Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Library Resources
Search Library Resources
LibrarySearch is the library catalog of six private colleges and universities in the Twin Cities, including St. Thomas. Books from other campuses can be requested online and delivered to the UST library of your choice.
Searching by the following subject keywords or subject headings will help you find relevant resources:
- Law - Vocational Guidance - United States
- Lawyers - Employment - United States
- Practice of law - United States
- Lawyers - United States
- Christian lawyers - United States
- Practice of law - Religious aspects
- Job satisfaction
- Lawyers - Job satisfaction - United States
- Work and family - United States
- Women lawyers - United States
- Practice of law - United States - Psychological aspects
- Quality of work life
- Practice of law - Economic aspects - United States
If you would like to browse the library collection of legal career resources, they are located on third floor by call numbers KF297-KF299.
It's Harder in Heels by The book contains essays by and about women lawyers: stories about women practicing (or choosing not to practice) law, about hitting the glass ceiling, about amazing lawyer-mentors, about professional achievements, about personal and professional hardships, about the stress of juggling multiple roles, about meeting the demands of work and family, about being Superwoman, and about hitting the maternal wall. The essays describe women's satisfactions and their struggles. While it may be "harder in heels," the essays are inspiring, observant, introspective, insightful, and wise. Even though the stories revolve around women trained to be lawyers, their stories are relevant to life outside the legal profession and will be lessons for all women professionals.
Call Number: Main collection: KF299.W6 I87 2007
Publication Date: 2007-07-01
Law and Reorder by This ground-breaking and timely book will inspire you to effect changes in your own work methods and those of your employer. It will provide you with the foundation, insights and strategies you need to redesign the legal workplace, re-align the interests of lawyers, clients and legal employers, hone your individual skills as a lawyer, and embrace a more hospitable, productive and profitable environment.
Call Number: Main collection: KF315 .H46 2010; and e-book
Publication Date: 2011-07-16
The Lawyer's Guide to Balancing Life and Work by The Lawyer's Guide to Balancing Life and Work, Second Edition is about how the law fits inside you, not how you fit inside the law. Making space for creativity and passion within your current workplace and at home can yield enormous emotional rewards. In the end, this book will support you whether you stay in the law, shift your law practice, or move on to other work. This book is the tool you need to make healthy decisions and welcome the passion back into your life!
Call Number: Main collection: RA785 .K38 2006
Publication Date: 2006-09-13
Sharing the Pants by Observations, insights and thoughts about pressures I've faced achieving work-life balance / David M. Balfour -- The juggler's husband / Andrew B. Goodman -- Confessions of a stay-at-home dad / Steven A. Haslem -- Balance? Are you @#$* kidding me? / Patrick L. Hosey -- Memoirs from the boys' club / Roger M. Keithly, Jr. -- The male lawyer spouse as smoke-damaged house / Kenneth S. Klein -- Sometimes you can't have it all (but what you have is enough) / Grant Marylander -- Idiosyncratic ramblings of an unbalanced Englishman / Daren May -- Work - life - balance: a field guide / Eric J. Miersma -- The best seat in the house / Scott J. Preston -- Teamwork works for us / Randall C. Rechs -- A fine balance / Gerald R. (Jerry) Sanders -- It's all about the teamwork / Robert F. Seibel -- The collision between feminism, careers, and raising kids: one couple's story / Leonard B. Simon -- All I really need to know I learned from being married to a lawyer / Andrew H. Simonian -- Reservations / Robert N. Slotkin -- What women taught me about practicing law / Allen C. Snyder -- Supporting a successful attorney, a modern perspective: lessons from our family / Matthew S. Spydell -- Life in oxfords instead of heels / Jack Van Doren -- Portraits on the bedroom wall / Louis R. Velasquez.
Call Number: Main collection: KF298 .S52 2009
Publication Date: 2009-12-01
Should You Marry a Lawyer? by Lawyers in love -- The lawyer personality -- The marriage variations -- The lawyer at home -- Lawyer families : the perpetual struggles -- Helping the lawyer in your life -- Balancing work, love & ambition -- Appendix: change your job, change your life.
