Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Library Resources
Use CLICsearch to find books, e-books, DVDs & videos, etc
CLICsearch is the library catalog of six private colleges and universities in the Twin Cities, including Saint Thomas. Books from other campuses can be requested online and delivered to the St. Thomas library of your choice..
Searching by the following subject keywords or subject headings will help you find relevant resources:
- Law - Vocational Guidance - United States
- Lawyers - Employment - United States
- Practice of Law - Vocational guidance - United States
- Lawyers -- Specialties and specialists -- United
- Cause lawyers - United States
- International law - Vocational guidance
- Government attorneys - United States
If you would like to browse the library collection of legal career resources, they are located on third floor by call numbers KF297-KF299.
Area of Practice Resources
Becoming a Rural Lawyer by Planning to relocate. Rural practice : an affair of the heart -- Making it as a rural lawyer -- Where's my Starbucks? -- Not enough legal work (and 7 other myths) -- Advice to law students & new grads -- In their own words -- Making the move. Finding a place to practice -- Life in a small town -- Meet a few small town lawyers -- My own rural haven -- In their own words -- A day in the life. The rural client -- Fees & consulations -- What kinds of cases -- Get paid up front (and 10 other lessons) -- The rural jurist & small town courts -- Marketing & growing your rural practice -- In their own words -- Your new law practice. Should you buy a practice? -- Hanging your shinge -- High-tech in a rural setting -- In their own words -- In conclusion -- Appendix: Q & A with Bruce Cameron ; Outtakes from RuralLawyer.com ; A new practice checklist.
Call Number: Main collection: KF300 .C29 2013
Publication Date: 2013-03-22
Building a Career in Compliance and Ethics by What Is This Field? -- Why Should I Go Into This Field? ; Appendix 2A: Should I Go Into Compliance and Ethics? Some Questions to Ask Yourself -- How Do I Get Into This Field? ; Appendix 3A: Resume Builders : Things You Can Do to Advance in the Compliance and Ethics Field -- What Are the Jobs in Compliance/Ethics? ; Appendix 4A: What's in a Name? Titles and Positions in the Compliance and Ethics Field -- The Top Job In-House : Compliance Officer -- Compliance Careers for Lawyers -- Compliance Work in Privacy and Data Protection -- The Voices of Experience : Advice from Those in the Field. Odell Guyton, Microsoft's Director of Compliance ; Rodney Smith, In-House Environmental, Health, Safety and Ethics Analyst ; Joseph "Joe" Murphy, Former In-House Compliance Lawyer, outside advisor ; Linda Lipps, In-House Compliance Officer ; Richard Gruner, Law Professor and author in compliance -- What Training and Certifications Are Available for Compliance Professional
Call Number: Main collection: HF5387 .M876 2007
Publication Date: 2007-02-01
Careers in Administrative Law & Regulatory Practice by This book is an essential resource for law students and lawyers interested in a career in administrative law. In the first half of the book, a national expert describes the field, and outlines your optimal entry strategies. The second half offers individual, personalized examples of the various career paths in administrative law, and details the demands and rewards of each.
Call Number: Main collection: KF299.A32 C37 2010
Careers in Animal Law by One of the fastest growing legal disciplines, animal law is concerned with protecting and improving the lives of animals through city ordinances, state and federal laws, international treaties, and cases that impact animals. Over 100 law schools in the U.S. now offer animal law courses, and more lawyers than ever before are looking to start animal law firms or incorporate animal cases into their practices. The first book of its kind, Careers in Animal Law. Welfare, Protection, and Advocacy will help you: Gain an overview of the field from a practicing animal lawyer and professor of animal law Forge a successful animal law career with firms of all types and sizes, government agencies, major corporations, or nonprofit organizations Strike out on your own as a solo practitioner of animal law Learn career tips from a series of animal-lawyer profiles Understand evolving trends in legislation, litigation, and academia that will change the face of animal law in the decades to come Law students interested in animal law, seasoned attorneys seeking a new direction, or any lawyer interested in building a satisfying career will benefit from reading Careers in Animal Law: Welfare, Protection, and Advocacy. Book jacket.
Call Number: Main collection: KF299.A55 E37 2011
Publication Date: 2013-02-26
Careers in Criminal Law by pt.1. Defense. pt.2. Prosecution. pt.3. Judging. pt.4. Re-entry, prisoner advocacy. pt. 5. Specialties : outside the box.
Call Number: Main collection: KF299.C7 C37 2010
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Careers in Health Law by Health law is constantly changing. As the industry changes, so do the issues impacting the practice. There is no health lawyer today doing the same thing that they were doing one year ago, or even six months ago. The field is exceptionally dynamic, with clients constantly bringing new issues requiring legal advice to the fore. This environment of constant change can work to the advantage of attorneys, because it is possible to develop expertise on a certain area of health law fairly quickly since it is new to everyone. Careers in Health Law can help lawyers to reenergize, rethink, and reposition their career goals and strategy in this dynamic industry. Chapters include: Understanding the major forces impacting health care Areas of employment for health lawyers (antitrust, corporate, criminal, insurance, etc.) Places to work as a health lawyer (large firms, government, in-house, etc.) Non-legal jobs in health law (compliance, consulting, etc.) Essential steps for job seekers"
Call Number: Main collection: KF299.M43 S58 2014
Publication Date: 2015-09-07
Careers in International Law by This guide has become a best-selling classic for law students and attorneys interested in starting an international legal practice - as a private practitioner, as in-house counsel, in the public sector, or working at an NGO. This Fifth Edition presents a broad lineup of diverse contributors, who share their experiences of how they transitioned into international legal practice. Fifteen authors detail their goals, their paths, and how their professional lives have evolved.
