Schoenecker Law Library
651-962-4900
1000 LaSalle Ave.
Minneapolis, MN 55403
Reference Librarians
lawreference@stthomas.edu
(651) 962-4902
Reference Hours
Circulation/ILL
lawcirc@stthomas.edu
(651) 962-4900
Library Hours
Use these alongside a casebook for topical coverage and analysis with a concentration on key cases and statutes.
Examples and Explanations for Constitutional Law by
Examples & Explanations for Constitutional Law: National Power and Federalism, Ninth edition,by Christopher N. May, Allan Ides, and Simona Grossi, provides a clearly written, comprehensive examination of constitutional doctrine pertaining to national power and federalism. This problem-oriented study guide provides students and teachers with a highly readable and accessible study of constitutional law. Both this book and its companion volume,¿Examples & Explanations for Constitutional Law: Individual Rights, combine detailed textual material with real-world examples and explanations that apply the relevant constitutional doctrine to specific fact patterns. The text operates as a readable and citable treatise on the topics covered, and the examples and explanations serve as an elaboration on that text. Its unique, time-tested Examples & Explanations pedagogy combines textual material with well-written, comprehensive and up-to-date examples, explanations and questions. A favorite among law school students, and often recommended by professors, this guide takes students through the principal doctrines of constitutional law covered in a typical course. New to the Ninth Edition: Inclusion of more than 40 new Supreme Court cases New and updated Examples & Explanations More sophisticated discussion of the federal preemption doctrine Updated treatment of presidential impeachment Expanded discussion of the executive privilege doctrine Deeper coverage of the appointment and removal of federal officials Professors and students will benefit from: Hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with structure and reasoning behind the corresponding analysis An alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures Straightforward, informal text that is never simplistic, and quickly gets to the point in conversational style laced with humor Adaptability with all major Constitutional Law casebooks Authors with over 70 years of combined experience teaching Constitutional Law
Examples and Explanations for Constitutional Law by
Examples & Explanations for Constitutional Law: Individual Rights, Ninth edition, by Allan Ides, Christopher N. May, and Simona Grossi, provides a clearly written, comprehensive examination of constitutional doctrine pertaining to individual rights. This problem-oriented study guide provides students and teachers with a highly readable and accessible study of constitutional law. Both this book and its companion volume,¿Examples & Explanations for Constitutional Law: National Power and Federalism, combine detailed textual material with real-world examples and explanations that apply the relevant constitutional doctrine to specific fact patterns. The text operates as a readable and citable treatise on the topics covered, and the examples and explanations serve as an elaboration on that text. Its unique, time-tested Examples & Explanations pedagogy combines clear textual material with well-written, comprehensive and up-to-date examples, explanations, and questions. A favorite among law school students, and often recommended by professors, this guide takes students through the principal doctrines of constitutional law covered in a typical course that includes a study of individual rights. New to the Ninth Edition: Inclusion of nearly 50 new Supreme Court cases Updated Examples & Explanations Expanded discussion of the freedom of association Richer treatment of the right to keep and bear arms Professors and students will benefit from: Hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with structure and reasoning behind the corresponding analysis An alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures Straightforward, informal text that is never simplistic, and quickly gets to the point in conversational style laced with humor Adaptability with all major Constitutional Law casebooks Authors with over 70 years of combined experience teaching Constitutional Law
Constitutional Law in a Nutshell by
This 10th edition of Constitutional Law in a Nutshell summarizes constitutional law from Marbury v. Madison (1803), to the present. The goal has been to discuss the Supreme Court's cases in enough detail to be helpful but not to be verbose in doing so. In this edition we feature thirty new cases. Some of the highlights include Rucho v. Common Cause (2-10) where the Court held 5-4, per Chief Justice Roberts, that partisan gerrymandering is a non-justiciable issue beyond the competence of the federal judiciary. In Department of Commerce v. New York (2019), although the Court ruled that the Enumeration Clause of the Constitution grants authority to Congress and "by extension" to the Secretary of Commerce to include a question about citizenship on the 2020 Census questionnaire, the Court could not approve it because the rationale presented to the Court was contrived and was based on a pretext. In Timbs v. Indiana (2019), the Court demonstrated that there still is vitality in the incorporation doctrine and held that the Excessive Fines Clause of the Eighth Amendment is an "incorporated" protection applicable to the States under the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment. As ever, the free expression area is once again fertile ground for generating Supreme Court case law. In Janus v. American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees (2018), the Supreme Court, per Justice Alito, 5-4, reversed the 40 year old Abood v. Detroit Board of Education (1977) precedent and held that its ruling requiring non-union members of a public sector union to pay for the collective bargaining of the union is a violation of the First Amendment. In Matal v.Tam (2017), the Court unanimously held that a Lanham Act provision prohibiting the registration of trademarks that "disparage--or bring--into contempt or disrepute" any persons living or dead is a violation of the First Amendment. In the area of freedom of religion, the Court in Trump v. Hawaii (2018), held, 5-4, per Chief Justice Roberts, that a Proclamation prohibiting or limiting the entry into the United States of nationals from seven countries with Muslim majorities did not violate the Establishment Clause. The Proclamation could reasonably be justified on grounds of national security rather than religious hostility. In American Legion v. American Humanist Association (2019), the Court held, 7-2, per Justice Alito, that the Bladensburg Peace Cross, erected in 1925 on public land in Maryland as a memorial to veterans of World War I did not constitute a violation of the Establishment Clause. Government action which removes monuments that have religious symbolism and that have long been on public land could be seen as "aggressively hostile to religion." Finally, in this edition, as in previous ones, the goal has been to present the essence of the Court's decisions in a concise, readable and understandable way.
