Law Study Aids

Examples and Explanations for the Law of Torts by Joseph W. Glannon A favorite among successful students, and often recommended by professors, the unique Examples & Explanations series gives you extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester. Use at the beginning and midway through the semester to deepen your understanding through clear explanations, corresponding hypothetical fact patterns, and analysis. Then use to study for finals by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the accompanying analysis. Designed to complement your casebook, the trusted Examples & Explanations titles get right to the point in a conversational, often humorous style that helps you learn the material each step of the way and prepare for the exam at the end of the course. The unique, time-tested Examples & Explanations series is invaluable to teach yourself the subject from the first day of class until your last review before the final. Each guide: helps you learn new material by working through chapters that explain each topic in simple language challenges your understanding with hypotheticals similar to those presented in class provides valuable opportunity to study for the final by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the corresponding analysis quickly gets to the point in conversational style laced with humor remains a favorite among law school students is often recommended by professors who encourage the use of study guides works with ALL the major casebooks, suits any class on a given topic provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures

The Oxford Introductions to U. S. Law by John C. P. Goldberg; Benjamin C. Zipursky Torts - personal injury law - is a fundamental yet controversial part of our legal system. The Oxford Introductions to U.S. Law: Torts provides a clear and comprehensive account of what tort law is, how it works, what it stands to accomplish, and why it is now much-disputed. Goldberg andZipursky - two of the world's most prominent tort scholars - carefully analyze leading judicial decisions and prominent tort-related legislation, and place each event into its proper context. Topics covered include products liability, negligence, medical malpractice, intentional torts, defamationand privacy torts, punitive damages, and tort reform.

A Short and Happy Guide to Torts by Roger Schechter In this updated and refreshed version of his concise book Professor Schechter, an award-winning teacher and prominent national bar lecturer, has balanced brevity and humor with a clear, crisp, and accessible review of basic Torts doctrine. His comprehensive survey includes not only thorough coverage of core topics such as negligence and strict products liability, but an overview of economic and dignitary torts, damages issues, and vicarious liability as well. This best-selling, highly rated Torts book has proven hugely popular with students. As the series title promises, the author has kept it short, and the book will make students happy.

Torts in a Nutshell by Edward Kionka A clear, concise, current, and authoritative explanation of all of the most important U.S. tort law doctrines, including those covered in first-year torts courses in law schools. Coverage includes tort law origins and objectives; causation; strict liability; negligence liability and defenses; intentional tort liability and defenses; special liability rules (premises liability, products liability, employers, etc.); damages; tort and contract; immunities; wrongful death and survival; defamation; privacy; misrepresentation.

Understanding Torts by John Diamond; Lawrence Levine; Anita Bernstein This Understanding treatise is the perfect complement to first-year tort courses and is suitable for use with any tort casebook. Concise and authoritative, Understanding Torts features: Comprehensive and up-to-date coverage of intentional torts, privileges, negligence, cause-in-fact, proximate cause, defenses, joint and several liability, damages, strict liability, products liability, economic torts, malicious prosecution, abuse of process, defamation, and invasion of privacy; Judicious use of footnotes to provide full, but not overwhelming, primary and secondary support for textual propositions; Clear organization and writing to enhance understanding of basic concepts and major cases covered in a torts course; and In-depth analysis of topics that generate the greatest confusion and controversy. This edition includes explanation and analysis of new Restatement (Third) Intentional Tort provisions including battery, assault, false imprisonment, and transferred intent as well as new Liability for Economic Harm and Misuse of Legal Process provisions. It pays attention to technology as a source of change in tort law, providing numerous examples from recent decisions on conversion, trespass to chattel, products liability, privacy, and defamation.

Acing Tort Law by Shubha Ghosh This study aid features an innovative method of content organization. It uses a checklist format to lead students through questions they need to ask to fully evaluate the legal problem they are trying to solve. It also synthesizes the material in a way that most students are unable to do on their own, and assembles the different issues, presenting a clear guide to procedural analysis that students can draw upon when writing their exams. Other study aids provide sample problems, but none offers the systematic approach to problem solving found in this book combined with concise analytical summaries of the leading issues in tort law.

Black Letter Outline on Torts by Edward Kionka; Jamie Abrams; Angi Porter Black Letter Outlines are designed to help law students and novice lawyers state clear legal rules, describe underlying tort principles, and apply those rules and principles to client representations and other real-world scenarios. Readers can use Black Letter Outlines as a study aid when preparing for classes, as a subject-matter review when studying for course or bar examinations, and as a convenient and easily-navigable refresher for the novice lawyer. Black Letter Outlines are written by experienced law school professors who are recognized national authorities in their subject area. New authors Abrams and Porter bring a niche expertise that combines their years of tort law practice experience with their classroom teaching experience and their added lenses of bar exam readiness instruction and inclusive pedagogy expertise. This Torts Outline particularly helps students see the major tort causes of action, developments and trajectory shifts in the field, and representative practice problems. It is a useful tool in helping aspiring Torts mavens at once see the big picture of Torts while also refining their precision in stating its rules and validating their knowledge by measuring content acquisition.

Exam Pro on Torts (Objective) by John Bauman; Ronald Eades This product is a study aid that helps law students prepare to take their torts exam. Students gain a more thorough understanding of torts and a better understanding of how to take exams by taking the sample objective exams and reviewing the corresponding answers and analysis.

Questions and Answers: Torts by Anita Bernstein Questions & Answers: Torts offers a thorough review of torts that fits with all versions of a typical torts course. It provides an effective review of doctrinal material at relatively low cost in both time and money. The thorough index and table of contents enable users to easily locate any topic in the torts syllabus. An extended practice exam chapter, which does not announce which topics are covered, gives users the option of "hiding the ball" when testing themselves. The principal technology of this book is the multiple choice question. Each one gives four alternative answers--and with no evasions like "all of the above" or "B and C only"--along with explanations that have been road-tested with torts students for utility and clarity. In recognition of bar exam and academic support considerations, the fifth edition has increased the percentage of questions that are multiple choice, while retaining short answers that give users a chance to put doctrine into their own words. Some questions are relatively easy, and a few are relatively hard. Many questions are written as anecdotes with human characters to simulate the case method of instruction, while others ask about abstract points. Although core doctrine fills most of this book, it also includes jurisprudential material like economic analysis and policy questions. The index labels these jurisprudential questions as "theory/policy" for ease of identification.