Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Library Resources
Search Library Resources
LibrarySearch is the library catalog of six private colleges and universities in the Twin Cities, including Saint Thomas. Books from other campuses can be requested online and delivered to the St. Thomas library of your choice..
Searching by the following subject keywords or subject headings will help you find relevant resources:
- Law - Vocational Guidance - United States
- Lawyers - Employment - United States
- Résumés (Employment)
- Cover Letters
If you would like to browse the library collection of legal career resources, they are located on third floor by call numbers KF297-KF299.
Knock 'em Dead Cover Letters by Knock em Dead Cover Letters 11th edition--cover letters and strategies to get the job you want. Step-by-step guide for how write cover letters and every type of letter you will use in a job hunt. How to build, edit and polish professional letters for maximum impact and how to use them to get four times the interviews.
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2015-09-20
The Elements of Résumé Style by Building your résumé should be one of the easier parts to the whole job-interview process. But instead it's becoming increasingly stressful as well! What kind of résumé will spark the employer's interest? Which kind most often get passed over? How far back are we supposed to go? How can we best explain those time gaps in between jobs? Are the rules different for online résumés? There are so many vital questions when it comes to building a résumé today, but only one way to be assured you're getting the right answers--by asking a hiring expert.Scott Bennett has hired hundreds of people in a variety of industries, and he knows firsthand the insights that will catch an employer's eye, as well as what dangers to avoid if you want to survive the first cut. In The Elements of Résumé Style, Bennett shows readers how to craft clear, compelling, targeted résumés and cover letters that actually work. In this new edition that includes social media and online-application tips, readers will be provided:* More than 1,400 action words, statements, and position descriptions that help sell your skills and experience* Hundreds of words, phrases, and vague claims to avoid* Advice for handling employment gaps, job-hopping, and requests for salary history and requirements* Sample résumés, response letter, inquiry letter, informational interview request letter, references, and more* Surprising tips for acing the interviewIn today's ultra-competitive environment, competition is intense no matter the field or position. And the often-overlooked first hurtle to jump over is no doubt the résumé. This candid book's time-tested tools will make sure yours stands out--helping to get you the job you deserve!
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2014-09-03
America's Top Resumes: For America's Top Jobs (2nd ed.) [Electronic Resource] by A Virtual Encyclopedia of ResumesThis diverse and unparalleled reference includes hundreds of resume samples for jobs at all levels of education, training, and experience. Plus, each resume is annotated with notes and hints from the professional resume writers themselves. Plus Top-Notch Job Search AdviceMichael ""Mike"" Farr provides his expert advice on how to write and, more importantly, use a resume in your job search. As a bonus, he also offers you his comprehensive job search advice, including help with cover letters, the innovative JIST Card networking strategy, post-interview thank-you
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2014
Resumes for Law Careers by You've worked hard for your law degree; now it's time to take that education and put it to work. Get an edge on the other job applicants with Resumes for Law Careers, a resource packed with expert advice on creating concise, stylish resumes that will instantly get you noticed.
With this go-to-guide you'll
Get access to nearly 100 sample resumes and cover letters
Organize and draft your resume with the aid of helpful worksheets
Discover the common elements in the most popular resume formats
Learn to use vivid, active verbs in your resume
Find out how to format and submit resumes electronically
In today's job market, an effective, eye-catching resume is essential for success. With the help of Resumes for Law Careers you'll make a strong first impression and take a confident step toward landing the job of your dreams.
Find a career in:
Labor Law * Litigation * Civil Law * Arbitration * Corporate consultancy * Private practice * Criminal courts * Clerking
Call Number: KF297 .R47 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Telling Your Story by Legal Resume. Identifying information : who are you and how can I contact you? -- Education : where did you go to school and what did you do while you were there? -- Work experience : general information and format, what skill categories best describe your work experience? -- Work experience : substantive descriptions, what specifically did you do in each position you held? -- Special skills and interests : what do you do outside of law school and work? -- Cover Letters. Purpose and logistics : why do I need a cover letter and what should I put in it? -- Heading, addressee and introduction : who are you and why are you writing this cover letter? -- Facts : what are one or two things that you want me to know about you? -- Discussion/argument : why are you a good fit for our organization? -- Closing : how do I end my letter and what is the next step? -- Writing Samples, References and Recommendation Letters, And Networking.
Call Number: Main collection: KF297 .L49 2017
Publication Date: 2017-06-16
Unbeatable Resumes: America's Top Recruiter Reveals What Really Gets You Hired by Need serious help with your rTsumT? Turn to the employment expert Dr. Phil calls othe best of the besto What does Tony Beshara do that most rTsumT oexpertso donAEt? While the experts write rTsumTs all day, Tonyuthe veteran placement specialist featured regularly on the Dr. Phil showuactually uses them to get people jobs. With Unbeatable RTsumTs, Tony dissects and discusses real-life rTsumTs for jobs in a wide range of industries from healthcare to banking, construction to technology, administration to sales and marketing, and more. The book shows readers how to build a powerful rTsumT, utilize keywords effectively, use gaps and job changes to their advantage, and pair their rTsumTs with concise, dynamic cover letters. He complements his expertise (he has personally placed more than 8,500 professionals) with the results of a survey of more than 3,000 managers, executives, HR specialists, and other hiring authorities about what gets rTsumTs read, interviews granted, and jobs offered. Readers will learn: o The critical components of well-written rTsumT o How to ensure their rTsumT actually gets read... by the right people oWhat employers look for, and what turns them off o How to customize a rTsumT for a particular job o The truth about video rTsumTs, job-search websites, and social networking sites like FaceBook, LinkedIn, andMySpace o And much more Unbeatable RTsumTs shows job seekers of all types how to present themselves in the best possible lightafor the best possible position."