A Short and Happy Guide to Constitutional Law by
This efficient book takes the complex subject matter of Constitutional Law and makes it easier to understand and digest. World-renowned Villanova Law Dean and Professor Mark Alexander carefully explains the key concepts involved in Con Law and also brings it home with straightforward explanations of why you are reading and discussing the cases you are assigned every day. The subject matter runs the gamut from Marbury v. Madison and the structural side of the course to Due Process and Equal Protection. In addition, he provides exam-taking tips, and general words of guidance on how to make it through law school, and beyond, to a rewarding legal career.
Understanding Constitutional Law by
Understanding Constitutional Law covers all of the central concepts and issues students encounter in any basic constitutional law course. Structure of Government issues revolve around the twin themes of federalism and separation of powers. Individual rights and liberties follow a concept organization-Due Process, Equal Protection, and First Amendment.
Looking for a little more in-depth coverage? Try these treatises covering significant cases and policy discussions.
Constitutional Law by
Relied on by students, professors, and practitioners, Erwin Chemerinsky's popular treatise clearly states the law and identifies the underlying policy issues in each area of constitutional law. Thorough coverage of the topic makes it appropriate for both beginning and advanced courses. New to the Sixth Edition: New discussion of the Preamble to the Constitution in Ch. 1 Discussion of many new cases throughout the book. Major new decisions include: Masterpiece Cakeshop v. Colorado Civil Rights Commission; Gill v. Whitford; Zivotofsky v. Kerry; Lucia v. SEC; South Dakota v. Wayfair; Fisher v. University of Texas, Austin; Obergefell v. Hodges; Whole Women's Health v. Hellerstedt; Matal v. Tam; Williams-Yulee v. Florida State Bar; National Institute of Family and Life Advocates v. Becerra; Janus v. American Federation; Town of Greece v. Galloway; and Trinity Lutheran Church of Columbia v. Comer New materials on presidential power, immigration, and travel bans under the Trump administration, including IRAP v. Trump and Hawaii v. Trump Professors and students will benefit from: Renowned authorship Examination of black-letter law and all the myriad issues of constitutional interpretation with unrivaled thoroughness and lucidity Excellent historical overview of the creation and ratification of the Constitution, examining the existential question of why we have a constitution
United States Constitutional Law by
Softbound - New, softbound print book.
Outlines include explanations of the black letter law. Checklists provide an explanation of the law and a list of what to consider when examining an issue.
Acing Constitutional Law by
This study aid features an innovative method of content organization. It uses a checklist format to lead students through questions they need to ask to fully evaluate the legal problem they are trying to solve. It also synthesizes the material in a way that most students are unable to do on their own, and assembles the different issues, presenting a clear guide to procedural analysis that students can draw upon when writing their exams. Other study aids provide sample problems, but none offers the systematic approach to problem solving found in this book.
Black Letter Outline on Constitutional Law by
Barron, Dienes, and Jefferson's Black Letter Outline on Constitutional Law, 10th helps law students succeed in class and on exams. This Black Letter Outline provides an accessible framework for recognizing and understanding the essential principles and issues covered in Constitutional Law courses. The book is a comprehensive study aid for use both when preparing for classes and when reviewing for exams. The authors, experts in the subject matter, provide students a much-needed guide for navigating their own learning.
Practice with multiple choice, short answer, and essays with these study aids.
Questions and Answers by
This study guide includes 192 multiple-choice and short-answer questions arranged topically for ease of use during the semester, plus an additional set of 24 questions comprising a comprehensive "practice exam." For each multiple-choice question, the authors provide a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains thoroughly why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question is designed to be answered in fifteen minutes or less, and includes a thoughtful, comprehensive, yet brief model answer.