Schoenecker Law Library
651-962-4900
1000 LaSalle Ave.
Minneapolis, MN 55403
Reference Librarians
lawreference@stthomas.edu
(651) 962-4902
Reference Hours
Circulation/ILL
lawcirc@stthomas.edu
(651) 962-4900
Library Hours
Use alongside a casebook for topical coverage and analysis with a concentration on key cases and statutes.
Evidence in a Nutshell by
The latest version of the Federal Rules is the anchor of this book, with some state variations noted where important. The text summarizes significant U.S. Supreme Court decisions, including the latest Confrontation Clause cases; additional leading cases; forefront expert, scientific, and electronic evidence developments; and principal schools of evidentiary thought. Includes practical implementation as well as scholarly approaches. It pays attention to the litigation process as a whole and includes interdisciplinary cross-pollination where helpful. Numerous signpost-type headings and subheadings light the way, concisely summarizing the gist of each evidentiary concept. The detailed table of contents alone could serve as a complete course outline. Distinctively, an analytical, thoughtful approach is emphasized throughout.
Examples and Explanations for Evidence by
Examples & Explanations: Evidence is the most clear, effective, and concise text available for students today. Beautifully organized, with compelling examples and questions, this ancillary delivers exactly the right level of detail for a student's introduction to evidence law. New to the 13th Edition: Amended treatment of admissibility of completing statements, whether or not recorded (Rule 106). New provision allowing orders prohibiting excluded witnesses from accessing or receiving trial testimony (Rule 615). Amended provision for expert testimony, requiring the proponent to persuade the judge it is more likely than not that the expert's opinion reflects a reliable application of appropriate principles and methods to the facts of the case (Rule 702). Key Features: Structured chapters that present all the information a student needs to respond to the Example problems (the Explanations never rely on material that was absent from the chapter text)--making those problems a powerful reinforcement tool. A concise approach, with only 255 pages of text, giving ample coverage of the main topics in typical Evidence courses and giving appropriately briefer coverage of peripheral topics. A full presentation of the text of the Federal Rules, with "plain language" explanations, in a 56-page Appendix.
Principles of Evidence by
This text examines all topics typically covered in a three- or four-hour course in evidence. Emphasis is on the Federal Rules of Evidence, now adopted in most states. The work is concise but complete. Should the reader desire additional material, ample footnotes provide easy access to leading cases, articles, and standard reference works. This volume contains dozens of illustrations, with answers, designed to make the rules come to life. The ninth edition contains the restyled rules and all the new developments on the Confrontation clause, and covers recent amendments, including those taking effect in 2019 and the 2020 amendment of Rule 404(b). Dan Capra is the reporter, Judicial Conference Advisory Committee on the Federal Rules of Evidence, and Stephen Saltzburg served as a consultant.
Beckman's a Short and Happy Guide to Evidence, 2d by
Description Coming Soon!
Understanding Evidence by
This Understanding treatise presents the essential topics in evidence law cogently and concisely. While it was written primarily for students in Evidence and Trial Practice courses, the ''Key Points'' summary at the end of each chapter and the inclusion of the current Federal Rules of Evidence in an appendix make this treatise an excellent reference for busy attorneys.
Outlines include explanations of the black letter law. Checklists provide an explanation of the law and a list of what to consider when examining an issue.
Acing Evidence by
Acing Evidence offers a succinct, clear, and user-friendly review of federal evidence law. Providing many helpful examples and employing checklists at the end of every chapter, Acing Evidence presents an organized way to analyze evidence problems and spot hidden issues. This book is invaluable for reviewing evidence, preparing for the bar exam, and assessing evidence at trial. The third edition adds new examples and reflects changes in the Federal Rules of Evidence.
Black Letter Outline on Evidence by
This outline examines and explains for students the Federal Rules of Evidence, which apply in federal courts and have been adopted (with some variation) in 45 of the 50 states. Included are citations and descriptions of authoritative cases commonly studied in Evidence courses across the country, and analyses the most important issues of construction and application that have arisen in the decades since the Rules were enacted for use in federal courts in 1975. This Black Letter Outline is designed to help law students recognize, understand, and apply basic principles and issues of law covered in law school courses on the subject. It can be used as a study aid when preparing for classes and as a review of the subject when studying for examinations. This Black Letter Outline was prepared by professors actively teaching Evidence law who are also accomplished authorities and authors of major texts, treatises, and coursebooks on Evidence law in use throughout the country.
Worried about what the exam might look like? Practice with multiple choice, short answer, and essays with these study aids
Exam Pro on Evidence (Essay) by
Exam Pro-Essay is a study aid that helps law students prepare to take their Evidence exam. Answering the sample essay exams and the specific subject matter essay questions, followed by review of the corresponding answers and analysis, provides students with a more thorough comprehension of the Federal Rules of Evidence and a better understanding of how to take exams.
Exam Pro on Evidence (Objective) by
Exam Pro-Objective on Evidence is a study aid that helps law students prepare to take their Evidence exam. Taking the sample objective exams and using the corresponding answers and analysis provides students with a more thorough understanding of Evidence and a better understanding of how to take exams.
Questions and Answers by
Table of contents: Preserving error; appellate review -- Objections to the form of the question -- Witness competency -- Logical relevance; exclusion for reasons of prejudice or other dangers -- Preliminary questions of fact -- Classification of evidence as hearsay or not hearsay -- Exceptions to (and exemptions from) the hearsay rule -- Evidence of character, "other crimes, wrongs, or acts," habit, and similar events -- Evidence of subsequent remedial measures, compromise, humanitarian assistance, criminal pleas, and liability insurance -- Impeachment and cross-examination of witnesses -- Authentication -- The best evidence rule -- Judicial notice -- Burdens of proof and presumptions -- Evidentiary privileges -- Lay and expert opinion; Scientific evidence.