Schoenecker Law Library
651-962-4900
1000 LaSalle Ave.
Minneapolis, MN 55403
Reference Librarians
lawreference@stthomas.edu
(651) 962-4902
Reference Hours
Circulation/ILL
lawcirc@stthomas.edu
(651) 962-4900
Library Hours
Use alongside a casebook for topical coverage and analysis with a concentration on key cases and statutes.
Legal Ethics in a Nutshell by
Many law professors aim to probe deep ethical issues in class. But they also need to cover the material that the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination requires. The Rotunda Nutshell fulfils that need as it digests the Model Rules in an engaging, analytical, and often critical way. In a surprisingly pithy manner, this book places the Rules in an historic context that lets the student understand problems with prior versions of the Rules, which led to the present version. The Nutshell also analyzes the American Law Institute's Restatement of the Law Governing Lawyers, Third. This approach frees up precious class time for important normative issues. And, this Nutshell helps your students come up with better answers to your Socratic questions than you anticipated. This book has proved so popular as an explanation of the basic principles of legal ethics that it has been translated into Japanese and used there to teach American legal ethics.
Professional Responsibility by
Examples & Explanations for Professional Responsibility, Sixth Edition, is a thorough and comprehensive text that can be used by students as a study aid and by professional responsibility teachers as a class text. It covers the whole field of professional responsibility, focusing not only on the ABA Model Rules, but on the often-complex relationship between the rules and doctrines of agency, tort, contract, evidence, and constitutional law. Beginning with the formation of the attorney-client relationship, the book proceeds through topics including attorneys' fees, malpractice and ineffective assistance of counsel, confidentiality and privilege rules, conflicts of interest, witness perjury and litigation misconduct, advertising and solicitation, admission to practice, and the organization of the legal profession. Coverage includes all subjects that are tested on the Multistate Professional Responsibility Exam (MPRE), including: A chapter on judicial ethics, a subject tested on the MPRE and not often covered thoroughly, if at all, in law school professional responsibility courses. Updated discussion and examples based on recent developments in the law, including the ABA's simplification of the rules on advertising and solicitation, new Model Rule 8.4(g) on discrimination in the practice of law, the California Supreme Court's Sheppard Mullin opinion on advance waivers of conflicts, and continuing developments in the impact of technology on the practice of law. More MPRE-style multiple-choice questions in the Examples. New to the Sixth Edition: Revised and updated to reflect recent developments in the law having to do with lawyering, including new ABA rules, ethics opinions, and cases. New and revised examples and explanations in many chapters. Professors and students will benefit from: Comprehensive, updated coverage of all areas of professional responsibility, with attention to areas that are particularly challenging for students (as well as many practicing lawyers!), such as conflicts of interest and privilege and confidentiality. A study aid that without "teaching to the test," provides students with thorough preparation for the MPRE, which is the first licensing exam that many law students take.
Understanding Lawyers' Ethics by
This Understanding treatise presents a systematic position on lawyers' ethics. The authors argue that lawyers' ethics is rooted in the Bill of Rights and in the autonomy and the dignity of the individual. This traditionalist, client-centered view of the lawyer's role in an adversary system corresponds to the ethical standards that are held by a large proportion of the practicing bar. From this perspective, the authors of Understanding Lawyers' Ethics analyze the fundamental issues of lawyers' ethics, and particularly the ABA's Model Rules and Model Code. Even if students do not share the authors' viewpoint, they can benefit from this presentation because it challenges them to appreciate the underlying reasons for the position presented. This treatise is designed to facilitate a real understanding of legal rules as distinguished from a superficial familiarity with them by challenging the reader to test their understanding of the legal rules against the reader's own moral standards and reasoned judgment. The Fourth Edition includes: • A new section on Law vs. Justice, in addition to the section on Moral Values and Ethical Choices • The debate between Mike Tigar and Freedman on morality in lawyering. • A new chapter on Lawyers' Ethics in a Time of Crisis • A chapter on Judicial Ethics, with analysis of Caperton v. Massey Coal Co. and White v. Republican Party of Minnesota, as well as critical commentary on the failure of several Supreme Court justices to recuse themselves when required by the Constitution and by statute to do so • A concise but comprehensive chapter on Prosecutors' Ethics • A demonstration that the corporate-fraud report up and report out provisions have been deliberately drafted to defeat their purported purpose • Harmonization of Primus and Ohralik, showing that even in-person solicitation of clients is entitled to a level of First Amendment protection • An on-line debate among Steve Gillers, three practicing lawyers, and Freedman about professionalism, and whether a lawyer should take advantage of an adversary's mistake • A candid chapter on Counseling Clients, Coaching Witnesses, and Cross-Examining to Discredit the Truth
Looking for a little more in-depth coverage? Try these treatises.
Legal Ethics, Professional Responsibility, and the Legal Profession by
As the legal profession undergoes structural changes, longstanding principles of ethics still govern the day-to-day lives of practicing lawyers. This new Hornbook on professional responsibility provides both a snapshot of ongoing systemic changes and a thorough examination of the fundamentals of lawyer and judicial ethics. As a multi-dimensional work by scholarly experts in several fields, the Hornbook (1) begins with the changing environment in which legal services are provided in the modern economy; (2) continues with a theoretical grounding of legal ethics in moral philosophy; (3) offers empirical evidence and discussion about professional formation and moral development; (4) provides a comprehensive analysis of the law of lawyer ethics; (5) includes a rich discussion of the modern law of legal malpractice, and (6) concludes with exploration of the rules of judicial ethics.
Outlines include explanations of the black letter law. Checklists provide an explanation of the law and a list of what to consider when examining an issue.
Acing Professional Responsibility by
Acing Professional Responsibility provides a dual benefit to law students who, to become licensed lawyers, have to pass both a law school exam in a Legal Ethics course as well as the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination (MPRE).
Professional Responsibility by
This text is designed to help a law student recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a law school course on professional responsibility. It can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and as a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination. The law is succinctly stated, and exceptions to the rules are stated in the text. Rules and exceptions have purposely been condensed to facilitate quick and easy recollection. For an in-depth study of a point of law, citations to major student texts are given.
Worried about what the exam might look like? Practice with multiple choice, short answer, and essays with these study aids.
Exam Pro on Professional Responsibility by
A study aid with practice final exam questions and answers pertaining to professional responsibility rules and their proper application.
Questions and Answers by
Understand better what you're learning in Professional Responsibility class and prepare effectively for exams by applying concepts as you learn them. This study guide includes 160 multiple-choice and short-answer questions arranged topically for ease of use during the semester, plus an additional set of 48 questions comprising a comprehensive "practice exam."
A Short and Happy Guide to the MPRE by
This Short and Happy Guide provides students with the essential concepts and overarching themes that are most frequently tested on the MPRE. The Guide covers the rules of professional responsibility giving students the best introduction they can have as they begin their exam preparation.