Research and Course Guides: MKTG 710: Consumer Behavior: Trends/Statistics

Business Statistics

Economic Census
The Economic Census profiles the U.S. economy every 5 years.
County Business Patterns
Economic and business activity at the local, county, metro area, or state level; organized by NAICS codes. Also includes ZIP code data.

S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
An excellent source for company and industry research, including financial and ratio analysis. Contains the former Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys and Stock Reports (now produced by CFRA Equity Research). Also includes mutual fund/ETF and bond information, investment research reports, stock screening and charting tools.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
This resource is the first place to go when trying to locate statistical information.
It provides tables with statistics in many different areas, and includes links to
original source data to help locate related data. Earlier editions are also available.
Covers 1970-present.

Current Industrial Reports
Monthly, quarterly, and annual measures of industrial activity in manufacturing areas. Includes textiles and apparel, chemicals, primary metals, computer and electronic components, industrial equipment, aerospace equipment, and consumer goods.
Quarterly Financial Report
Financial report for manufacturing, mining, and trade (both retail and wholesale.)
Quarterly Services Survey
Includes quarterly revenue and percent change by class of customer for NAICS service classifications.
Transtats Transportation Statistics
Portal for transportation statistics.
Statistical Abstracts of the United States (Archives)
This Census Bureau site contains the archived back issues of the Statistical Abstracts of the United States.

Trends & Forecasts

Newspaper and journal articles can also also be used to identify current industry trends. In addition to the following sources, the Find Articles tab on this guide can help you locate trend and forecast information.

IBISWorld Industry Market Research This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld Industry Market Research Reports provide in-depth industry analysis for 700+ U.S. industries and hundreds of international industries. Searchable by keyword, company name, and NAICS codes. Reports average 25-30 pages and contain key statistics, market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, industry performance, key competitors, key factors, and industry outlook. UST’s subscription also includes industry-level coverage of U.S. states, Canada, China, and Global reports. Available only to current UST students, faculty, and staff.
S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
An excellent source for company and industry research, including financial and ratio analysis. Contains the former Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys and Stock Reports (now produced by CFRA Equity Research). Also includes mutual fund/ETF and bond information, investment research reports, stock screening and charting tools.
Passport This link opens in a new window
Euromonitor’s Passport is a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, and surveys on industries, countries, and consumers worldwide. Available only to current UST students, faculty, and staff.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier provides the full text of more than 2 thousand business publications, including more than 1,000 peer reviewed journals. It is a comprehensive database that covers all disciplines of business including management, finance, marketing and international trade. It also contains company, industry and country reports, SWOTs and market research reports.

Pew Internet & American Life Project
Provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world - reports exploring the impact of the internet on families, communities, work and home, daily life, education, health care, and civic and political life.
Pew Hispanic Center
The Pew Hispanic Center is a project of the Pew Research Center, a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It is supported by the Pew Charitable Trusts. Very current issues on the front page.

Related Guide

*Datasets & Statistics Guide
by Jim Kelly Last Updated Mar 12, 2024 1004 views this year

Market Share

These are resources that most commonly include market share information. In some of these resources, you may find market share information in easy to read tables, and in others you may find market share information within news reports and articles. Try searching the company or product name with the term "market share" or "brand share" or "market size", etc. Example: Nike "market share."

Statista This link opens in a new window
In the search box, type the brand or product and 'market share', e.g. chocolate market share. Download PowerPoint slides, Excel files, images, infographics & more.
IBISWorld Industry Market Research This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld Industry Market Research Reports provide in-depth industry analysis for 700+ U.S. industries and hundreds of international industries. Searchable by keyword, company name, and NAICS code. Market share information is included for major players in an industry. Restricted to current UST students, faculty, and staff.
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Mintel provides market research reports covering U.S. and global consumer markets. Sectors covered include consumer goods, travel and tourism, retail, and financial services. The reports analyze market drivers, market sizes and trends, market segmentation, along with consumer attitudes and purchasing habits. Register a personal profile using your UST email to download executive summaries of reports. Available only to current UST students, faculty, and staff.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
To get articles with market share information, enter (DE "MARKET share") in the search box and the name of your company or product.
Passport This link opens in a new window
Market share information may be located in company profiles, company share and brand share reports. Restricted to current UST students, faculty, and staff.