Schoenecker Law Library
651-962-4900
1000 LaSalle Ave.
Minneapolis, MN 55403
Reference Librarians
lawreference@stthomas.edu
(651) 962-4902
Reference Hours
Circulation/ILL
lawcirc@stthomas.edu
(651) 962-4900
Library Hours
Great to use alongside a casebook for topical coverage and analysis with a concentration on key cases and statutes.
Contracts in a Nutshell by
This Nutshell provides a comprehensive guide to the law of contracts. It contains detailed explanations of contract concepts under both the common law and Article 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code, as well as the basics of restitution law. It also provides an extensive introduction to contracts in the digital age.
Contracts by
Examples and Explanations for Contract Law, Eighth Edition by Brian Blum provides new updates and additional cases for contract law in the student-loved Examples and Explanations format. The Examples and Explanations Series provides hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow modern contract law students to test their knowledge of the topics and compare their own analysis to the provided explanation. New to the Eighth Edition: New up-to-date cases in every chapter. Substantially rewritten text for added clarity and accessibility. New hypothetical illustrations in the text and new or revised examples and explanations. Professors and students will benefit from: Additional cases and updates to the text and examples while remaining faithful to the conception of a clear and accessible text, aimed at students in the basic contracts course. Diagrams as visual aids throughout to aid in understanding. A focus on recent cases and included discussion of contemporary issues, particularly in the field of standard contracting. Coverage of all the topics that are likely to be taught in the basic contracts course and included coverage of UCC Article 2 to the extent appropriate in a contracts course. A brief transnational perspective on each topic covered.
A Short and Happy Guide to Contracts by
This efficient and exceedingly effective guide to Contracts will help you see the big picture. The authors focus on making the key concepts of contract law, and the relationship among those concepts, easier to understand and retain. The authors have also infused the book with humor, believing there is nothing inconsistent between a rigorous academic experience and having a little fun. Each of the authors is nationally-renowned law teacher who has taught Contracts for decades. Based on that experience, in this book they have set forth understandable techniques for mastering the law governing each critical aspect of the contract relationship, including, contract formation (offer and acceptance), enforcement (consideration and defenses), interpretation, performance, breach, and remedies.
Understanding Contracts by
Understanding Contracts was written with the understanding that Contracts will be one of the most challenging courses first-year law students will take. It explains how key concepts apply in several recurring basic fact patterns. It then builds on those fact patterns to explain how the law is more difficult to apply in business transactions with more complex facts. A key feature of Understanding Contracts, that is not found in other similar books, is its conscious incorporation of basic explanations of the common business practices to which the law of contracts applies. The feature helps students, many of whom have not had any background in the business world, understand contract law in the business settings in which it frequently applies. The book also provides detailed topic headings that students can use to develop their own comprehensive course outline.
Looking for a little more in-depth coverage? Try these treatises covering significant cases and policy discussions on modern Contract Law.
Chirelstein's Concepts and Case Analysis in the Law of Contracts, 7th (Concepts and Insights Series) by
Recommended in more than 100 schools, the updated seventh edition of Concepts and Case Analysis in the Law of Contracts is a readable primer that offers first-year law students a reliable overview of the major themes and leading cases in the field of the law of contracts. This contracts primer is straightforward and uncluttered, covering the main themes of the first-year contracts course, together with related cases.
Farnsworth on Contracts by
Bring the expertise of America's foremost authority on contracts into your practice with this comprehensive three-volume set. Farnsworth on Contracts, Fourth Edition is where doctrine meets practice. Now in loose-leaf format, this ultimate guide to contracts is designed to increase readability and usefulness for practitioners while providing the most up-to-date content. In the years since the prior edition, contracts law has developed in both anticipated and surprising ways. Arbitration agreements became even more common, and the Supreme Court upended a significant body of state caselaw regarding their enforceability. Online contracting became more common and more complex. Courts were joined by legislators and administrative agencies in setting new limits on contracts. Accordingly, the previous edition had been supplemented with authorities confirming the doctrines described in the prose, building nuances onto them, and questioning or completely departing from them. The new edition retains most of the earlier supplemental material and overall structure of the book, but reorganizes the content to present changes in the law more clearly and to collect all relevant material in areas that are seeing the most litigation. It also moves to a looseleaf format, so future developments can be incorporated seamlessly and accessed efficiently. Busy practitioners count on Farnsworth's proven ability to identify the essentials and omit extraneous material. His comprehensive coverage of the full range of contract law answers questions in hundreds of important areas, including: Good faith and fair dealing Precontractual liability Agreements to negotiate Vienna Convention on International Sales Contracts UNIDROIT principles Constitututional issues Settlement of disputed claims by check Options and rights of first refusal Employee handbooks Covenants not to compete Self-help measures Farnsworth illustrates how contemporary contract law has been shaped by both the Restatement (Second) of Contracts -- for which he served as Reporter -- and the Uniform Commercial Code. Easy access to specifics, new cases, new drafting tips, new references, and timesaving features like cross-referenced cases and marginal headings make this three-volume set a valuable resource for contracts research and practice, including litigation and arbitration. Farnsworth on Contracts, Fourth Edition is the most authoritative contracts treatise available. Previous Edition: Farnsworth on Contracts, Third Edition, SKU 10045540-7777
Worried about what a Contracts exam might look like? Practice with multiple choice, short answer, and essays with these study aids.
Exam Pro on Contracts, Objective by
Brain's Exam Pro on Contracts, Objective Questions includes over 330 objective questions covering every substantive area of Contract Law. Each answer choice explains why each answer is either correct or incorrect. Elements and rules are explained in easy-to-understand language, with a step-by-step guide on how to analyze question-types. Liberal citation to applicable sections of the Restatement (Second) Contracts, the Uniform Commercial Code, and important contract law cases, allows the students to match a question to his or her outline and class discussion. Exam preparation tips include how to prepare for graded exams, how professors construct multiple choice questions, and how to avoid common "distracters."
Questions and Answers by
Understand better what you're learning in Contracts class and prepare effectively for exams by applying concepts as you learn them. This study guide includes 230 multiple-choice and short-answer questions arranged topically for ease of use during the semester, plus an additional set of 20 questions comprising a comprehensive "practice exam."
Brain's Exam Pro on Contracts, Essay by
Softbound - New, softbound print book.