Call Number: Main Collection: KF299.T73 C37 2019
Publication Date: 2020-04-07
Careers in IP Law: Avenues and Opportunities by Getting your feet wet : an introduction to intellectual property law and practice -- Get ready, get set : preparing to practice intellectual property law during law school or preparing to make a change as an established lawyer -- Promoting the progress of science : patent law as a specialty -- And the useful arts : copyright law as a specialty -- What's in a name? : trademark law as a specialty -- IP goes incognito : trade secret law as a specialty -- Now what? : common intellectual property practice areas -- The sky's the limit : employment opportunities for intellectual property lawyers -- Lessons from the trenches : advice from practitioners -- Diving in : how to get involved in the ABA Section of Intellectual
Call Number: Main collection: KF3165.Z9 C375 2013
Careers in Sports Law by Sports are an essential part of modern American society. The lawyer has the opportunity to help athletes, coaches, leagues and teams resolve disputes in the world of sport. This book conducts a thorough, thoughtful investigation of what options may exist and what kinds of steps are needed to maximize one s chances of netting a coveted sports law job."
Call Number: Main collection: KF299.S66 E34 2014
Publication Date: 2015-09-07
Careers in Tax Law by The American Bar Association Section of Taxation is pleased to announce the release of Careers in Tax Law: Perspectives on the Tax Profession and What It Holds for You. Designed for those considering or beginning a career in tax law, this informative guide presents a series of offerings autobiographies in miniature by a broad cross section of working tax professionals. Each contribution stands as a unique story of paths taken, choices made, and lessons learned. Each adds to a composite portrait of the profession and its possibilities for the next generation of tax lawyers. In essays divided thematically, over 75 tax professionals share their unique perspectives, knowledge, and experiences. Nowhere else will you find such an honest and entertaining portrayal of the tax profession and what it holds for you."
Call Number: Main collection: KF299.T3 C37 2009
Publication Date: 2009-04-07
Entertainment Careers for Lawyers by Entertainment law is a popular area of study for law students and a desired career path for practitioners. Yet the glamor of working with actors, production companies, musicians, writers, and others to create works of art comes with long hours, hard work, and fierce competition for jobs. Entertainment Careers for Lawyers, Third Edition, will dispel many of the myths surrounding the practice and help lawyers and law students gain an understanding of the realities of entertainment law.
Call Number: Main collection: KF299.E57 H46 2014
Publication Date: 2015-01-07
Exploring and Understanding Careers in Criminal Justice by This book explores the criminal justice career landscape by providing a glimpse into the different criminal justice careers and provides advice as to how to prepare to enter those career fields. This book includes personal profiles that exemplify real work in the criminal justice profession; these have been written by current employees, some retired and some by exemplary leaders in the field.
Call Number: Main collection: HV9950 .S545 2016
Publication Date: 2016-01-21
A Guide to International Law Careers by The experience of many university students studying public international law is, "This is fascinating, but what can I do with it?" While this book in no way detracts from the more intangible reasons to study international law, it is practically focused and explores the options available to law graduates beyond traditional or domestic law career paths. The range of possible careers is vast - from human rights to investment law and from the courtroom or boardroom to the refugee camp - and the book offers a step-by-step approach to considering whether and how to pursue a career in one of these areas. The essential message is that international law jobs are out there and attainable if approached strategically and with perseverance. In this second edition, the text - written as a series of questions and answers - is supplemented by a broader range of practitioners' views and experiences, as well as updated appendices containing concrete information on the most useful internships, short courses, and Master's programs. *** "A Guide to International Law Careers is a book that students will devour. The book is an easy read with clearly written, targeted advice for students who want to "do something" with the international law they've learned in the classroom." -- Prof. Mark Wojcik, International Law Prof Blog *** Librarians: ebook available on ProQuest and EBSCO [Subject: Legal Profession, International Law]
Call Number: Main collection: KZ1237 .S627 2015
Publication Date: 2015-02-16
Landing a Federal Legal Job by Finding Success in the US Government Job Market.
Call Number: Main collection: KF299.G6 H473 2011 and e-book
Publication Date: 2012-04-16
Nonlegal Careers for Lawyers by Great opportunities exist for law students and practicing lawyers outside the traditional practice of law. This important resource shows you when and how to choose a nonlegal career; the specialized skills legal training provides; how to plan and conduct a job search; and provides details on careers in business and industry, government and public service, associations and institutions, and entrepreneurial ventures. A resource section provides surveys and listings of nonlegal careers in several categories, and a listing of publishers and suggested readings on nonlegal careers.
Call Number: Main collection: KF297 .M862 2006
Publication Date: 2006-07-21
Something to Believe In by Lawyers in the United States are frequently described as "hired guns," willing to fight for any client and advance any interest. Claiming that their own beliefs are irrelevant to their work, they view lawyering as a technical activity, not a moral or political one. But there are others, those the authors call cause lawyers, who refuse to put aside their own convictions while they do their legal work. This "deviant" strain of lawyering is as significant as it is controversial, both in the legal profession and in the world of politics. It challenges mainstream ideas of what lawyers should do and of how they should behave. Human rights lawyers, feminist lawyers, right-to-life lawyers, civil rights and civil liberties lawyers, anti-death penalty lawyers, environmental lawyers, property rights lawyers, anti-poverty lawyers--cause lawyers go by many names, serving many causes. Something to Believe In explores the work that cause lawyers do, the role of moral and political commitment in their practice, their relationships to the organized legal profession, and the contributions they make to democratic politics.
Call Number: Main collection: KF299.P8 S334 2004
Publication Date: 2004-09-13
UST School of Law Office of Career & Professional Development
Contact the Law Librarians