Call Number: Main collection: KF300 .T73 2004
Publication Date: 2003-10-01
Faith & Career Satisfaction
Can a Good Christian Be a Good Lawyer? by Law professors Thomas E. Baker and Timothy W. Floyd asked some of their legal colleagues to respond to this provocative question: "Can a good Christian be a good lawyer?" Here are twenty-one highly personal narratives that answer the question of how each writer tries, sometimes but not always successfully, to be both a good Christian and a good lawyer. How does a lawyer called to live the Gospel of Jesus Christ reconcile his or her faith with the secular calling to the legal profession? The editors did not set out to provide some kind of final resolution or unified consensus. Instead, they have compiled a remarkable collection of reflections by lawyers, judges, and academics who represent many different branches of Christianity. The reader is likely to find many role models to emulate and the inspiration to continue to fight the good fight in these accounts grounded in legal and Christian thought. Reading about these real-life ethical dilemmas, conflicting loyalties, and personal difficulties offers the reassurance that others have shared their ongoing struggle to rhyme their career with their faith. Although every lawyer will find Can a Good Christian Be a Good Lawyer? especially meaningful, these essays speak to all persons of faith who strive to practice their beliefs in their work.
Call Number: Main collection: KF389 .C25 1998
Publication Date: 1997-12-30
Ethical Ambition by From the New York Times bestselling author Derrick Bell, a profound meditation on achieving success with integrity. As one of the country's most influential law professors, Derrick Bell has spent a lifetime helping students struggling to maintain a sense of integrity in the face of an overwhelming pressure to succeed at any price. Frequently asked how he managed to be so extraordinarily successful while never giving up the fight for justice and equality, Bell decided to spend his seventieth year writing a book of insight and guidance. The result, Ethical Ambition, is a deeply affecting, uplifting, and brilliant series of meditations that not only challenges us to face some of the most difficult questions that life presents, but dares to offer some solutions. Using incidents from his own life, Bell also looks to literature, history, and other contemporary figures who have refused to compromise their beliefs. In chapters that explore passion, faith courage, inspiration, humility, and relationships, Ethical Ambition address the most fundamental issues of life.
Call Number: Main collection: BJ1533.A4 B45 2002
Publication Date: 2002-10-25
The Faithful Lawyer by Law studies and law practice present psychological, emotional, ethical, and other challenges that test the faith of law students and lawyers. Failures in faith can produce doubt, fear, anxiety, and even depression, substance abuse, and burnout. Law studies and law practice, like other worthwhile yet challenging endeavors, force law students and lawyers to define and commit to articles of faith. This guide helps law students and lawyers connect law studies and practice to faith, to give pursuit of a law career its greatest meaning. The guide illustrates how law students and lawyers develop in faith, passing through moral fields to discover and embrace a transcendent law practice--one that blesses the lawyer and lawyer's family while supporting and serving the flourishing of others. By footnoting the guide with Bible verses, the author shows law students and lawyers how closely law study and law practice are to faith, and how traditional forms of faith can guide and support a law student and lawyer in professional development. Even those who do not sense law studies and law practice to be spiritual pursuits can benefit from this unique and thought-provoking text. Chapters include: Introduction: Law as an Expression of Faith (Morality, Faith, Redemption, Transformation); Chapter 1: Law Studies: Challenges Strengthening Faith (Belief, Obedience, Honesty, Truth); Chapter 2: Law Knowledge: Faith at Law's Foundations (Love, Covenant, Provision, Community); Chapter 3: Law Skills: Faith Informing Services (Reason, Relationship, Counsel, Discernment); Chapter 4: Law Identity: Becoming a Lawyer of Faith (Calling, Character, Fitness, Responsibility); Chapter 5: Law Practice: The Demonstration of Faith (Service, Stewardship, Diligence, Charity); Conclusion: Faithful Professionals; Suggested Readings
Call Number: Main collection: KF299.C47 M55 2012
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
The Lawyer's Calling by Defines the crisis of the legal profession as a spiritual one rather than an ethical one, and urges lawyers to rethink their careers in terms of a vocation in the context of legal practice.
