LibrarySearch is the library catalog of six private colleges and universities in the Twin Cities, including Saint Thomas. Books from other campuses can be requested online and delivered to the St. Thomas library of your choice..
Searching by the following subject keywords or subject headings will help you find relevant resources:
If you would like to browse the library collection of legal career resources, they are located on third floor by call numbers KF297-KF299.
ABA Legal Career Central
ABA Legal Career Central provides resources for lawyers, law students, and employers, including job tips, profiles of attorneys from a variety of law practice environments, and more.
Emplawyernet
National databank of legal jobs. Also includes career services, recruiter resources, forums, and news. Requires membership.
National Association for Law Placement (NALP)
A leading resource on the state of employment in the legal profession. Its resources include employment trend data and helpful information for new lawyers and laterals.
ABA Law Student Division: Career Resources
A collection of resources from the ABA's Law Student Division to help law students find networking and job opportunities.
U.S. Department of Justice: Attorney Vacancies
A searchable database of current attorney job openings with the U.S. Department of Justice.
U.S. Courts Employment Opportunities
A collection of employment opportunities throughout the Federal Judiciary.
LawJobs.com
A job search web site for the legal profession, serving both job seekers and employers.
Advice for the Lawlorn by
Why should I become/stay a lawyer? -- Law school woes -- Do law school grades really matter? -- Writing a resume -- Looking for a new job -- Interview questions and behavior -- Thank-you notes -- Getting the offer/checking references -- Which offer to accept? -- How to work with a recruiter -- Becoming a partner -- Problems in the workplace -- When good things go bad -- Resigning from your job -- Being terminated.
The Early-Career Guide for Attorneys by
Still in law school -- The job search -- Law clerks and summer associates -- The five-tool attorney -- The new job -- Research assignments -- Writing assignments -- Litigation -- Transactions/closings -- Firm culture -- Systems -- Networking and marketing -- Billing -- Client meetings -- Best practices -- The reliable associate -- Professional attire -- Socialization.
The Education of a Lawyer: Essential Skills and Uncommon Advice for Building a Successful Career by
In law school and before -- In search of a job --In practice -- Areas of practice -- In court -- Writing and speaking -- Relationships -- Improving as a lawyer -- In life.
From Law School to Lawyer by
You finished Law School. Now what? This book will guide you through the transition from a law student who has passed the bar to a lawyer actually practicing law. This text will guide "armed and dangerous attorneys where to aim their weaponry and how to discharge it appropriately." This book started as a series of practice lessons on the author's blog for the recent law school graduate solo attorney--or more aptly named, the 4L.
A Law Graduate's Guide: Navigating Law School's Hidden Career and Professional-Development by
While studying, completing course requirements, and making progress toward a law degree, students should also be deliberately planning their career and professional development. This guide helps law students identify, organize, and make the best use of career and professional-development advice and resources in order to link their education with a meaningful career. The Law Graduates Guide has three parts organized around knowledge, skills, and ethics. Each of these has three parts of its own on: (1) school (the law school curriculum); (2) tools (professional-development resources); and (3) transitions (career paths and opportunities).
Swimming Lessons for Baby Sharks by
The go-to book for new lawyer success at leading firms and schools, Swimming Lessons for Baby Sharks contains critical advice new graduates need to thrive. Completely revised and updated, the Second Edition includes vital new information on networking, client service, business development, project management, and many other topics. The goal is simple: To help new lawyers start strong. With an easily readable style, Swimming Lessons for Baby Sharks helps new lawyers navigate unwritten rules and stay afloat in a challenging profession. The book contains hundreds of tips with inside information from successful lawyers nationwide. Humorous, real-life examples illustrate the lessons along with checklists to provide comprehensive advice quickly. With employers and clients clamoring for "practice-ready" graduates, the Second Edition's lessons are more essential than ever.
