Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Library Resources
Use LibrarySearch to find books, e-books, DVDs & videos, etc
LibrarySearch is the library catalog of six private colleges and universities in the Twin Cities, including Saint Thomas. Books from other campuses can be requested online and delivered to the St. Thomas library of your choice..
Searching by the following subject keywords or subject headings will help you find relevant resources:
- Law - Vocational Guidance - United States
- Lawyers - Employment - United States
- Law Firms - United States
- Practice of Law - United States
- Cover Letters
- Job hunting - Computer network resources
If you would like to browse the library collection of legal career resources, they are located on third floor by call numbers KF297-KF299.
Career & Professional Development Resources for Law Students
This research guide is designed to help you get started in your search for legal career opportunities. The resources in this guide will help you through many steps in the process of finding employment, using print resources as well as many links to free online resources.
The University of St. Thomas School of Law is dedicated to individually supporting the employment efforts of each student and graduate. Through the Office of Career and Professional Development, our goal is to help our students and alumni navigate the path to meaningful employment. CPD also maintains strong relationships with employers, both locally and nationally, and is dedicated to assisting employers in meeting all of their hiring needs. Make the CPD your first stop in your career search to utilize all of our tools and networking expertise.
Career Opportunities in Law and the Legal Industry by Law and the legal industry consist of much more than just lawyers and judges. In fact, it encompasses a wide range of fields such as legal services, court systems, law enforcement, corrections, criminal justice, social services, mediation, legal education, research, and more. Career profiles include: Criminal investigator, Family court mediator, Health lawyer, Indian law attorney, Knowledge manager, Legal management consultant, Legal support professional, Property manager, Staff attorney (court), and, Title examiner.
Call Number: Main Collection: KF297 .E245 2007
Cracking the Code: Unlocking the Potential of Future Leaders in the Legal Profession by Who are the millennials and why are they different from other generations? -- What are the strengths and challenges that millennials bring to the practice of law? -- Law practices and new associates : building a better team -- What practical workplace strategies resonate with millennials? -- Forgotten and overlooked areas that can build retention -- Beyond retention: how do you know these policies and practices for new associates are working?
Call Number: Main Collection: KF297 .F74 2010
Developing Your Professional Identity: Creating Your Inner Lawyer by Who will I be as a lawyer? This is the most important question any law student can ask. Yet, in traditional legal education, this question rarely comes up. The purpose of this book is to change this. Professional identity is a lawyer's personal legal morality, values, decision-making process, and self-consciousness in relation to the practices of the legal profession (legal culture). It provides the framework that a lawyer uses to make all a lawyer's decisions. This book takes a variety of approaches to help you develop your professional identity.
Call Number: Main collection: KF297 .F784 2015
Publication Date: 2015-11-07
Fifty Unique Legal Paths: How to Find the Right Job by Growing practice areas for new JDs -- Nonprofit and public interest careers -- Growing government careers -- Careers in academia and education -- Positions in law office management and administration -- Growing business and corporate careers -- Self-employment options -- Tips for careeer services professionals -- Figuring out what you WANT to do.
Call Number: Main Collection: KF297 .F87 2008
A Law Graduate's Guide: Navigating Law School's Hidden Career and Professional-Development Curriculum by Written to help the transition from graduate to lawyer, the Law Graduates Guide reveals that law school has a hidden curriculum. While studying, completing course requirements, and making progress toward a law degree, students should also be deliberately planning their career and professional development. This guide helps law students identify, organize, and make the best use of career and professional-development advice and resources in order to link their education with a meaningful career.
Call Number: Main Collection: KF297 .M547 2011
The Lawyer's Career Management Handbook: Your Bridge to a Satisfying Career by The lawyer's career management handbook : an overview -- Take responsibility for designing your career -- Self-assessment -- Financial self-assessment -- Career options -- Market research -- Information interviewing -- Getting unstuck : managing change and transitions -- Taking action : next steps in your career -- Staying in your current position -- State of the marketplace : an overview -- Taking a creative, pro-active approach to job searching -- Organizing your job search -- Resumes -- Cover letters -- Job search strategies -- The interview -- Negotiating and evaluating job offers and more
Call Number: Main Collection: KF297 .L374 2010
The Lawyer's Guide To Finding Success In Any Job Market by Eleventh-hour job preservation strategies. Staying where you are -- Legal careers that thrive in any economy. The dynamic dozen : twelve mainstream opportunities -- Countercyclical opportunities -- Hot practice areas during the great recession -- Using your law degree outside the mainstream : law-related careers -- Job-hunting tactics for tough times. Moving forward -- The strongest résumé -- Winning the interview.
Call Number: Main Collection: KF297 .H44 2009
Should You Really Be a Lawyer?: The Guide to Smart Career Choices Before, During & After Law School by The decision assessments : adding it up : should you really go? -- The real LSAT -- L is for law school : what's it all about? -- S is for self-assessment : is law right for you? -- A is for attorneys : what they do & where they work -- T is for try it out : get some practice before getting into practice -- How did you get here? -- The decision assessments : adding it up : should you really stay? -- So you've decided to stick it out -- From here to attornity? -- The decision assessments : adding it up : should you really continue practicing? -- Next steps.
Call Number: Main Collection: KF297 .S36 2010
Thriving in the Legal Profession by Based on a successful law school course, Thriving in the Legal Profession is designed for use as a course book, as a supplement in ongoing related courses such as legal professions or law office practice, and as a resource for law school auxiliary programs such as Career Services, Student Support, and Financial Aid and Counseling. Law students and lawyers are encouraged to base their careers on "Three Pillars of Success": 1. Economics--Understanding the changing economics of the legal marketplace and what these changes mean for lawyers: Technology and its impact on the delivery of legal services Being competitive in today's legal market Advantages and disadvantages of public interest and government employment vis à vis private practice 2. Finance--Mastering the strategies for personal financial success: Financial implications of various career paths Repaying educational loans Savings and retirement 3. Emotional Intelligence--Building the EQ skills needed by every lawyer: Happiness and effectiveness at work Managing Stress Maintaining resilience in the face of hardship
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2018-01-26
Tomorrow's Lawyers by Tomorrow's Lawyers predicts that we are at the beginning of a period of fundamental transformation in law: a time in which we will see greater change than we have seen in the past two centuries. Where the future of the legal service will be a world of internet-based global businesses, online document production, commoditized service, legal process outsourcing, and web based simulation practice. Legal markets will be liberalized, with new jobs for lawyers and new employers too. This book is a definitive guide to this future - for young and aspiring lawyers, and for all who want to modernize our legal and justice systems. It introduces the new legal landscape and offers practical guidance for those who intend to build careers and businesses in law.
Call Number: Main collection: K120 .S87 2017
Publication Date: 2017-05-25
UST School of Law Office of Career & Professional Development
Contact the Law Librarians