Call Number: CST Collection: KF298 .A43 1996
Publication Date: 1996-01-01
Redeeming Law by Being a Christian lawyer is possible, but not easy.Law professor Michael Schutt believes that although there are significant obstacles, Christians belong in the legal profession and should regard it as a sacred calling. The Christian God is, after all, a God concerned with justice, both divine and human. However, the pathway beginning with law school and leading to the daily demands of practice doesn't provide much guidance for pursuing law as a Christian calling. Schutt offers this book as a vital resource for reconceiving the theoretical foundations of law and gives practical guidance for maintaining integrity within a challenging profession. A hopeful and practical book for law students and those serving in the legal profession.
Call Number: CST collection: KF298 .S38 2007
Publication Date: 2007-07-24
Best Friends at the Bar by Best Friends at the Bar: The New Balance for Today's Woman Lawyer candidly addresses the problems unique to women in the practice of law and provides practical, helpful advice and solutions. This companion to Best Friends at the Bar: What Women Need to Know about a Career in the Law is based on research, the author's experience, and interviews with women attorneys who have successfully made the transition from one practice setting to another. These women, many with national reputations, tell their stories in their own compelling words.
Call Number: Main collection: KF299.W6 B588 2012
Publication Date: 2012-07-19
Career Contentment by Career Contentment: Don't Settle for Anything Less shows you how a shift in your own attitude can attract not just the right job for your background and/or work history, but also attract work that will be meaningful to you as well. The premise is deceptively simple: meaningful work is available to anyone willing to adopt the right mindset and attitude.
Call Number: Main Collection: HF5549.5.J63 G37 2008
Publication Date: 2008-01-17
The Creative Lawyer by Now completely revised and updated, this book is a self-help and career-management book for lawyers of all levels of experience. The book is a step-by-step method for imagining and realizing your path to personal and professional satisfaction. The book will: give you a template for envisioning and managing your own professional development, whatever path you choose help you to manage your career so that you can stay happy. If you are not sure what you think about your career give you a framework for sorting things out and moving forward amidst ambiguity, and more Brilliantly written, consistently practical, and filled with scores of illuminating exercises, including many new ones, The Creative Lawyer is the book that the profession has been waiting for. "Professional satisfaction," the author writes, "is a question of creating what you want, not just waiting for it to appear."
Call Number: Main collection: KF300 .M45 2014
Publication Date: 2015-06-07
Finding Bliss by Change has come to the legal profession, as never before. Once hallowed law firms face unprecedented financial pressures. Their corporate clients are negotiating rates and reducing their outside counsel spending. They are also demanding
more predictability in pricing, increased flexibility in staffing, and added value from all legal services firms. Lawyers themselves, overworked and worried about job security (if they are lucky enough to have a job), are more stressed and anxiety ridden than
ever. To address these challenges, and to improve the delivery of legal services and the daily lives of lawyers, Finding Bliss: Innovative Legal Models for Happy Clients & Happy Lawyers provides creative and disruptive solutions. Authored by the three co-founders
of Bliss Lawyers, a secondment firm that is transforming the way corporations and law firms engage high caliber attorneys, the book provides compelling examples of how to achieve greater success in terms of profitability, productivity and satisfaction. Finding
Bliss explores seven key themes to improve legal practice and client service, including: innovation, value, predictability and trust, flexibility, talent development, diversity and inclusion, and relationship building. In a ground-breaking analysis, Finding
Bliss addresses the profession's challenges from both sides of an evolving equation: the structural change within law firms, in-house legal departments, and other legal service providers, and the individual change in today's attorneys seeking to meet business
needs while gaining more flexibility and freedom. Through the book's seven themes, Finding Bliss tackles the answers to how traditional and new model firms can more effectively deliver legal services and align the skills of the legal talent pool to better
meet clients' needs. With a combination of innovative foresight and penetrating understanding, Finding Bliss provides wisdom and inspiration of how to successfully navigate this critical moment of upheaval and opportunity facing the legal profession. The result?
