Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bloomberg Law - Judicial Directory
- Use Bloomberg's Directory of State and Federal Courts, Judges and Clerks to search the entire directory of the nation’s judges and clerks. Research People Profiles to learn more about a particular Judge, including his or her career history, news, and caseload.
- Review Dockets to better understand which cases the Judge has ruled on, along with cases that the Judge is reviewing at the time of your interview. Understanding a Judge’s caseload will provide you with interesting questions to ask during your interview.
Judicial Clerkships Resources: About the Courts & Handbooks
Behind the Bench by Author Debra M. Strauss, J.D. explains all aspects of clerkships in this newly revised edition. The book includes updated information and resources as your go-to source on judicial clerkships, focusing on what clerkships are, what kind of work clerks do, why you should apply, how to find and apply for the type of clerkship that would be right for you, how to give a strong interview, and why clerkships give you stellar credentials that prospective employers will actively seek out. Behind the Bench: The Guide to Judicial Clerkships is filled with nuts and bolts advice on all elements of the application process, including building a successful application, interviewing, etiquette of offers and acceptances, and special strategies designed to help you in your quest for the perfect clerkship. To further lay the groundwork for a positive experience, this title also features a special section on how to prepare for your clerkship, as well as the code of conduct for law clerks. As an entrée into the world of the courts, this is an indispensable handbook for every law student and potential judicial clerk!
Call Number: Main collection: KF8771 .S77 2017; and e-book
Publication Date: 2016-12-09
Federal Appellate Court law clerk handbook by Introduction to the pocket survival guide -- Overview of clerkship and role of the law clerk -- History of the U.S. Court of Appeals -- Merits panel case -- Oral argument -- Filing the decision with the clerk -- After the decision is rendered : petition for rehearing and the en banc process -- Writing tips -- Researching tips -- Bluebooking tips -- Communication within the court -- Computer system -- Working style -- Other duties -- Traveling for the court -- Law clerk hiring -- Dealing with staff -- Ethics.
Call Number: Main collection: KF8807 .L46 2007
Publication Date: 2007-10-01
In Chambers by In Chambers is a refreshingly brief and focused book that addresses the key concepts and basic skills clerks and externs need to have on day one. It explains rudimentary tasks, such as reading a docket sheet and working with a case file, and offers detailed instructions on drafting jury instructions. Sources of authority commonly relied upon by the courts are identified for specific topics, and a helpful note-taking system is provided. Standards of review are covered in detail, including the standard for mixed questions of fact and law. Useful checklists are provided as well for drafting documents. Exercises at the end of chapters evaluate the readerand#8217;s comprehension and application of the materials. The text of In Chambers is informed by the author's own experience as a judicial clerk as well as her involvement with the externship programs at Appalachian School of Law and Mercer University School of Law. Features: Addresses key concepts and basic skills that clerks and externs need to have on day one Explains rudimentary tasks reading a docket sheet working with a case file Offers detailed instructions on drafting jury instructions Identifies sources of authority commonly relied upon by the courts in specific areas Provides a helpful note-taking system Explains standards of review in detail includes standard for mixed questions of fact and law Includes checklists for drafting documents Features chapter-ending exercises evaluate the reader's comprehension apply materials to real situations Informed by author's experience served as a judicial clerk involved in the externship programs at Appalachian School of Law and Mercer University School of Law
Call Number: Main collection: KF8807 .S54 2012
Publication Date: 2012-03-12
Judging: A Book for Student Clerks by Everything you always wanted to know about judges but were afraid to ask / Alexander M. Sanders, Jr. -- Judicial law clerks : the appellate judge's "write" hand / Jefferson Lankford -- What I ate for breakfast and other mysteries of judicial decision making / Alex Kozinski -- Getting there : the judiciary / Myron H. Bright -- Commentary on Jeffrey M. Shaman's "the impartial judge" : detachment or passion? / Shirley M. Abrahamson -- Don't judge this fine jurist by one mistake / Jack Newfield -- Ruffled feathers bring attempts to pluck judges from bench / Mary Wisniewski Holden -- If justice is for all, who are its constituents? / Penny J. White -- and more
Call Number: Main collection: KF8807 .J94 2002
Publication Date: 2002
Judicial Clerkships by Judicial Clerkships: A Practical Guide is a comprehensive guide to working as a judicial clerk. The book explains (1) the role and duties of judicial clerks, (2) how to adapt the writing style used in law school classes and journals for use in the judicial clerkship setting, and (3) the form and content of specific documents written by judicial clerks. The book discusses how to write bench memoranda, opinion drafts, orders, findings of fact and conclusions of law, jury instructions, and letters and other professional correspondence. In addition to explaining how to write specific documents, the book reviews the fundamentals of good writing, research, and citation. It also features chapters on how to apply for clerkships, the different kinds of clerkships, and the ethical responsibilities of clerks. The document-specific chapters all include document review checklists and sample documents. The book is a great resource for law students taking a judicial internship or externship class, law school graduates considering judicial clerkships, and current judicial clerks.
Call Number: Main collection: KF8807 .D86 2010
Publication Date: 2010-04-01
Judicial Clerkships by Clerks and controversy : an evolving history -- Inside chambers : what judicial clerks do -- Scope of review : the self-conscious appellate court -- Unraveling the threads of stare decisis -- Science and art : drafting appellate opinions -- A divided bench : dissents and concurrences -- Clerking : the beauty is in the details -- A primer on law and fact -- Working with statutes -- Drafting in the trial courts : the long and short of it.
Call Number: Main collection: KF8771 .M55 2011
Publication Date: 2011-03-01
Of Courtiers and Kings by Supreme Court justices have long relied on law clerks to help process the work of the Court. Yet few outside the Court are privy to the behind-the-scenes bonds that form between justices and their clerks. In Of Courtiers and Kings, Todd C. Peppers and Clare Cushman offer an intimate new look at the personal and professional relationships of law clerks with their justices. Going beyond the book's widely acclaimed predecessor, I n Chambers, the vignettes collected here range from reflections on how serving as clerks at the Supreme Court impacted the careers of such justices as Stephen Breyer, Elena Kagan, William Rehnquist, John G. Roberts Jr., and John Paul Stevens to personal recollections written by parents and children who have both served as Supreme Court clerks. While individual essays often focus on a single justice and his or her corps of clerks--including how that justice selected and utilized the clerks--taken as a whole the volume provides a macro-level view of the evolution of the role of the Supreme Court law clerk. Drawing on a rich repository of such anecdotes, insights, and experience, the volume relates in a clear and accessible style how the clerking function has changed over time and what it is like for law clerks to be witnesses to history. Offering a rare glimpse into a normally unseen world, Of Courtiers and Kings reveals the Court's increasing reliance on law clerks and raises important questions about the selection, utilization, and influence of law clerks. Praise for In Chambers: "An excellent book.... It's interesting for many different reasons, not the least of which as a reminder of how much of a bastion of elitism the Court has always been."--Atlantic Monthly "The best parts of the book are the behind-the-scenes descriptions of life at the court.... [A]n impressive and comprehensive book."--Associated Press
Call Number: Main collection: F8742 .O24 2015
Publication Date: 2015-12-03
UST School of Law Office of Career & Professional Development
Contact the Law Librarians