Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Library Resources
LibrarySearch is the library catalog of six private colleges and universities in the Twin Cities, including St. Thomas. Books from other campuses can be requested online and delivered to the UST library of your choice.
Searching by the following subject keywords or subject headings will help you find relevant resources:
- Practice of law - United States - Psychological aspects
- Lawyers - Job stress - United States
- Stress management
- Time management
- Lawyers - Time management
The Anxious Lawyer by The Anxious Lawyer is a straightforward introduction to meditation and mindfulness for those engaged in the practice of law. Readers will be guided through an eight week program, the aim of which is to assist in establishing an ongoing meditation practice. The book will: -Provide an overview of the history of meditation and the scientific evidence of its benefits -Introduce the reader to simple meditation techniques -Offer concrete guidance for establishing meditation practice
Call Number: Main collection: KF298 .C47 2016
Publication Date: 2016-06-07
The Lawyer's Guide to Balancing Life and Work by The Lawyer's Guide to Balancing Life and Work, Second Edition is about how the law fits inside you, not how you fit inside the law. Making space for creativity and passion within your current workplace and at home can yield enormous emotional rewards. In the end, this book will support you whether you stay in the law, shift your law practice, or move on to other work. This book is the tool you need to make healthy decisions and welcome the passion back into your life!
Call Number: Main collection: RA785 .K38 2006
Publication Date: 2006-09-13
A Lawyer's Guide to Wellbeing and Managing Stress by Part 1: So what? Stress and mental illness : a wicked legal problem? -- Prehab -- Part 2: Me. Brain and bodies -- Resilience -- Practical mentalizing (1) : mindfulness -- Part 3: You. Practical mentalizing (2) : mind-mindedness -- Team working and working teams. Part 4: Do. Stuff happens -- Looking after ourselves -- Working well with others -- Epilogue: What now?
Call Number: Main collection: KF297 .L9 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Lawyers Anger and Anxiety by The book first examines how anger and anxiety are related and the symptoms and costs associated with them. You'll also find advice on seeking happiness through all the stages of your career, and discover valuable tips for staying satisfactorily employed during the most stressful of times. There's also help for those living with a stressed-out lawyer, both at home or at the office.
Call Number: Main collection: KF300 .N46 2010
Publication Date: 2011-07-16
Stress Management for Lawyers by "As I read the third edition of Amiram Elwork's book on lawyer stress, on word came constantly to mind: ESSENTIAL - absolutely so for every lawyer in the country. No one knows as much as Elwork about this topic, and his knowledge is a gift to the profession." -- Steven Keeva, author of Tansforming Practices "Backcover"
Call Number: Main collection: RA785 .E46 2007
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Fighting for Time by Though there are still just twenty-four hours in a day, society's idea of who should be doing what and when has shifted. Time, the ultimate scarce resource, has become an increasingly contested battle zone in American life, with work, family, and personal obligations pulling individuals in conflicting directions. In Fighting for Time, editors Cynthia Fuchs Epstein and Arne Kalleberg bring together a team of distinguished sociologists and management analysts to examine the social construction of time and its importance in American culture. Fighting for Time opens with an exploration of changes in time spent at work--both when people are on the job and the number of hours they spend there--and the consequences of those changes for individuals and families. Contributors Jerry Jacobs and Kathleen Gerson find that the relative constancy of the average workweek in America over the last thirty years hides the fact that blue-collar workers are putting in fewer hours while more educated white-collar workers are putting in more. Rudy Fenwick and Mark Tausig look at the effect of nonstandard schedules on workers' health and family life. They find that working unconventional hours can increase family stress, but that control over one's work schedule improves family, social, and health outcomes for workers. The book then turns to an examination of how time influences the organization and control of work. The British insurance company studied by David Collinson and Margaret Collinson is an example of a culture where employees are judged on the number of hours they work rather than on their productivity. There, managers are under intense pressure not to take legally guaranteed parental leave, and clocks are banned from the office walls so that employees will work without regard to the time. In the book's final section, the contributors examine how time can have different meanings for men and women. Cynthia Fuchs Epstein points out that professional women and stay-at-home fathers face social disapproval for spending too much time on activities that do not conform to socially prescribed gender roles--men are mocked by coworkers for taking paternity leave, while working mothers are chastised for leaving their children to the care of others. Fighting for Time challenges assumptions about the relationship between time and work, revealing that time is a fluid concept that derives its importance from cultural attitudes, social psychological processes, and the exercise of power. Its insight will be of interest to sociologists, economists, social psychologists, business leaders, and anyone interested in the work-life balance.
Call Number: Main collection: HD69.T54 F54 2004; and e-book
Publication Date: 2004-08-11
Getting Things Done by The book Lifehack calls "The Bible of business and personal productivity." "A completely revised and updated edition of the blockbuster bestseller from 'the personal productivity guru'"--Fast Company Since it was first published almost fifteen years ago, David Allen's Getting Things Done has become one of the most influential business books of its era, and the ultimate book on personal organization. "GTD" is now shorthand for an entire way of approaching professional and personal tasks, and has spawned an entire culture of websites, organizational tools, seminars, and offshoots. Allen has rewritten the book from start to finish, tweaking his classic text with important perspectives on the new workplace, and adding material that will make the book fresh and relevant for years to come. This new edition of Getting Things Done will be welcomed not only by its hundreds of thousands of existing fans but also by a whole new generation eager to adopt its proven principles.
