Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Library Resources
LibrarySearch is the library catalog of six private colleges and universities in the Twin Cities, including Saint Thomas. Books from other campuses can be requested online and delivered to the St. Thomas library of your choice..
Searching by the following subject keywords or subject headings will help you find relevant resources:
- Solo practice - United States
- Lawyers - United States
- Law offices - United States
- Practice of Law - United States
If you would like to browse the library collection of legal career resources, they are located on third floor by call numbers KF297-KF299.
Solo Practice Resources
A forum for lawyers who are practicing alone or in a small firm setting, particularly those in firms of five or fewer lawyers. As a cyber-water cooler, SoloSez® offers an opportunity for practitioners to pose questions, offer advice, and share information.
ABA General Practice, Solo, and Small Firm Division
A variety of resources for the solo or small firm lawyer.
MSBA Solo and Small Firm Section
Enhance skills and connect with other solo lawyers in the Minnesota State Bar Association.
Starting Your Own Firm
A list of resources from the Minnesota State Law Library.
A blog for solo and small firm lawyers.
Start Your Solo/Small Firm
Learn how to start from the ground up at this CLE program brought to you by the MSBA Practice Management & Marketing Section. Must be a member to view.
The 2019 Solo and Small Firm Legal Technology Guide by The popular annual guide to legal technology is back with its 2019 edition. The Solo and Small Firm Legal Technology Guide is the only book of its kind that helps solo and small firm lawyers find the best value for their dollars in legal tech. In clear, understandable language, that authors give a vendor-neutral overview of and recommendations for computers, servers, networking equipment, legal software, printers, security products, smartphones, tablets, and more. Whether you choose to do it yourself or work with an IT consultant, this book has the information you need to reduce the sea of choices to a manageable set of proven options. New and updated topics for this edition include: - The latest recommendations on hardware and software for PCs, Macs, and tablets- Best products and practices to protect sensitive data from internal and external security threats- Tips for safe and secure remote access to your data, even when traveling abroad- Advice to help you prepare for the worst-case scenarios -- lost smartphone, data breach, natural disaster...- Tomorrow in legal tech, from trends in cyber risks to cloud computing and relevant new ethics opinions
Call Number: Main collection: KF320.A9 S66 2019
Publication Date: 2019-07-02
Flying Solo by Newly revised and updated to meet the needs of today s legal professionals, Flying Solo is a comprehensive guide to establishing and maintaining a successful solo law practice. The Fifth Edition of this ABA classic includes practical information gathered from a wide range of contributors, including successful solo practitioners, law firm consultants, state and local bar practice management advisors, and law school professors. Whether you're thinking of going solo, new to the solo life, or a seasoned practitioner, Flying Solo provides time-tested answers to real-life questions. This book will help you: Make the decision to open your own law firm Choose the right practice area(s) Create a business plan and determine your fees Leave your current firm without burning bridges Set up an office space Work with traditional and alternative billing arrangements Use technology to manage your finances Develop and execute a marketing plan Gain clients through social media Plan strategically for the future And much more "
Call Number: Main collection: KF300 .F58 2005
Publication Date: 2016-11-07
Founding a Law Firm by Riding the updrafts and downdrafts of a new firm / Thomas B. Hudson -- Staying people-focused / Stephen A. Walker -- Separation anxiety : going the boutique route / Paula A. Barran -- Looking back on the founding process for a small firm / Moise S. Steeg Jr. -- Building a law firm as partners / Michael Connelly -- Old-fashioned partnership : cutting-edge law / Michael S. McMahon and Gregory J. DeGulis -- The success of slow growth in a small firm / Kenneth G. Oertel -- Constantly updating a hundred-year tradition to meet today's clients' needs / James F. Moseley -- Beyond law / Eric Weissmann -- Successful partnership in a shrinking market / Vincent M. DeOrchis -- Benefiting from experience / Howard Langer.
Call Number: Main collection: KF300 .F68 2008
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
How to Start and Build a Law Practice by A classic ABA bestseller, How to Start and Build a Law Practice has been used by tens of thousands of lawyers as the comprehensive guide to planning, launching, and growing a successful practice. Author Jay G Foonberg, now in his fifth decade of practicing law, has always been dedicated to giving other lawyers the benefit of his wealth of experience. This Platinum Fifth Edition is packed with over 600 pages of guidance on identifying the right location, finding clients, setting fees, managing your office, maintaining an ethical and responsible practice, maximizing available resources, upholding your standards, and much more. If you're committed to starting--and growing-- your own practice, this one book will give you the expert advice you need to make it succeed. More than 100,000 lawyers have turned to Jay Foonberg for the secrets to running a successful law firm; now you can, too, with the new Platinum Fifth Edition. Jay Foonberg has organized the book into short, easy-to-read chapters that deal with all the specific challenges you will encounter when you open your office. The answers you'll get are realistic, practical, and based on real-life experience. You'll find a wealth of tips that can improve your practice once it is up and running, as well as dozens of time-saving templates and checklists. In addition, there is all-new material for this edition, covering topics including: New opportunities for serving senior clients and the growth of elder law E-mail and the Internet Law firm mergers and dissolutions The increasing size of student loans Opportunities created by an aging population Nonlawyer consultants The globalization of legal practice When and how to safely close and destroy files The aggressive marketing being done now by firms of all sizes And much more Even if you already have an established practice, you are sure to find information that will help you compete and succeed. This is the one book you'll need to build and grow your practice.