The Young Litigator: Tips on Rainmaking, Writing and Trial Practice by
Most attorneys know the education received in law school is only a small portion of the knowledge that is needed, and needed as quickly as possible. This book is a compilation of articles from the ABA Section of Litigation, chosen by young practicing lawyers, that seeks to guide young litigators in their first days, months, and years in the practice of law. The articles are divided into three key areas: rainmaking; writing; and trial practice.
Your First Year as a Lawyer Revealed: Secrets, Opportunities, and Success! by
offers a self-assessment to help recent graduates decide on a career path. Next, readers learn how to navigate the job search and are given tips for resume writing, interviewing, networking, and more. Once readers discover how to find a job, Furi-Perry reveals how to keep it. Her essential advice teaches readers how to score meaningful assignments, build marketable skills, develop a network, interact with others, and maintain work-life balance.
Choosing Small, Choosing Smart by
Job search strategies and career path information for lawyers considering practice in smaller firms.
Fifty Unique Legal Paths: How to Find the Right Job by
Growing practice areas for new JDs -- Nonprofit and public interest careers -- Growing government careers -- Careers in academia and education -- Positions in law office management and administration -- Growing business and corporate careers -- Self-employment options -- Tips for careeer services professionals -- Figuring out what you WANT to do.
Guerrilla Tactics for Getting the Legal Job of Your Dreams (2nd ed.) by
This work is the key to getting the legal job of your dreams. It leads you step-by-step through everything you need to do to nail down that perfect job. You'll learn hundreds of simple-to-use strategies that will get you exactly where you want to go.
How to Start and Build a Law Practice (Platinum 5th ed.) by
Inside this classic ABA bestseller, you'll find 128 chapters -- including 30 new ones -- packed with proven techniques for getting started, finding clients and the right location, setting fees, managing your office, maintaining an ethical and responsible practice, and much more. Whether you are a new or experienced lawyer, you'll find a wealth of information here.
The Insider's Guide to Getting a Big Firm Job: What Every Law Student Should Know About Interviewing by
Your perfect job : is a big firm right for you? -- A brief history of law firm hiring -- Nuts and bolts of recruitment -- A view from the firm -- Preparation : your job search -- Polishing your resume and writing sample -- OCI bidding and resume submission -- Master of your domain -- The on-campus interview -- The call-back interview -- Etiquette for the meal -- Following up -- Applying for interviews outside of OCI : personal contacts 101 -- Networking -- Discrimination -- Applying for jobs in a different city or state -- Choosing among offers -- Re-applying as a 3L -- Getting the job!
Job Quest for Lawyers: The Essential Guide to Finding and Landing the Job You Want by
The hidden job market -- Three key concepts -- Blueprint for the quest -- How to prepare for your quest -- How to start your quest -- How to get knights and wizards to meet with you -- What happens in meetings with knights and wizards -- Friendship lite -- Interviews -- The treasure chest concept -- Creative networking -- The tipping point and the campaign phase -- Common pitfalls and how to avoid them -- A model quest.
Landing a Federal Legal Job: Finding Success in the U.S. Government Job Market by
Landing a Federal Legal Job is designed to give you the edge in pursuing a U.S. government attorney or law-related position over your competitors, but also to provide a solid understanding of the U.S. government''s legal employment opportunities and hiring processes so that you can make an intelligent decision about whether you want to work for-and where you want to work within-this giant legal system.
The Lawyer's Guide to Job Security: How to Keep Your Job, and Make the Most of It in Good Times and Bad by
Starting out on the right foot -- Building your value to the organization -- Securing your status -- Major workplace "don'ts" -- Personal growth = professional growth -- The legal manager's corner -- Dispensable... in spite of yourself.
The Legal Career Guide: From Law Student to Lawyer (5th ed.) by
Presents a manual that assists law students or young lawyers in making important decisions by helping them identify specific goals and evaluate opportunities as they arise, reflect on changes in personal situations that affect their aspirations, and assess various trends within the profession that impacts their chosen practice.
