Schoenecker Law Library
651-962-4900
1000 LaSalle Ave.
Minneapolis, MN 55403
Reference Librarians
lawreference@stthomas.edu
(651) 962-4902
Reference Hours
Circulation/ILL
lawcirc@stthomas.edu
(651) 962-4900
Library Hours
Use alongside a casebook for topical coverage and analysis with a concentration on key cases and statutes.
Franzese's a Short and Happy Guide to the Law of Sales by
Learn the UCC from a master teacher. Professor Paula A. Franzese, featured in What the Best Law Teachers Do (Harvard University Press), is the ten-time recipient of the Professor of the Year Award and the creator and editor of the Short and Happy Guide series. This efficient and concise volume sets forth clear rules and techniques for mastering the elements of contract formation, content, performance, breach and remedies. Complex topics such as the battle of the forms, the statute of frauds, the parol evidence rule, excuse doctrine, warranties, buyer's remedies and seller's remedies are presented in straightforward, easy to understand terms. The examples are fun and engaging, and the checklists and summaries contained at the beginning and end of each chapter are priceless study tools. Read this book and become a Code connoisseur and legal ninja!
Principles of Sales Law by
This book provides a comprehensive introduction to Articles 1 and 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code (UCC). It provides a useful resource for students and practitioners dealing with sales or contract issues. Students of contracts or sales and any practitioner dealing with sales or contracts issues will profit from this book's use.
Examples and Explanations for Sales and Leases by
A favorite among successful students, and often recommended by professors, the unique Examples & Explanations series gives you extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester. Use at the beginning and midway through the semester to deepen your understanding through clear explanations, corresponding hypothetical fact patterns, and analysis. Then use to study for finals by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the accompanying analysis. Designed to complement your casebook, the trusted Examples & Explanations titles get right to the point in a conversational, often humorous style that helps you learn the material each step of the way and prepare for the exam at the end of the course. The unique, time-tested Examples & Explanations series is invaluable to teach yourself the subject from the first day of class until your last review before the final. Each guide: helps you learn new material by working through chapters that explain each topic in simple language challenges your understanding with hypotheticals similar to those presented in class provides valuable opportunity to study for the final by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the corresponding analysis quickly gets to the point in conversational style laced with humor remains a favorite among law school students is often recommended by professors who encourage the use of study guides works with ALL the major casebooks, suits any class on a given topic provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures
Sales and Leases of Goods in a Nutshell by
The fifth edition of Sales and Leases of Goods in a Nutshell is an invaluable resource for those studying Articles 2 and 2A of the UCC. The Nutshell begins with a discussion of when Article 2 versus Article 2A applies to a transaction; the relationship among Articles 2, 2A, and 9; and the predominant purpose test. Early chapters cover contract formation; the Statute of Frauds and the parol evidence rule; assignment and delegation; warranties, including a short discussion of Magnuson-Moss; unconscionability; and good faith purchasers, subsequent lessees, and sublessees. The last half of the Nutshell begins with performance issues, such as the perfect tender rule; acceptance, rejection, and revocation of acceptance; cure; risk of loss; and excuse. Anticipatory repudiation and the adequate assurance doctrine are covered. The Nutshell closes with an extensive examination of the remedy provisions of Article 2 and 2A, as well as the UCC's rules on the liquidation and limitation of remedies. More than 150 examples in the text - drawn from the case law, the commentaries for the UCC and the Restatement, and the author's teaching hypotheticals - demonstrate how the UCC's language operates in practice. In addition, several diagrams and flowcharts provide the reader with a user-friendly illustration of difficult concepts, such as the Battle of the Forms.
Sales Law, Domestic and International by
Authoritative coverage describes and analyzes the law of sales under Article 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code, as well as under the United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods. Text provides the framework for sales and governing law, contract formation, implied terms, formal requirements, performance, and risk of loss. Also covers remedies, the rights to goods, and documentary sales.