Research and Course Guides: MKTG 710: Consumer Behavior: Industry Overviews

Industrial Classification

Industry data sources cover groups of organizations involved in similar business activities - airlines, soft drinks, sporting goods, etc. Many resources organize information using industrial classification codes - NAICS & SIC. Here is a separate Industry Classification guide which explains the codes and how to identify them.

IBISWorld Tip for Nonprofits

If you are doing marketing research for educational or nonprofit organizations (schools, daycares, churches, etc.), you can still use IBISWorld and its NAICS codes for background on the industry. For example:

Charter schools (OD4993)
Day care (62441)
Early childhood learning centers (OD5718)
Nursery schools (OD6035)
Private schools (61111b)
Public schools (61111a)
Religious organizations, including churches (81311)

Industry Overviews

IBISWorld Industry Market Research This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld Industry Market Research Reports provide in-depth industry analysis for 700+ U.S. industries and hundreds of international industries. Searchable by keyword, company name, and NAICS codes. Reports average 25-30 pages and contain key statistics, market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, industry performance, key competitors, key factors, and industry outlook. UST’s subscription also includes industry-level coverage of U.S. states, Canada, China, and Global reports. Available only to current UST students, faculty, and staff.
S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
An excellent source for company and industry research, including financial and ratio analysis. Contains the former Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys and Stock Reports (now produced by CFRA Equity Research). Also includes mutual fund/ETF and bond information, investment research reports, stock screening and charting tools.
Passport This link opens in a new window
Euromonitor’s Passport is a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, and surveys on industries, countries, and consumers worldwide. Available only to current UST students, faculty, and staff.
D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
D&B Hoovers provides company information from about 18 million global companies, detailed industry reports, analyst reports, SEC filings, and market research. Limited to 50 simultaneous users. Tip: try clearing your browser cache, cookies, and history if you encounter errors.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier provides the full text of more than 2 thousand business publications, including more than 1,000 peer reviewed journals. It is a comprehensive database that covers all disciplines of business including management, finance, marketing and international trade. It also contains company, industry and country reports, SWOTs and market research reports.
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ABI/Inform Trade & Industry contains business and in depth company and industry articles from over 2,000 scholarly, trade and news publications. It also includes reports from major and smaller, niche industries that contain information for entrepreneurs and financial data perfect for marketing and business plans. Users can set up alerts, establish RSS feeds, and share articles. Users who establish a free account can save and organize research and tag articles which can be shared with other users.

Manufacturing & Distribution USA
Guide to economic activity in over 450 manufacturing industries.
Yahoo Finance Industry Center
Industry profiles and financial data for over 100 industries.
Manufacturing and Services Industry Summaries
Coverage of key industrial and service sectors.
International Directory Of Company Histories
In-depth (3-4 page) articles on the history and development of over 4500 of the world's largest and most influential companies. Cumulative chronological treatment, with periodic updates of individual company profiles. Part of Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Today's Business News (CNN)

Passport Help

Passport
by Marianne Hageman Last Updated Aug 14, 2023 54 views this year

Business Librarians

Marianne Hageman
mdhageman@stthomas.edu
651-962-5404

Jim Kelly
kell5174@stthomas.edu
651-962-5012

Andrea Koeppe
andrea.koeppe@stthomas.edu
651-962-4647