Schoenecker Law Library
651-962-4900
1000 LaSalle Ave.
Minneapolis, MN 55403
Reference Librarians
lawreference@stthomas.edu
(651) 962-4902
Reference Hours
Circulation/ILL
lawcirc@stthomas.edu
(651) 962-4900
Library Hours
Great to use alongside a casebook for topical coverage and analysis with a concentration on key cases and statutes.
Civil Procedure in a Nutshell by
Rules of civil procedure govern everything that happens outside of criminal proceedings. This Nutshell provides a road map to navigating civil procedure rules and helps build a foundation for understanding the overall picture. Topics discussed include: jurisdiction, venue, and other court-selection issues; pleading, discovery, summary judgment, and other pretrial matters; adjudication, judgments, and appeals; multi-party/multi-claim proceedings, including class actions and multidistrict litigation; plus standing, the Erie doctrine, arbitration, and other important procedural issues. The new edition covers all the subjects dealt with in today's civil procedure courses, whether four or five or six hours in length.
Examples and Explanations for Civil Procedure by
With this ninth edition of Civil Procedure: Examples & Explanations, Joseph Glannon's uniquely entertaining style teaches and engages students in all aspects of the first-year Civil Procedure course. Accessible introductions and explanations combined with a proven pedagogy in the popular Examples & Explanations format that is effective for learning and applying the fundamental concepts and rules covered in the Civil Procedure course. New to the Ninth Edition: A chapter that covers the full range of proper bases for personal jurisdiction (Prior editions only covered minimum contacts jurisdiction but a chapter covering the landscape is overdue) The new chapter includes discussion and examples applying the new approach to specific personal jurisdiction recognized by the Supreme Court in Ford Motor Company v. Montana Eight Judicial District Court, decided in 2021 Updated case references Updated citations Incorporation of new rule changes Professors and students will benefit from: Glannon's excellent reputation as the best-selling author of his Civil Procedure E&E, his Torts E&E, and the first book in The Glannon Guide Series, The Glannon Guide to Civil Procedure Covers all aspects of the first-year Civil Procedure course including difficult areas of res judicata, collateral estoppel, and personal and subject matter jurisdiction Examples progress gradually from simple to challenging to build students' confidence Numerous visual aids, including diagrams, charts, and documents
A Short and Happy Guide to Civil Procedure by
Of the first-year subjects, Civil Procedure is the most foreign to students' experience. This book unlocks Civil Procedure by explaining doctrine and rules and placing them in context - explaining the role of each and how each doctrine relates to the others. It includes a chapter on how law school differs from college and what that means for class- and exam-preparation. It provides concrete analytical frameworks for resolving exam questions. And throughout, scores of examples allow you to apply the law to fact patterns.
Understanding Civil Procedure by
This well-established treatise is premised on the assumption that the key to understanding the principles of civil procedure is to know why: why the principles were created and why they are invoked. The treatise is written to answer these questions as it lays out the basic principles of civil procedure. It also reflects the authors' belief that students of civil procedure can understand and appreciate complex principles when they are clearly presented; teaching civil procedure does not require dumbing it down.
The authors use the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure as a model, but they also refer to different state rules and doctrines where appropriate in order to present a representative cross-section of state models. Although they discuss important civil procedure cases in the text, thus supporting the most widely used civil procedure casebooks using these same cases, they also provide useful references to secondary sources and illustrative cases for the reader who wants to explore further.
Outlines include explanations of the black letter law, while logic maps orient you to the relationships and connections between topics (great for visual learners).
Black Letter Outline on Civil Procedure by
This outline summarizes the black-letter rules of civil procedure. It covers general considerations, litigating step-by-step, authority to adjudicate, complex litigation, governing law, and former adjudication. It allows students to understand how their course materials fit together, doing so by conveying a conception of civil procedure-the relationships among the ideas and the law that constitute the subject. This book is carefully designed and written as a study aid in preparing for classes and as a review aid in studying for examinations, containing all the many special features that characterize the highly successful Black Letter Series of books, such as a glossary and sample examination questions and answers.
Federal Civil Procedure Logic Maps by
This full-color book of federal civil procedure logic maps, which supports any classroom text, is designed to provide visual aids, including graphic and color cues, in the understanding and application of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and related federal procedural concepts. Visual references show the interplay among rules and subparts of rules, the U.S. Constitution, and core provisions of the United States Code. In many maps, applicable caselaw is also highlighted and summarized. In addition to more than 120 full-color maps, the book also contains an appendix which includes the complete Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and selected sections of the United States Code (all current as of Summer 2012, including the integrated provisions of the Federal Courts Jurisdiction and Venue Clarification Act, which took effect in early 2012). The visual format provides a comprehensive overview, allowing students to review the subject quickly prior to final exams.
Worried what a Civ Pro exam might look like? These books offer practice with multiple choice questions, short answer questions, and essays.
Civil Procedure by
Students deem Civil Procedure to be one of the hardest classes in law school for good reason. Doctrines from personal jurisdiction to res judicata are difficult to apply to exam fact patterns, and the policies underlying the federal rules can be difficult to grasp. The course is a complexhybrid of common law, statutes, rules, and some constitutional doctrine.For the first time, Oxford University Press equips students with an accessible guide to acing this most challenging of law school tests. In Civil Procedure: Model Problems and Outstanding Answers, Scott Dodson helps students demonstrate their knowledge of civil procedure in the structured andsophisticated manner that professors expect on law school exams. This book includes clear introductions to the major topics in civil procedure, provides hypotheticals that students can expect to see on an exam, and offers model answers to those hypotheticals. Professor Dodson then gives students theopportunity to evaluate their own work with a comprehensive self-analysis section.This book prepares students by challenging them to use the law they learn in class while also explaining the best way to express an answer on law school exams.
Computer-aided Exercises on Civil Procedure by
This book is not a comprehensive treatise on the subject of civil procedure, yet it provides a mixture of expository text, cases, and self-testing questions in nearly all of the major areas of the subject. This book, and the accompanying interactive exercises known as CALI Lessons available online through the Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) at www.cali.org, are intended to provide a challenging educational experience. For each exercise, students should read the text in this book and answer the questions before accessing the rest of the exercise online
Exam Pro on Civil Procedure by
The new edition contains five objective exams in civil procedure with a total of 125 objective questions. Each exam consists of 25 objective problems followed by five multiple-choice answers. Each problem is based on recently decided federal district or appellate court decisions. Exam Pro provides the answers and a detailed analysis to enhance understanding of civil procedure. The tear-out answer sheets simulate exam conditions. This edition reflects the typical course coverage in the now standard four credit-hour, one semester civil procedure course. The exam problems have been updated to reflect recent Supreme Court decisions on civil procedure issues, as well as recent amendments to the Federal Rules that became effective December 2015.
Questions and Answers by
This study guide uses over 300 multiple-choice and short-answer questions to test your students' knowledge of the nature and operation of the rules that govern procedure in the federal courts in the United States. Each multiple-choice question is accompanied by a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question (designed to be answered in no more than fifteen minutes) is followed by a thoughtful, yet brief, model answer. Q & A: Civil Procedure also includes a comprehensive topical index.