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
100+ Winning Answers to the Toughest Interview Questions by The perfect answer is triple-A rated -- The S.S.S. method for fast and fantastic answers -- The trickiest, stickiest questions and how to ace them -- No-win questions, thorny dilemmas, and catch-22s -- Questions about past and current jobs -- Questions about education, development, and other assets -- Questions about the past -- Questions to detect your weaknesses -- Questions about relationship skills or problems -- Questions about your boss -- Questions about work habits -- Questions about job satisfaction --Questions about honesty -- Questions about balance : hard worker or burnout candidate? -- Questions about money -- Questions about mistakes and problems -- Questions about performance -- Questions about meeting of the minds -- Questions about experience -- Questions about management -- Questions about travel issues and schedules -- Questions that show savvy -- The most critical questions : the ones you ask the interviewer -- Hot tips for finding the perfect job -- Before the interview : do your homework.
Call Number: Main collection: HF5549.5.I6 H38 2001
Cracking the Code to a Successful Interview by Cracking the Code to a Successful Interview is a groundbreaking new scientific, proactive, cutting-edge, hands-on, proven approach to job interviews by an award-winning, highly decorated recruiter. This REAPRICH eight-step interview method will give you a proactive way to take control of your interview. You will learn the secret, never-before-published "questions behind the questions." These are the questions that every manager unconsciously needs answered in order to hire you.
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2016-12-13
Interview for Success: A Practical Guide to Increasing Job Interviews, Offers, and Salaries (8th ed.) by Manage the interview for success -- Test your I.Q. for success -- Interview myths and realities -- Organize your job search -- Encounter different types of interviews -- Network for interviews -- Prepare for job interviews -- Begin the interview -- Communicate nonverbally -- Manage the verbal interchange -- Negotiate salary -- Close, follow up, and implement -- Maxims for effective interviewing.
Call Number: Main collection: HF5549.5.I6 K72 2003
The Law Firm Interview: A Guide for Law Students by On-campus interview preparation and procedure -- The on-campus interview -- Callback interview preparation and procedure -- The callback interview -- Interviewing anecdotes and discussion -- Offers, protocol and deadlines.
Call Number: Main collection: KF297 .S38 2002
Law Firm Survival Manual by From interviewing for a position as an associate to achieving partnership, the Law Firm Job Survival Manual will help you run the gauntlet of your legal career faster and smarter. Written with humor and sensitivity, this concise handbook demystifies the etiquette and ethics of the law firm environment while equipping you with essential survival skills.
Call Number: Main collection: KF297 .R37 2014
Publication Date: 2013-10-01
The Legal Job Interview: Winning the Law-Related Job in Today's Market by The subtle art of being interviewed -- The legal job interviewer -- Before the legal job interview -- Conducting yourself in a legal job interview -- Some special rules for the luncheon, cocktail, or dinner interview -- Negotiating the tangibles -- Strategies for answering some commonly asked interviewing questions -- A final thought : the good interviewee never stops interviewing.
Call Number: Main collection: KF297 .E56 2008
Mastering the Job Interview by Career-development expert Kate Wendleton teaches you top strategies for acing the interview and turning that interview into a job offer. You'll also learn how to highlight your strengths and maximize a salary offer through smart negotiation. And you'll learn what it takes to start out on the right foot in your new position. This new edition includes tips and techniques on the latest job search strategies (including online resources) and reflects the realities of career-change in a tough economic climate.
Call Number: e-book
Nail Your Law Job Interview by How to network with ease -- Timing is everything -- How to do your homework -- What to bring -- What to wear -- How to sell yourself effectively -- Body language and demeanor -- Questions to ask -- What not to ask -- Limited disclosure -- Gap-fillers for awkward moments -- Answering inappropriate or illegal questions -- Bold moves -- Rude behavior -- Discussing law, politics, and religion -- Dealing with arrogant interviewers -- Lunch, dinner, and retreat interviews -- Big firms vs. small firms -- On-campus interviews -- Callback interviews and thank-you letters -- Interviewing for 1ls, 2ls, and 3ls -- Clerkship interviews -- Government interviews -- Lateral interviews -- Going in-house -- Tips for using a headhunter -- Interviewing in a bad economy or after getting fired -- Dealing with rejection -- Negotiating an offer -- Unique challenges for foreign applicants.
Call Number: Main collection: KF297 .P74 2009
UST School of Law Office of Career & Professional Development
Contact the Law Librarians
Letters, Resumes, etc. Online