Happy Clients and Happy Lawyers."
Call Number: Main collection: KF300 .H457 2015
Publication Date: 2015-01-07
The Fulfilled Lawyer by Attorney Kathleen Paukert describes her personal journey to finding career fulfillment, and shares her best advice for how lawyers can do the same, covering topics ranging from large (how to choose a practice setting, and recognizing your lawyer personality) to small (how to furnish your office, when to lease a copier, and what bank accounts are essential). You'll find a wealth of practical step-by-step advice on starting and building your law practice.
Call Number: Main collection: KF300 .P378 2014
Publication Date: 2015-02-16
The Happy Lawyer by You get good grades in college, pay a small fortune to put yourself through law school, study hard to pass the bar exam, and finally land a high-paying job in a prestigious firm. You're happy, right? Not really. Oh, it beats laying asphalt, but after all your hard work, you expected more from your job. What gives? The Happy Lawyer examines the causes of dissatisfaction among lawyers, and then charts possible paths to happier and more fulfilling careers in law. Eschewing a one-size-fits-all approach, it shows how maximizing our chances for achieving happiness depends on understanding our own personality types, values, strengths, and interests. Covering everything from brain chemistry and the science of happiness to the workings of the modern law firm, Nancy Levit and Doug Linder provide invaluable insights for both aspiring and working lawyers. For law students, they offer surprising suggestions for selecting a law school that maximizes your long-term happiness prospects. For those about to embark on a legal career, they tell you what happiness research says about which potential jobs hold the most promise. For working lawyers, they offer a handy toolbox--a set of easily understandable steps--that can boost career happiness. Finally, for firm managers, they offer a range of approaches for remaking a firm into a more satisfying workplace. Read this book and you will know whether you are more likely to be a happy lawyer at age 30 or age 60, why you can tell a lot about a firm from looking at its walls and windows, whether a 10 percent raise or a new office with a view does more for your happiness, and whether the happiness prospects are better in large or small firms. No book can guarantee a happier career, but for lawyers of all ages and stripes, The Happy Lawyer may give you your best shot.
Call Number: Main collection: KF300 .L485 2010
Publication Date: 2010-07-22
How Lawyers Lose Their Way by In this penetrating book, Jean Stefancic and Richard Delgado use historical investigation and critical analysis to diagnose the cause of the pervasive unhappiness among practicing lawyers. Most previous writers have blamed the high rate of burnout, depression, divorce, and drug and alcohol dependency among these highly paid professionals on the narrow specialization, long hours, and intense pressures of modern legal practice. Stefancic and Delgado argue that these professional demands are only symptoms of a deeper problem: the way lawyers are taught to think and reason. They show how legal education and practice have been rendered arid and dull by formalism, a way of thinking that values precedent and doctrine above all, exalting consistency over ambiguity, rationality over emotion, and rules over social context and narrative. Stefancic and Delgado dramatize the plight of modern lawyers by exploring the unlikely friendship between Archibald MacLeish, who gave up a successful but unsatisfying law career to pursue his literary yearnings, and Ezra Pound. Reading the forty-year correspondence between MacLeish and Pound, Stefancic and Delgado draw lessons about the difficulties of attorneys trapped in worlds that give them power, prestige, and affluence but not personal satisfaction, much less creative fulfillment. Long after Pound had embraced fascism, descended into lunacy, and been institutionalized, MacLeish took up his old mentor's cause, turning his own lack of fulfillment with the law into a meaningful crusade and ultimately securing Pound's release from St. Elizabeths Hospital. Drawing on MacLeish's story, Stefancic and Delgado contend that literature, public interest work, and critical legal theory offer tools to contemporary attorneys for finding meaning and overcoming professional dissatisfaction.
