Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Social Networking
I'm on LinkedIn--Now What???: A Guide to Getting the Most Out of LinkedIn (2nd ed.) by Designed to help you get the most out of LinkedIn, which has become the most popular business networking site. It is one of "the big three" in the social networking space, along with Facebook and Twitter. Focuses on strategies and tactics to help you understand what LinkedIn is and how it fits into your online marketing strategy (whether it is a personal marketing strategy or a business/corporate marketing strategy). The tactics are practical, realistic and respectful of your busy schedule.
Call Number: Main collection: HM742 .A432 2009
Facebook in One Hour for Lawyers by The Facebook phenomenon and why lawyers are using Facebook -- Getting started : setting up your Facebook account and a quick orientation -- Optimizing your privacy and other settings -- Creating your profile and managing your timeline -- Establishing a page for your firm or practice -- Friending effectively -- Organizing friends with friend lists -- Participating by updates, comments, likes and sharing -- Participating through messages, groups and subscriptions -- Monitoring your Facebook network -- Learning about some other features you should know -- Developing a strategic approach and three easy action steps -- Ethics -- Separating your personal from your professional presence -- Facebook apps -- Litigation and discovery -- Tips -- Resources.
Call Number: 3-Hour Reserves: KF320.I57 K462 2012
Publication Date: 2013-12-07
How to Find a Job on Linkedln, Facebook, MySpace, Twitter and Other Social Networks by A career guide to finding work by using the power of social networking, this up-to-date reference helps readers fully exploit all the major on-line job-hunting tools out there, taking the reader step by step through the processes of marketing themselves, connecting with employers, building a network of business contacts, and getting recommendations. It also shows how to build contacts and find new leads.
Call Number: Main collection: HF5382.7 .S34 2010
I'm on Facebook--Now What???: How to Get Personal, Business, and Professional Value from Facebook by Facebook is one of the hottest websites in today's world, and is having a major impact on career and business. This book explains the different parts of Facebook and helps you understand how you can get the most out of your Facebook account. It helps you understand what you could or should do in Facebook to further your career, business, or job.
Call Number: Main collection: HM742 .A43 2008
Social Media for Lawyers by Many lawyers view social media as a passing fad, but lawyers who dismiss social media do so at their peril. This cutting-edge guide shows lawyers how to use a practical, goal-centric approach to social media. By enabling lawyers to identify the social media platforms and tools that fit their practice, lawyers can implement them easily, efficiently, and ethically. Written by two lawyers, this book is designed with both the novice and advanced user in mind.
Call Number: Main collection: KF320.A9 E44 2010
Publication Date: 2011-05-16
Social Media for Lawyers : Twitter Edition by Five reasons people refuse to use Twitter -- Create a profile with a hook -- Six personalities on Twitter -- Who do I follow? -- @replies and the CB radio : how to create beneficial conversations -- Retweet, aka Twitter's secret weapon -- Hash tag power : making sure your conversations are heard -- Tweet-up : moving the conversation offline -- The TweetDeck : how to use the best free application -- Web 2.0 and creating a Twitter-friendly websit -- Using Twitter to enhance lead generation -- Learn to give on Twitter, to gain clients -- Identify, qualify and engage using Twitter -- What's your policy? -- More than just bringing clients : Twitter success stories -- Will Twitter last? Predicting the future of social media.
Call Number: Main collection: KF316.5 .D39 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Social Networking Tips & Resources
Links to Articles on Social Media and Web 2.0:
Every Relationship Matters by The central message of this book, as the title suggests, is that relationships are of central importance to successful legal practice. Although the author uses lawyers and law firms as examples, those interested in developing relationships with clients and colleagues to improve their businesses or themselves will benefit from this book. Digital technologies have pervaded our lives, and radical changes to legal practice business models have emerged, yet the core of a successful practice is seated in relationships that cannot be digitized. This second edition updates the original volume with new thoughts and insights regarding the changes in technology and the practice of law in the last 10 years. Book jacket.
Call Number: Main collection: K120 .R68 2016
Publication Date: 2017-05-01
Knock 'em Dead Social Networking by Learn how to integrate social networking into every aspect of your job search and then leverage your social media presence for ongoing professional success. Build professionally relevant networks and a desirable, flexible brand that evolves with your growing experience, while you build and nurture networks that help you navigate a long worklife, and gain greater control over your destiny.
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2015-07-20
The Law Firm Associate's Guide to Connecting With Your Colleagues by The challenge of connecting with colleagues -- What lawyers need -- First impressions are lasting impressions -- Predictors of success -- Biases, baggage, and frames of reference -- Dialogue, not monologue, creates relationship -- People like to do business with people they like -- Importance of feedback -- Owning your career -- Managing conflicting expectations -- Mistakes lateral associates can and do make.
Call Number: Main collection: KF300 .M53 2009
Lawyer's Guide to Collaboration Tools and Technologies by Collaboration at the crossroads -- Collaboration inside the office -- Collaboration outside the office -- First steps -- The evolving role of social media -- Benefits of improving document collaboration and using document collaboration tools -- Basic collaboration on documents -- Creating a document online : getting started with the major players -- Working simultaneously on a document -- Hidden dangers, security and metadata -- Benefits of collaboration in lawsuits and transactions -- Simple collaboration tools for productivity -- Instant collaboration : from conference calls to instant messaging and more.
Call Number: Main collection: KF320.A9 K46 2018
Publication Date: 2018-03-01
A Lawyer's Guide to Networking by This book contains a compilation of quotes about networking from 60 individuals, most of whom are lawyers or judges. The book contains worksheets and exercises designed to help the readers build their own career networks. The result is a career-development guidebook for younger lawyers or those wishing to build out a new practice area.
Call Number: Main collection: KF316.5 .S64 2016
Publication Date: 2016-10-01
Networking for Job Search and Career Success (2nd ed.) by What networking is and why it's important -- Where and how to network -- Getting organized : don't skip this chapter! -- Identifying and expanding your network -- Assembling your self-marketing toolkit -- Honing your communication skills -- Fact-finding missions : networking to make decisions -- Strategy sessions : networking to reach your goals -- Referral meetings : networking to develop business -- Dealing with difficult people and surviving sticky situations -- Networking for introverts : 25 painless tips -- It's never too early to start : 25 networking tips for students -- Doing unto others : the art and science of giving back -- Your action plan : the key to networking success -- Final tips for lifelong networking success.
Call Number: Main collection: HM741 .T85 2004
Social.Lawyers: Transforming Business Development by Change -- Fundamentals do not change -- How things work -- Build a better mousetrap -- Profile and persona -- Policy and privacy -- Posting -- Blogs and Twitter -- The role of the organization -- Social lawyers' case studies.
Call Number: Main collection: KF316.5 .N38 2010
UST School of Law Office of Career & Professional Development
Contact the Law Librarians