, relevant decisions handed down by the United States Supreme Court. In addition, Principles of Criminal Procedure contains helpful study devices such as "focal points" at the beginning of each chapter, and "points to remember" at the end of each section. This is the only study aid you will need to help you understand basic criminal procedure principles in U.S. law.
Outlines include explanations of the black letter law. Checklists provide an explanation of the law and a list of what to consider when examining an issue.
Acing Criminal Procedure by
This product presents in checklist format the series of issues that must be understood in order to identify and resolve the range of legal issues presented in an examination question. Checklists are provided for all topics generally covered in the basic criminal procedure course.
Black Letter Outline on Basic Criminal Procedure by
Description Coming Soon!
Worried about what the exam might look like? Practice with multiple choice, short answer, and essays with
these study aids.
Criminal Procedure by
In a criminal procedure class, students are asked to determine whether a citizen's constitutional rights were violated, and this question is consistently posed under a myriad of factual circumstances. In order to answer the query, students would need to examine and discuss the United States Supreme Court's interpretations of the Fourth, Fifth, Sixth, and Fourteenth Amendments of the US Constitution, identifying many tests and standards from those examinations and spirited discussions. Criminal Procedure: Model Problems and Outstanding Answers documents a few of the United States Supreme Court's tests and standards from these amendments to provide a more accurate assessment of whether a "right" under the Constitution has retained its full vitality, or whether it has been modified or made less vital than originally intended. Oxford University Press equips students with an accessible guide to acing challenging criminal procedure law exams. In Criminal Procedure: Model Problems and Outstanding Answers, Carlton Bailey helps students demonstrate their knowledge of criminal procedure in the structured and sophisticated manner that professors expect on law school exams. This book provides clear introductions on the fundamental topics in criminal procedure, provides hypotheticals similar to those that students can expect to see on an exam (including multi-issue questions), and offers model answers to those hypotheticals. Professor Bailey then coaches students in how to evaluate their own work with a comprehensive self-analysis section. This book prepares students by challenging them to use the law they learn in class while also explaining the best way to express sophisticated answers on law school exams.
Exam Pro on Criminal Procedure (Objective) by
This study aid will enhance understanding of criminal procedure and sharpen exam skills. There are three comprehensive sample examinations, containing 40 questions each. It contains answers that explain why one choice is correct and why the alternatives are wrong.
Questions and Answers by
This book and its companion, Q&A: Criminal Procedure - Prosecution and Adjudication, will assist readers' learning and exam preparation in criminal procedure courses and for the bar exam. This volume covers arrest, search and seizure, interrogation, identification, suppression issues, and entrapment.