Schoenecker Law Library
651-962-4900
1000 LaSalle Ave.
Minneapolis, MN 55403
Reference Librarians
lawreference@stthomas.edu
(651) 962-4902
Reference Hours
Circulation/ILL
lawcirc@stthomas.edu
(651) 962-4900
Library Hours
Use alongside a casebook for topical coverage and analysis with a concentration on key cases and statutes.
Environmental Law in a Nutshell by
Farber's Environmental Law in a Nutshell provides an up-to-date foundation for understanding environmental law. Expert text includes coverage of the full range of environmental issues, from climate change and air pollution, to waste disposal and wetlands. Surveys the many statutory and common-law regulations shaping the world in which we live.
Principles of Environmental Law by
Written in a conversational tone, this book familiarizes readers with the basic mechanics of the major environmental statutes, including, among others, the Clean Water Act, the Clean Air Act, the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act, the National Environmental Policy Act, and the Endangered Species Act. It also includes a separate chapter on how these environmental statutes are enforced by the Government and through citizen suits.
Understanding Environmental Law by
Table of contents: Administrative, judicial, and constitutional aspects of environmental law -- Policy issues -- Common law remedies -- Environmental quality review -- Air quality -- Water pollution -- Solid and hazardous wastes -- Toxic substances -- Noise -- Fish and wildlife -- Land use -- Energy production and mineral extraction -- International aspects of environmental protection -- Innovations and trends.
Looking for a little more in-depth coverage? Try these treatises covering significant cases and policy discussions.
Environmental Law and Policy by
Environmental Law and Policy is a user-friendly, concise, inexpensive treatment of environmental law. Written to be read pleasurably rather than used as a dry reference source, the authors provide a broad conceptual overview of environmental law while also explaining the major statutes and cases. The updated text also describes initiatives launched by the Trump administration. The first part of the book provides an engaging discussion of the major themes and issues that cross-cut environmental law. The second part of the book examines the substance of environmental law, with separate sections on each of the major statutes. The third part of the book describes natural resources law, discussing endangered species conservation, wetlands protection, water and energy issues. Part four addresses environmental impact statements and the National Environmental Policy Act. The book has wide adoption, not only in law schools, but also in graduate and undergraduate classes outside law school.
Environmental Law Stories by
The stories in this book feature characters as diverse as community activists, small farmers, big businesses, dedicated scientists, skilled lawyers, strong-willed judges, and Presidents of the United States. Four of the ten selected cases established the field of environmental law, three others refined it, and the final three have sought to limit its effectiveness and reach. This selection mirrors the development of the field of environmental law, from the first, heady days of its creation to its current conflicts with other laws and values, including some embedded in the Constitution.
Outlines include explanations of the black letter law. Checklists provide an explanation of the law and a list of what to consider when examining an issue.
Black Letter Outline on Environmental Law by
This Outline summarizes the basic black letter rules of Environmental Law in a way that allows students to appreciate how different parts of their course material fit together. Ideal for class preparation or as a review before exams. The Outline covers approaches to environmental regulations, constitutional issues in Environmental Law, the National Environmental Policy Act, Clean Water Act, Clean Air Act, Resource Conservation and Recovery Act, Comprehensive Environmental Response Compensation and Liability Act and other toxic substances statutes. The Outline also discusses the complex intersection of law, sciences such as biology, geology, and engineering, and important economic, ethical, and social issues. It also includes a glossary of environmental terms and practice exam questions.