Call Number: Main collection: BF637.T5 A45 2015
Publication Date: 2015-03-17
How to Do More in Less Time by Many lawyers work long hours and still do not have enough time to complete all their work--let alone tackle the business aspects of their job, such as marketing, business development, or strategic planning. It s a common problem and learning how to juggle the work and manage the extras can be overwhelming for the new or seasoned lawyer. How to Do More in Less Time is a valuable resource to help you learn strategies for taking control of your day and become more productive. Written for the busy lawyer, the authors outline how you can identify the right activities that need to be accomplished and then how you perform those activities efficiently to maximize your productivity. You will learn how to: .Develop good productivity habits by setting goals and prioritizing your workload .Eliminate the distractions around you .Clean up the clutter .Delegate your workload efficiently .Organize and schedule tasks weekly .Create effective systems in your daily practice .Streamline your email .Do 90 minutes of work in 60 minutes and maybe even 30 .And much more "
Call Number: Main collection: KF318 .S53 2015
Publication Date: 2016-02-07
The Organized Lawyer by Organizational skills and professionalism go hand-in-hand, and the topic belongs in any course related to lawyering skills. Now in its second edition, this book addresses the organizational needs and challenges of modern lawyers and law students, and it includes fresh and useful tips for even the most seasoned practitioners. We each have an organizational type that dictates how we live among our things. With topics ranging from attorney attire and effective marketing to developing attractive and efficient workspaces in the office, at home, and on the go, The Organized Lawyer is an essential reference for lawyers at all levels.
Call Number: Main collection: KF318 .A773 2015
Publication Date: 2015-09-22
Project Management by The bestselling project management text for students and professionals--now updated and expanded This Eleventh Edition of the bestselling "bible" of project management maintains the streamlined approach of the prior editions and moves the content even closer to PMI®'s Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK®). New content has been added to this edition on measuring project management ROI, value to the organization and to customers, and much more. The capstone "super" case on the "Iridium Project" has been maintained, covering all aspects of project management. Increased use of sidebars throughout the book helps further align it with the PMBOK and the Project Management Professional (PMP®) Certification Exam. This new edition features significant expansion, including more than three dozen entirely new sections and updates on process supporting; types of project closure; project sponsorship; and culture, teamwork, and trust. This comprehensive guide to the principles and practices of project management: Offers new sections on added value, business intelligence, project governance, and much more Provides twenty-five case studies covering a variety of industries, almost all of which are real-world situations drawn from the author's practice Includes 400 discussion questions and more than 125 multiple-choice questions Serves as an excellent study guide for the PMP Certification Exam (PMI, PMBOK, PMP and Project Management Professional are registered marks of the Project Management Institute, Inc.)
Call Number: Main collection: HD69.P75 K47 2013 and e-book
Publication Date: 2013-02-18
Time and Workplace Management for Lawyers by Too many lawyers cope with their workloads by just spending longer hours at the office. This valuable book will provide strategies that will help you gain control over your professional life so that you can still have a fulfilling personal life outside the office. You'll find loads of practical advice for making time and work management decisions that will lead you to become more productive during your workday. It's written for both new lawyers with minimal work experience as well as lawyers who have practiced for several years and want to become more productive. In addition, you'll find appendix material that will help bring sanity to your home life, and help you reduce stress and relax.
Call Number: Main collection: KF315 .J37 2013; and e-book
Publication Date: 2014-02-07
Time Management for Attorneys: A Lawyer's Guide to Decreasing Stress, Eliminating Interruptions & Getting Home on Time by Proactive strategy one : create a personal vision statement -- Proactive strategy two : create a professional vision statement -- Proactive strategy three : set strategic goals -- Proactive strategy four : select clients wisely -- Proactive strategy five : schedule like tasks together -- Proactive strategy six : systemize your office -- Proactive strategy seven : manage interuptions -- Proactive strategy eight : practice delegation -- Proactive strategy nine : take a vacation.
Call Number: Main collection: K129 .P69 2008
Publication Date: 2008
The Pomodoro Technique is a time-management tool developed in the 1980's and has since been used by professionals and organizations around the world to promote productivity. Click here for more information and resources on the Pomodoro Technique.
A Journey of a Thousand Miles...
- Break the project down in to manageable chunks.
- Make a check list.
- Stop and give yourself a treat when you finish a piece of the project.
- If you don't meet a goal, forgive yourself and get back on task.
UST School of Law Office of Career & Professional Development
Contact the Law Librarians
Lawyers Concerned for Lawyers
Lawyers Concerned for Lawyers provides free, confidential peer and professional assistance to Minnesota lawyers, judges, law students, and their immediate family members on any issue that causes stress or distress.