Call Number: Main collection: KF300 .S698 2005; and e-book
Publication Date: 2005-01-13
Keeping Good Lawyers by Based on the strong correlation between job satisfaction and lawyer retention, this book explains how firms can continually engage and motivate lawyers. Discussions include why associate retention is an economic necessity for any firm, what it means to clients when lawyers leave, why so many lawyers express interest in pursuing other job fields, and the value of loyalty in today's practices. Provided are methods to establish trust between management and lawyers, common characteristics of the best lawyers, and seven ways to create an engaging environment.
Call Number: Main collection: KF318 .V63 2000
Publication Date: 2004-11-16
Lawyer, Know Thyself by This work reviews 40 years' worth of empirical studies on lawyers and law students and how to identify themselves with the profile and personality of the typical lawyer. If they do not fit this profile, the book suggests how atypical lawyers can practise law most successfully.
Call Number: Main collection: KF300.Z9 D35 2004
Publication Date: 2004-01-15
LawyerLife by The author offers many practical suggestions for those seeking fulfillment in their legal careers.
Call Number: Main collection: KF297 .H67 2003
Publication Date: 2003-08-26
Contact the Law Librarians
Accelerating Lawyer Success by Making partner and achieving a sense of success and fulfillment in a law firm is challenging for most young lawyers. Based on original research, Accelerating Lawyer Success examines the factors, competencies, and attitudes that allow some lawyers to flourish and make partner while others struggle. Moreover, the authors show readers how to develop the same mindset and skills that they identified as the key factors behind the success of the lawyers they studied. Given today s difficult job environment for lawyers, this book is particularly valuable for law students, new lawyers, or an associate on the cusp of partnership."
Call Number: Main collection: KF297 .A768 2016
Publication Date: 2016-09-07
The Busy Lawyer's Guide to Success by Busy lawyers do not have dozens of extra hours to conduct research looking for new tips and ideas to streamline and enhance their practice of law. They need just-in-time learning to acquire the knowledge necessary to build their practices. This convenient pocket guide is the best ever collection of practical tips, ideas, and techniques to help you survive, thrive, and find success in the practice of law.
Call Number: Main collection: KF315 .T72 2009
Publication Date: 2010-01-16
Excellence in the Workplace, Legal and Life Skills in a Nutshell by A people-skills book for new lawyers, law students, paralegals, and pre-law students. Identifies skills lawyers need; addresses getting practical lawyering skills and help you need--on the job and in law school. Chapters on emotional intelligence, diversity, meetings, time management, managing writing and research assignments, meeting with clients, working with your supervisor, supervising others. How to get feedback, cope with stress and conflict, seek balance, master public speaking and oral communication. Addresses the first day, shyness, meals, dress, cultural differences, networking, judgment, values, ethics, e-mail, and e-professionalism, building a career plan, career office resources, deciding if a job is right for you, negotiating salary, law firm economics, managing money. Advice from employers, insights from students. Excellent advice for new professionals in any field.
Call Number: Reserves: KF297 .K38 2018; and e-book
Publication Date: 2018-01-12
The Good Lawyer by Every lawyer wants to be a good lawyer. They want to do right by their clients, contribute to the professional community, become good colleagues, interact effectively with people of all persuasions, and choose the right cases. All of these skills and behaviors are important, but they spring from hard-to-identify foundational qualities necessary for good lawyering. After focusing for three years on getting high grades and sharpening analytical skills, far too many lawyers leave law school without a real sense of what it takes to be a good lawyer.In The Good Lawyer, Douglas O. Linder and Nancy Levit combine evidence from the latest social science research with numerous engaging accounts of top-notch attorneys at work to explain just what makes a good lawyer. They outline and analyze several crucial qualities: courage, empathy, integrity, diligence, realism, a strong sense of justice, clarity of purpose, and an ability to transcend emotionalism. Many qualities require apportionment in the right measure, and achieving the right balance is difficult. Lawyers need to know when to empathize and also when to detach; courage without an appreciation of consequences becomes recklessness; working too hard leads to exhaustion and mistakes. And what do you do in tricky situations, where the urge to deceive is high? How can you maintain focus through a mind-taxing (or mind-numbing) project? Every lawyer faces these problems at some point, but if properly recognized and approached, they can be overcome.It's not easy being good, but this engaging guide will serve as a handbook for any lawyer trying not only to figure out how to become a better--and, almost always, more fulfilled--lawyer.
