Schoenecker Law Library
651-962-4900
1000 LaSalle Ave.
Minneapolis, MN 55403
Reference Librarians
lawreference@stthomas.edu
(651) 962-4902
Reference Hours
Circulation/ILL
lawcirc@stthomas.edu
(651) 962-4900
Library Hours
Use alongside a casebook for topical coverage and analysis with a concentration on key cases and statutes.
Examples and Explanations for Securities Regulation by
A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.
Principles of Securities Regulation by
This book includes the most recent developments in securities regulation in an accessible format. Authoritative coverage includes the definition of "security," registration and disclosure obligations under the Securities Act of 1933, exemptions from registration, reporting obligations under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the proxy rules, tender offer regulation, and civil liabilities. The book treats broker-dealer regulation, market regulation, and the administrative role of the SEC, as well as proxy rules, insider trading, and provides overviews of the Investment Company Act and the Investment Advisers Act. This 5th edition updates the 4th edition to include recent SEC rulemaking including important amendments to exemptions from registration, new broker-dealer obligations, as well as recent Supreme Court and many other case law developments.
Securities Law by
This concise text provides a basic introduction to securities law. One object of the book is to help struggling students get on track; another is to assist in review and exam preparation. The authors define a security, explain how securities are registered under the Securities Act and describe the applicable exemptions. Many other subjects are addressed, including Exchange Act reporting, proxy solicitations and tender offers, insider trading, and international aspects of securities law. The book is completely up-to-date, including coverage of cryptocurrency and the progressive liberalization of the rules and regulations governing registration and reporting.
Securities Regulation in a Nutshell by
This title will help you acquire an understanding of the basic content and organization of federal and state securities law. It provides a summary of an intricate regulatory system. An authoritative summary, it covers the essential background and current status of each major area, while keeping details and citations to a minimum. It discusses the regulations governing public offerings, public companies, exemptions from SEC disclosure requirements, securities broker-dealers, as well as investment companies and investment advisers. It also explores sanctions, civil liabilities, and extraterritorial application, the Dodd-Frank Act as well as the JOBS Act, including the crowdfunding and expanded Regulation A exemptions.
Looking for a little more in-depth coverage? Try these treatises covering significant cases and policy discussions.
The Law of Securities Regulation by
This Hornbook is a comprehensive secondary source for the study of Securities Regulation. It also can serve as a lawyer's desk book. Coverage includes definition of "security," registration and disclosure obligations under the Securities Act of 1933, exemptions from registration, reporting obligations under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the proxy rules, tender offer regulation, and civil liabilities. The book treats broker-dealer regulation, market regulation, and the administrative role of the SEC, as well as proxy rules, insider trading, the Investment Company Act and the Investment Advisers Act. This new edition reflects recent SEC rulemaking, including important amendments to exemptions from registration, new broker-dealer obligations, as well as recent Supreme Court and many other case law developments.