Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Library Resources
Search Library Resources
LibrarySearch is the library catalog of six private colleges and universities in the Twin Cities, including Saint Thomas. Books from other campuses can be requested online and delivered to the St. Thomas library of your choice..
Searching by the following subject keywords or subject headings will help you find relevant resources:
- Law - Vocational Guidance - United States
- Lawyers - Employment - United States
- Practice of Law - Vocational guidance - United States
- Cause lawyers - United States
- International law - Vocational guidance
- Government attorneys - United States
If you would like to browse the library collection of legal career resources, they are located on third floor by call numbers KF297-KF299.
Alternative Career Resources
50 Unique Legal Paths by Following on the success of Fifty Legal Careers for Non-Lawyers, Ursula Furi-Perry authors this new book designed for lawyers looking to take a career path less traveled. Filled with resources and practical tips on how to break into these fields, this book is an invaluable resource for the law student just starting out, or the legal professional looking for a change in scenery.
Call Number: Main collection: KF297 .F87 2008
Publication Date: 2009-02-16
Beyond the Big Firm by This succinct paperback will fill a major information void for students and recent graduates who are interested in a legal career outside the typical large, corporate law firm. Beyond the Big Firm offers more than 30 compelling profiles of lawyers who have chosen to follow nontraditional legal careers, in a wide range of subject areas, practice settings, and types of work. This distinctive book explores the many possibilities open to law school graduates interested in "alternative" career choices. the editors of this engaging compilation are long-time public interest lawyers; the actual authors of the profiles are primarily students who capture the personalities of the subjects in a way that is sure to resonate with the audience because they share the same questions about career choices the subjects of the profiles have been out of law school 10-15 years, they represent 18 law schools, and they work in 15 states the lawyers profiled have jobs in governments, nonprofits, and small private firms; both civil and criminal law practice are covered, including prosecutors and defense counsel some of the fields that the lawyers work in include civil rights, civil liberties, immigration, personal injury, and human rights In addition to the fascinating profiles, special features include: a special resources chapter to help students determine and follow their career choice a final chapter with mini-profiles of 3 lawyers who are not practicing law, but for whom their legal training is vital to their work short essays by current and former Stanford Law School deans Larry Kramer and Kathleen Sullivan
Call Number: Main collection: KF299.P8 M67 2007
Publication Date: 2007-04-10
Career Opportunities in Law and the Legal Industry by Law and the legal industry consist of much more than just lawyers and judges. In fact, it encompasses a wide range of fields such as legal services, court systems, law enforcement, corrections, criminal justice, social services, mediation, legal education, research, and more. ""Career Opportunities in Law and the Legal Industry, Second Edition"" provides comprehensive and up-to-date coverage of careers in this expansive field. Featuring more than 100 updated job articles - including 20 new to this edition - and updated and revised appendixes, this new edition explores all the legal industry has to offer. Career profiles include: Criminal investigator, Family court mediator, Health lawyer, Indian law attorney, Knowledge manager, Legal management consultant, Legal support professional, Property manager, Staff attorney (court), and, Title examiner.
Call Number: Main collection: KF297 .E245 2007
Publication Date: 2007-03-01
How to Be a Law Professor Guide by Does everyone want to teach in law school? -- Finding that first job -- Getting to tenure -- Life after tenure -- Lifetime research and writing -- Lifetime teaching -- Lifetime service -- Visiting -- Looking at retirement.
Call Number: Main collection: KF297 .E33 2008
Publication Date: 2008-08-01
The New What Can You Do with a Law Degree by What's your career identity? -- Why this book was written (and for whom) -- The nature of transition -- The case for self-assessment -- Introducing the lawyer career satisfaction model (sm) -- Does your job fit your values? -- Does your job fit your psychological needs? -- Does your job fit your communication style? -- Does your job fit your motivated skills? -- Does your job fit your career interests? -- Identifying your ideal job -- The case for solo practice -- Finding work inside, outside & around the law -- Putting your best foot forward -- The personal obstacles to career satisfaction -- Should I leave the law? -- The disengagement process -- What comes next? -- Appendices: 800+ ways to use your law degree ; Legal & law-related certificate & credential-building programs ; Getting the most from career & outplacement counseling ; Homework assignments ; The values card sort exercise.
Call Number: Main collection: KF297 .A875 2012
Publication Date: 2012-09-01
Nonlegal Careers for Lawyers by Great opportunities exist for law students and practicing lawyers outside the traditional practice of law. This important resource shows you when and how to choose a nonlegal career; the specialized skills legal training provides; how to plan and conduct a job search; and provides details on careers in business and industry, government and public service, associations and institutions, and entrepreneurial ventures. A resource section provides surveys and listings of nonlegal careers in several categories, and a listing of publishers and suggested readings on nonlegal careers.
Call Number: Main collection: KF297 .M862 2006
Publication Date: 2006-07-21
Running from the Law by Prison unrest -- The scene of the crime -- The 10 lawyer types -- Up against the wall -- Making the break -- Assuming a new identity -- No remorse -- Coping within the law -- Rehabilitating the system -- Rehabilitating your career.
Call Number: Main collection: KF297 .A87 2004
Publication Date: 2003-09-01
UST School of Law Office of Career & Professional Development
Contact the Law Librarians