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
How Good Lawyers Survive Bad Times by The weak economy and large number of firm layoffs have resulted in a flood of potential new solo and small firm lawyers starting their own practices in the wake of the exodus from BigLaw. Small practice lawyers, well seasoned or just starting out, can gain immeasurably by just applying even a few of the myriad tips within this book.
Call Number: Main collection: KF315 .N45 2009
Publication Date: 2010-06-16
The Lawyer's Guide to Finding Success in Any Job Market by If you're one of the tens of thousands of American attorneys out of work, you're probably wondering: where do I go from here? Lawyer and career counselor Richard Hermann, cofounder of AttorneyJobs.com, shows you how to react, how to cope, and how to get back on track.
Call Number: Main collection: KF297 .H44 2009
Publication Date: 2009-10-06
The Lawyer's Guide to Job Security by The competitive world of law takes “dog-eat-dog” to a new level. It’s in this environment that no lawyer can afford to be withoutThe Lawyer’s Guide to Job Security. Richard Hermann,a legal career counselor with 25 years of experience, shows attorneys the practical,common-sense techniques they can use to navigate their careers up the organizational ladder and find both success and job security waiting for them at the top. Herman guides the reader step-by-step through the process and helps one to start out on the right foot; to establish oneself within the firm; to understand the dos and don’ts of the legal workplace; and how to successfully upgrade one’s managerial prowess. He also provides the reader with a professional improvement program and a personal job-coaching program designed for achieving one’s desired goals. The Lawyer’s Guide to Job Securitygives lawyers the timetested tools they need to take control of their work and careers. With this invaluable guide, lawyers will never be victims in their own professional arena.
Call Number: Main collection: KF300 .H473 2010
Publication Date: 2010-03-02
The Successful Lawyer, Second Edition by This comprehensive and inspirational book explains how lawyers can make their lives more exciting, fulfilling, and profitable by taking control of their destinies. Global management consultant and trusted advisor to many of the world's largest law firms, Gerald Riskin goes beyond simple concept or theory, and delivers a book packed with concrete advice that you can put to work right away. By using the principles found in this book, you can live out your dreams, embrace success, and awaken your firm to its full potential.Book sections include: The Foundations of Success; Successfully Managing the Client Relationship; Putting Client-Relations Skills to Work; Increasing Your Value; The Business of Law"; and Time and Money. The 48 brief, clearly written chapters include: "Courting Prospective Clients," "Meeting Prospective Clients," "Managing Client Expectations," "Becoming More Valuable," "Dealing with Difficult People," "Harnessing Technology," "Managing Time," and many, many more.Tom Peters, the highly acclaimed writer on business-management practice and author of In Search of Excellence, has described The Successful Lawyer as "Well argued and exceptionally practical." Join the thousands of other lawyers who have used this book to make their practices more rewarding. . . both personally and economically.
Call Number: Main collection: KF300 .R57 2016
Publication Date: 2016-10-27
The Trial Lawyer's Guide to Success and Happiness by Choosing the right client -- Client relations and relationships -- Meeting client expectations -- Time management -- Specializing, yet varying, in your practice -- Community service -- The lawyer as counselor -- Stress, distress, and challenge -- Cherishing family and friends -- Finding your center -- Hobbies, relaxation, and vacations -- Taking care of your physical health -- Making technology your friend -- Good lawyers love the law, but not forever.
Call Number: Main collection: KF8915 .R669 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-01