Law Study Aids

Criminal Law in a Nutshell by Joseph Kennedy; Arnold H. Loewy This guide helps you gain an overview of and develop perspective on the area of criminal law. It is organized into eight sections for quick reference. Expert discussion explores punishment, specific crimes, and the ingredients of a crime such as mens rea and actus reus. Other topics covered include special defenses, the burden of proof, and inchoate and group criminality. It also reflects on the limitations of criminal law.

Examples and Explanations for Criminal Law by Shima Baradaran Baughman Employing the unique, time-tested Examples & Explanations pedagogy, Examples & Explanations: Criminal Law combines textual material with well-written and comprehensive examples, explanations, and questions to test students' comprehension of the materials and to provide practice in applying information to fact patterns. The questions, which often raise a variety of issues in one fact situation, are similar to those on a law school or bar examination.   New to the Ninth Edition: Discussion of self-defense and police use of force issues Discussion of changes in model penal code rape law Interesting hypothetical situations based on real cases in recent years   Professors and students will benefit from: Updated materials--utilizes well-known cases that have not made the appellate courts or even gone to litigation to make the material current and easily applicable Explanations include analysis of both prosecution and defense--this pedagogical approach provides valuable exam-writing skills for students Readable and accessible--often incorporates popular culture and humor to spark interest in students Highly recommended as the most popular preparation resource for Criminal Law-- including by Atticus Falcon, author of Planet Law School, an orientation guide for students about to begin law school Straightforward presentation--clear, introductory text enables students to understand and apply principles Visual aids--tables and charts demonstrate legal standards and concepts

Kennedy's a Short and Happy Guide to Criminal Law, 3d by Joseph Kennedy This book leaves newcomers to criminal law with what they need most: key concepts they can remember! Too many criminal law guides bury the novice in detailed rules when nine times out of ten mastery of the fundamental concepts is the key to success on the exam or in practice. Remembering these concepts is made easier by a "forest before the trees" organization and the use of quirky, often funny examples that stick the concepts to the reader's memory. Outlines of key doctrinal points for each chapter are included. You'll laugh and learn. Bonus chapters offer valuable tips for students on how to succeed in the study of the law. This third edition includes updates to the doctrines of felony murder, rape, and diminished capacity and a short section on abolitionism.

Understanding Criminal Law by Joshua Dressler This comprehensive and clearly written Understanding treatise is frequently cited by scholars and courts in their analysis of substantive criminal law, and has been a popular source of assistance to criminal law students for the past quarter century. Understanding Criminal Law is designed to be taught in conjunction with any casebook. The topics covered are those most often raised in criminal law casebooks, and coverage of these subjects is meant to complement professors' classroom discussions. The text focuses on the basic elements of, and defenses to, all crimes; provides in-depth coverage of such crimes as homicide, rape, and theft; and covers other important topics covered in the Criminal Law course, such as accomplice and inchoate liability. Understanding Criminal Law also covers theories of punishment, sources of the criminal law, and overarching principles such as legality and proportionality. The common law is emphasized with extensive comparisons to the Model Penal Code and modern statutes. This edition offers the most significant updating ever, including coverage of quickly-changing legal areas, such as sexual assault and self-defense law. Recent and ongoing revisions to the Model Penal Code are also covered.

Burkoff's Acing Criminal Law, a Checklist Approach to Criminal Law, 5th by John Burkoff This study aid features an innovative method of content organization. It uses a checklist format to lead students through questions they need to ask to fully evaluate the legal problem they are trying to solve. It also synthesizes the material in a way that most students are unable to do on their own, and assembles the different issues, presenting a clear guide to procedural analysis that students can draw upon when writing their exams. Other study aids provide sample problems, but none offer the systematic approach to problem solving found in this book.

Black Letter Outline on Criminal Law by Joshua Dressler Black Letter Outlines are designed to help a law student recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a law school course. Black Letter Outlines can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and as a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination. Each Black Letter Outline is written by experienced law school professors who are recognized national authorities in their subject area. This Outline covers the basic components of all crimes, as well as defenses to crimes. The offenses of criminal homicide, sexual assault, and the theft crimes are covered in detail. The Outline covers common law doctrine, modern statutory trends, and the Model Penal Code.

Exam Pro on Criminal Procedure (Objective) by Mary Cheh This study aid will enhance understanding of criminal procedure and sharpen exam skills. There are three comprehensive sample examinations, containing 42 questions each. It contains answers that explain why one choice is correct and why the alternatives are wrong.

Criminal Law by Kathryn Christopher; Russell Christopher Law students often find criminal law to be one of the most interesting, but also one of the most difficult courses. Even the fundamental elements of criminal liability can be hard to learn and even harder to apply on exams. The study of criminal law demands that students juggle a mix of commonlaw principles, modern judicial decisions, statutory text, the Model Penal Code, and philosophies of justice to address the enduring dilemmas that comprise criminal law.In Criminal Law: Model Problems and Outstanding Answers, Kathryn Christopher and Russell Christopher deftly guide students in applying criminal law. Their interesting and accessible fact patterns explore important principles surrounding homicide and rape, attempt and conspiracy, accomplice liabilityand defenses, and devote special attention to difficult doctrines like impossible attempt and felony murder. This book includes clear introductions to the major topics in criminal law, provides hypotheticals that students can expect to see on exams, and offers model answers to those hypotheticals.It then gives students the opportunity to evaluate their own work with a comprehensive self-analysis section. This book prepares students by challenging them to use the law they learn in class while also explaining the best way to express sophisticated answers on their exams.Model Problems and Outstanding Answers is an innovative new series by Oxford University Press. Featuring topical introductions and clear fact patterns, each book contains exercises designed to help students develop methods to craft organized, relevant, and thoughtful responses to exam-stylequestions. These exercises show the student how to think like a lawyer. By guiding students to the most appropriate ways to apply their knowledge to new facts, the series offers meaningful and significant preparation for law school exams and bar-exam essays.

Exam Pro Essay on Criminal Law by John M. Burkoff This study aid contains more than 100 essay questions, some of which focus on specific subject areas, and some of which examine a number of interwoven topics. Together, these questions survey all of the material covered in a typical criminal law course. Each question is accompanied by a comprehensive model answer that can be used to foster a deeper understanding of criminal law and to show students exactly how to apply the rules they learned in class on an actual exam.

Questions and Answers by Emily Marcus Levine; Paul Marcus This study guide includes over 150 multiple-choice and short-answer questions arranged topically for ease of use during the semester, plus an additional set of 16 questions comprising a comprehensive "practice exam."