Managing Your Legal Career: Best Practices For Creating the Career You Want by
To compete in today's tight job market, you need up-to-date, reliable information on how to manage this phase of your legal career. This thorough guide--divided into short, specific sections that touch on what you'll need to do before your new job hunt, while you're looking, as you're sitting in the interview, once you've gotten an offer, and everything in between--covers everything you need to know.
The New Lawyer's Survival Guide, Vol. 1 by
JD-preferred : looking outside the mainstream -- Law jobs aren't always where you think they are -- Leapfrog the competition -- The upside of small town law -- Teaching in non-traditional environments -- Doing nothing is not an option -- Understand the hierarchy of employer needs -- Shop where there is demand -- Don't take job ads at face value -- How to dissect a job ad -- The legal job hunter's 13 biggest mistakes -- What mobile job search apps can do for you -- Enhance your law credentials -- Think career, not job -- Prepare your contact roadmap -- Differentiate yourself from the competition -- Extenuate and mitigate your resume weaknesses -- Emphasize your intangibles -- Accentuate the positive -- Write your way to a job -- Understand the cosmetics of legal job hunting.
The Path to Partnership: A Guide for Junior Associates by
Getting started -- Beginning full-time practice -- Practical skills -- Substantive skills -- Ethics and professional responsibility -- Time management -- Office relations -- Criticism and reviews -- Recruiting/placement -- Business development -- Partnership and beyond.
The Right Moves by
Charting your course -- Facing new realities : the dynamic legal marketplace -- Getting back to basics -- Planning your search -- Assessing your marketability -- Using a recruiter -- Crafting effective cover letters and résumés -- Interviewing for optimum impact -- Following through -- Handling special circumstances -- Older but wiser job seekers -- The in-house option -- Keeping your eye on the prize -- Making a smooth transition -- Positioning yourself to springboard ahead -- Managing change -- Mastering the social side -- Making partner -- Conclusion: putting it all together.
Lawyer Interrupted by
This book covers both the practical and ethical considerations for lawyers taking a break in service for a variety of (voluntary and involuntary) reasons, including temporary leaves of absence, taking care of family, changing careers, disciplinary actions, and retirement. The book focuses on the importance of pre-planning, addresses the considerations unique to each reason for a break, and shares stories and advice from a broad population of lawyers who have taken a break from service for each of these reasons.
Preparing For Reentry: What Lawyers Need To Know To Navigate the Road Ahead After a Career Break by
Return of the champions -- Reenter your ideal platinum practice -- Making the most of the lawyer personality -- Getting your head in the game : part one -- Getting your head in the game : part two -- Supreme role models -- The road best traveled -- Timing the trip -- Reentry points -- Money trips -- Navigating reentry -- Navigating reentry into large law firms -- Ramping up -- Work/life balance -- Roadblocks for mothers -- Packing your travel trunks -- Mapping the trip -- Women drivers.
The Right Moves : Job Search and Career Development Strategies for Lawyers by
Charting your course -- Facing new realities : the dynamic legal marketplace -- Getting back to basics -- Planning your search -- Assessing your marketability -- Using a recruiter -- Crafting effective cover letters and résumés -- Interviewing for optimum impact -- Following through -- Handling special circumstances -- Older but wiser job seekers -- The in-house option -- Keeping your eye on the prize -- Making a smooth transition -- Positioning yourself to springboard ahead -- Managing change -- Mastering the social side -- Making partner -- Conclusion: putting it all together.
Office of Career & Professional Development
Hours: M-F 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Phone: (651) 962-4860
Fax: (651) 962-4861
University of St. Thomas
School of Law, MSL 124
1000 LaSalle Ave
Minneapolis, MN 55403
Schoenecker Law Library
651-962-4900
1000 LaSalle Ave.
Minneapolis, MN 55403
Reference Librarians
lawreference@stthomas.edu
(651) 962-4902
Reference Hours
Circulation/ILL
lawcirc@stthomas.edu
(651) 962-4900
Library Hours