Schoenecker Law Library
651-962-4900
1000 LaSalle Ave.
Minneapolis, MN 55403
Reference Librarians
lawreference@stthomas.edu
(651) 962-4902
Reference Hours
Circulation/ILL
lawcirc@stthomas.edu
(651) 962-4900
Library Hours
Use alongside a casebook for topical coverage and analysis with a concentration on key cases and statutes.
Administrative Law and Process in a Nutshell by
This book offers a concise, knowledgeable guide to administrative law. In straightforward, readable prose, the authors not only summarize the dominant statutes and case law in the area, but also discuss informal administrative processes and the background realities of the regulatory state. Students can use the book as a complement to any major casebook, and practitioners will also find it an excellent brief introduction to this complex and important subject.
Principles of Administrative Law by
This book provides an accessible, yet sophisticated treatment of the essential principles of administrative law. Topics covered include a history of the American administrative state; theories of agency behavior; separation of powers and procedural due process, as they are implicated by the administrative process; the procedural framework of the Administrative Procedure Act; formal adjudicatory procedure; informal rulemaking procedure; and the availability, timing, and scope of judicial review. The book includes charts and diagrams that assist the reader in visualizing the major elements of the administrative process.
A Short and Happy Guide to Administrative Law by
This efficient, concise, and up-to-date Guide explains complex Administrative Law concepts in accessible language without sacrificing the nuance that distinguishes a superior exam performance from an average one. It follows a logical sequence of topics used by many professors in their classes, starting with the constitutional foundations of the administrative state, continuing through the procedural requirements for agency rulemaking and adjudication, then the rules governing judicial review of agency action, and concluding with agency control over information.
Understanding Administrative Law by
This Understanding treatise is designed to help the reader grasp the fundamental concepts of administrative law. Understanding Administrative Law concentrates on the process of administrative decisionmaking but also deals with the substantive law of agencies when appropriate. As students progress through the course and later enter practice, they will find that substance and procedure become more and more intertwined and, in many instances, become almost inextricable. An awareness that there is no bright line between substance and procedure, particularly in the context of an administrative agency, is especially helpful to a thorough understanding of the subject. A good deal of the material in this book consists of recommendations and processes to identify administrative problems and mechanisms for organizing a reader's thinking when the problem is identified. Understanding Administrative Law highlights the manner in which a client's problem moves through the typical agency and the manner in which a lawyer copes with the various problems and issues encountered in representing clients before administrative agencies. In addition, this book contains a significant amount of material on trends in administrative law such as deregulation and regulatory reform. The Fifth Edition includes comprehensive references to recent cases and law review articles for readers who wish additional depth in any of the topics covered.
Outlines include explanations of the black letter law. Checklists provide an explanation of the law and a list of what to consider when examining an issue.
Acing Administrative Law by
Acing Administrative Law will be useful to students preparing for exams in both Administrative Law and Leg/Reg courses. The book uses flowchart-style checklists to show students how to analyze administrative law exam questions--in ways that are both efficient and effective (and which do not generally match the sequencing of topics in most admin law courses). For example, students should always begin with a single baseline query when answering an admin law exam question: "Does this agency action involve rulemaking or adjudication?" As with all the Acing books, each chapter begins with a brief review of the important rules and concepts that govern a particular area of administrative law. The review material is followed by a flowchart that provides students with a clear roadmap for answering exam questions. Each chapter includes practice problems with solutions illustrating how to use the flowchart to analyze specific issues. The book concludes with a comprehensive flowchart and a practice problem, so that students can see how all the parts fit together.
Black Letter Outline on Administrative Law by
Black Letter Outlines are designed to help a law student recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a law school course. Black Letter Outlines can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination. This outline covers: Rulemaking, Adjudications, Choice of Procedures and Nonlegislative Rules, The Availability of Judicial Review, Inspections, Reports & Subpoenas, Agency Structure, Public Access to Agency Processes, and Attorney's Fees.