Call Number: Main collection: KF300 .F66 2004
Publication Date: 2004-04-29
Minding Your Business by Small firm lawyers often get caught in the crossfire of practicing law and managing a business all at the same time. Commitments and interests levels may weigh more heavily on defending the freedoms guaranteed in the U.S. Constitution vs. calculating overtime pay for staff. They may be more interested in ensuring our legal system works, but not so interested in developing marketing strategies to attract new business.
Call Number: Main collection: KF318 .G85 2010
Publication Date: 2011-07-16
Solo by Choice, the Companion Guide by Is there a solo type? -- Why did you decide to solo? -- What did you know about solo practice before you began? -- How did you explain your decision to colleagues? -- Who was the most supportive of your decision? -- What are your sharpest memories of starting out? -- What sacrifices did you make to solo? -- How did you create a revenue stream in the beginning? -- What role does a spouse/partner play in a solo's success? -- How do you balance parenting with a solo practice? -- What practice skills were you least prepared for? -- and more
Call Number: Main collection: KF300 .E423 2011
Publication Date: 2011-10-01
Solo Contendere by "Lawyers don't need jobs. All we really need is work - we need clients to pay us for what we do." Writing for disillusioned new attorneys in a shrinking marketplace, law professor and trial attorney Marc Garfinkle shows how a newly admitted attorney can go into practice without any experience. Preaching a gospel of defensive practice, he offers warnings, tips, tricks of the trade, and some of those things that "all lawyers know." "Know your stuff and know your depth," he says. "Don't take cases that two or more lawyers have worked on before you." He warns about problematic clients, and shows how to withdraw safely from a case. He warns against having the only known copy of a document. He tells how to make a business plan, how to get work from lawyers, how to build a good reputation. The state bar associations of Ohio, Missouri, and Colorado publish their own versions of Solo Contendere for distribution to their members. Informational and inspirational, easy to read and brimming with the author's enthusiasm for his subject, this book is a blueprint for the new lawyer who wants to have clients, but has no legal experience. "Finally A book that tells you it's okay to go right out on your own. Marc Garfinkle shows you how to put your law degree to good use from Day One. Here's to finding work instead of looking for a job Great book " Danny Alvarez, Sr., Stetson J.D., Miami LL.M "This is no law school textbook It's an easy read, simple, straight-forward, and full of insight and clever advice." Zak Eagle, Boston U. School of Law "This book is fantastic And it's hard to put down." Derrick Upchurch, Seton Hall Law School "$olo Contendere should be MUST reading for every law student and newly-admitted attorney. I only wish it had been available when I started practicing." Cynthia Sharp, Esq., J.D., LL.M. "The Sharper Lawyer" "Intelligent, witty and engaging...essential reading for anyone wanting to open a law practice in the new millenium." Laura Glick, Esq.
Call Number: Main collection: KF300 .G37 2010
Publication Date: 2010-02-01
Solo Lawyer by Design by Author Gary P. Bauer been committed to helping students and graduates succeed in the business of law. Solo Lawyer by Design: A Design for Financial Success in Any Practice is the culmination of his efforts and a ready reference to tap into his extensive experience. It will become a resource that enables the reader to better understand the opportunities and obstacles that may be encountered as a lawyer explores becoming established as a solo practitioner. This book is not designed to sell the idea of solo practice. In fact, it may offer valuable information that makes one decide that solo practice is not the right choice. Throughout the book, the author incorporates true stories to help demonstrate certain concepts.
Call Number: Main collection: KF300.5 .B38 2017
Publication Date: 2018-03-07
Solo Out of Law School by There are plenty of books out there about the practical aspects of opening a law practice. This book is different. Solo out of Law School is a book for both law students thinking about a solo career and attorneys looking to open their own firms. It's about mindset, motivation, and viewing your solo career with perspective that allows you to see yourself and your work as something you can be proud of. It's not a "how to" guide to starting a law practice. It doesn't say anything about the tools you'll need or whether to open a brick and mortar office. Rather, it's a "how can" guide to developing the mental toughness and right mindset to succeed as a solo attorney. It's a collection of little lessons and simple reminders for when your choice to go solo in the first place come into doubt. Solo out of Law School is about finding the strength and motivation to keep pushing. By embracing the words on its pages, my hope is that you'll realize, no matter how much you doubt yourself or second--guess your actions, you are good enough to be successful as your own boss.
Call Number: Main collection: KF300.5 .B74 2016
Publication Date: 2016-05-27
Starting a Law Practice and Professionalism for New Lawyers by From the bakery to the court house -- Why should I listen to this guy? : does he know what he's talking about? -- A few words on succeeding in the legal profession -- The legal profession is changing -- Should you start your own practice? -- So you've decided to start your own practice : now what? -- How to make money -- Professionalism -- Dealing with clients and attorneys -- Managing your practice -- What no one told you in law school (but should have) -- Quality of life issues.
Call Number: Main collection: KF300 .B46 2013
Publication Date: 2013-07-25
UST School of Law Office of Career & Professional Development
Contact the Law Librarians