Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Library Resources
LibrarySearch is the library catalog of six private colleges and universities in the Twin Cities, including St. Thomas. Books from other campuses can be requested online and delivered to the UST library of your choice.
Searching by the following subject keywords or subject headings will help you find relevant resources:
- Law offices - United States - Automation
- Practice of law - United States - Automation
- Legal research - Computer network resources
- iPad (Computer)
- Practice of law - United States - Data processing
- Lawyers - United States - Handbooks, manuals, etc.
- Lawyers - United States - Marketing
- Technology and law - United States - Directories
Technology Tools for Lawyers
Technology is becoming fully integrated in the practice of law. Our legal work is now more dependent on the use of technology, in and out of the office. It helps us to practice more efficiently, serve clients more effectively, and better manage our daily lives
Attorney At Work: The Essential Cloud: Top Tools for Lawyers
American Bar Association: Legal Technology Resource Center
Automating Legal Services by "The world's fourth industrial revolution-automation through the growth of robotics, artificial intelligence, blockchain, and virtual ecommerce-will disrupt the legal industry. By being open to this change, lawyers can eliminate repetitive, inefficient processes so they can increase the speed, quality, and scale of their legal services. In addition to bolstering the business of law for both big and small firms, this automation will increase access to justice for those who need it most. This book sets out different models and details what firms, lawyers and society, can gain from automated legal services"--
Call Number: Main collection: K487.T4 L64 2019
Publication Date: 2019-12-01
Google for Lawyers by This step-by-step guide explores Google's most popular features plus its newest and least-known features, productivity tools, and services.
Call Number: Main collection: K87 .L48 2010
Publication Date: 2011-06-16
How to Capture and Keep Clients by In this new second edition, How To Capture and Keep Clients: Marketing Strategies for Lawyers, the best and most innovative solo and small firm lawyers give the reader their secrets, approaches, and strategies to that age-old puzzle of growing your law firm. Through this wealth of savvy advice, the reader will learn how to: - Ask for business- Attract and keep clients- Network- Partner with other lawyers- Build a virtual law firm- Market a specialty or boutique practice- Market to ethnic communities- Market in a small town- Use technology in client development- Create a service-centered firm- Brand your law firm just like the big firms do- Make marketing part of your daily practice- Avoid ethical marketing mistakes The book is packed with strategies on how to overcome obstacles and position the lawyer for lifelong success.
Call Number: Main collection: KF316.5 .H69 2015
Publication Date: 2016-04-07
Ipad Apps in One Hour for Lawyers by Finding the best apps often can be an overwhelming, confusing, and frustrating process. iPad Apps in One Hour for Lawyers provides the "best of the best" apps that are essential for any law practice. In just one hour, you will learn about the apps most worthy of your time and attention. This book will describe how to buy, install, and update iPad apps
Call Number: 3-Hour Reserves: KF320.A9 M478 2012
Publication Date: 2013-02-26
iPad in One Hour for Lawyers by Whether you are a new or a more advanced iPad user, iPad in One Hour for Lawyers takes a great deal of the mystery and confusion out of using your iPad. Ideal for lawyers who want to get up to speed swiftly, this book presents the essentials so you don't get bogged down in technical jargon and extraneous features and apps.
Call Number: Main collection: KF320.A9 M48 2011
Publication Date: 2012-04-16
Lawyer's Guide to Collaboration Tools and Technologies by Collaboration at the crossroads -- Collaboration inside the office -- Collaboration outside the office -- First steps -- The evolving role of social media -- Benefits of improving document collaboration and using document collaboration tools -- Basic collaboration on documents -- Creating a document online : getting started with the major players -- Working simultaneously on a document -- Hidden dangers, security and metadata -- Benefits of collaboration in lawsuits and transactions -- Simple collaboration tools for productivity -- Instant collaboration : from conference calls to instant messaging -- How to hold a meeting on the internet -- Simple project management : basecamp -- Setting up a simple client portal -- Email as a platform -- SharePoint -- Collaborating inside and outside the office : client portals and intranets -- Adobe Acrobat -- Slack -- Other web collaboration tools -- and more
Call Number: Main collection: KF320.A9 K46 2018
Publication Date: 2018-03-01
The Lawyer's Guide to Working Smarter with Knowledge Tools by This ground-breaking guide introduces lawyers and other professionals to a powerful class of software that supports core aspects of legal work. The author discusses how technologies like practice systems, work product retrieval, document assembly, and interactive checklists help people work smarter. If you are looking to work more effectively, this book provides a clear roadmap, with many concrete examples and thought-provoking ideas.
Call Number: Main collection: KF320.A9 L38 2010
Publication Date: 2011-03-16
Locked Down by In an age where lawyers frequently conduct business across wireless networks using smartphones and laptops, how can attorneys safeguard client data and confidential information? This second edition of Locked Down explains the wide variety of information security risks facing law firms and how lawyers can best protect their data from these threats--with any budget. Written in clear, non-technical language that any lawyer can understand, this book will help you: create secure passwords and store them safely; assess the existing security risks at your firm - server rooms, cleaning crews, guests, alarm systems, and more; work securely from a laptop or smartphone; protect your mobile devices from theft; authenticate users and encrypt your data; maintain e-mail integrity; secure your wired or wireless network; effectively wipe data from a hard drive before disposal; develop an information security checklist for your firm; investigate, contain, and recover from a security breach.
Call Number: Main collection: KF320.A9 N45 2016
Publication Date: 2016-08-07
Technology Tips for Lawyers and Business Professionals by The importance of technology in our professional and personal lives continues to grow at an ever-increasing rate. Courts have moved toward recognizing a duty for attorneys to acquire a level of basic competence in dealing with technology. The ABA Model Rules have recognized that duty in some areas for several years. Attorneys have learned and are learning that technology can help them practice more efficiently and effectively. Authors Jeffrey Allen and Ashley Hallene have done programs presenting tips on technology and practice for many years in locations all over the country. They have also written about technology for lawyers for many years. They bring these years of experience to Technology Tips for Lawyers and Other Business Professionals, which provides short, concise tips to save you time and point you in the right direction for your technological needs.
Call Number: Main collection: KF320.A9 A429 2016
Publication Date: 2017-02-01
Virtual Law Practice by The legal market has recently experienced a dramatic shift as lawyers seek out alternative methods of practicing law and providing more affordable legal services. Virtual law practice is revolutionizing the way the public receives legal services and how legal professionals work with clients. Stephanie Kimbro's practical guide teaches lawyers how to set up and run a virtual law firm. It provides case studies of individual virtual law practices along with client scenarios to show how web-based technology may be used by legal professionals to work with online clients and avoid malpractice risks.
Call Number: Main collection: KF320.A9 K56 2010
Publication Date: 2011-05-16
Contact the Law Librarians
Legal Technology News and Blogs