Research and Course Guides: Investment Research Resources (FINC 325, 440, 713): News &amp; Articles

Common Business Newspaper & Journal links

Business Journals (including Minneapolis/St. Paul Business Journal) This link opens in a new window
Bizjournals contains full text articles from the Minneapolis/St. Paul Business Journal which provides in depth news about Minnesota companies, plus business journals from other cities. It also contains the annual Book of Lists. Sometimes full-text requires a username and password.

Bloomberg Business Week
1996-present in the Ebsco Business Source Premier database.
more...less...
Use the link provided to search within the publication or browse by date on the right side of the page. Both the O’Shaughnessy-Frey and Keffer Libraries also have the weekly print editions.
Economist
1997 to present; links to a university-wide website subscription.
more...less...
This should give you access to the content without paywalls (ignore the popup prompts to subscribe or login). Both the O’Shaughnessy-Frey and Keffer Libraries also have the weekly print editions.
Harvard Business Review
1922-present in the Megafile database.
more...less...
Use the link provided to search within the publication or browse by date on the right side of the page. Both the O’Shaughnessy-Frey and Keffer Libraries also have the monthly print editions.
Harvard Business Review Digital Articles
2007-present, text of HBR web-only articles available in the Megafile database.
more...less...
Use the link provided to search within the web articles provided or browse by date on the right side of the page.
Wall Street Journal
1984-present; Eastern Edition is the edition of record, via the Proquest US Newsstream database.
more...less...
Use the box to search within the title or scroll down to browse editions by date. The browse function organizes the content in page number order. Both the O’Shaughnessy-Frey and Keffer Libraries also have the daily print editions.
Wall Street Journal (Factiva version)
1979-present, a version of the newspaper in the Factiva database.

Search for individual journals

You can find hundreds of full-text business, financial, and news sources, including titles like these:

The Wall Street Journal
Barron's Weekly
The Financial Times
Money
Kiplingers
Smart money

Company and Financial News Resources

Access these resources directly for up-to-date news on business, finance, and related topics.

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ABI/Inform Trade & Industry contains in depth company and industry articles from trade publications, plus some scholarly and news publications.
Business Journals (including Minneapolis/St. Paul Business Journal) This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles from the Minneapolis/St. Paul Business Journal which provides in-depth news about Minnesota companies, the local business environment, and the Annual Book of Lists. It also contains additional business journals from other cities that covers regional news from across the United States. Users must sign up for a free account using their UST email with a separate password. Available only to current UST students, faculty, and staff. Works best with Chrome.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Factiva is the most frequently updated news resource of the UST Libraries, and includes content from the Financial Times, Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Barron's, and many other papers of record. Note that you'll be logged out after as few as five minutes of inactivity.
If you use Factiva's Share>Within My Account feature to find links for emailing or to use in Canvas, that URL needs to be adjusted with a special code to connect it with our subscription. Copy that URL and paste it into our ProxyMe! widget to create the adjusted URL.
ProQuest US Newsstream, including Star Tribune This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use ProQuest Global Newsstream for easiest access to top publications such as the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times. Timeliness of content may lag behind Factiva.

Find articles, books, & more with LibrarySearch

Search Tips:

to focus your search, use the limits on the left side of the result page
try the Peer Review limit to focus your results on scholarly articles
learn more about LibrarySearch

Where to find Scholarly Articles

Selected databases for scholarly articles in accounting and finance.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier provides the full text of more than 2 thousand business publications, including more than 1,000 peer reviewed journals. It is a comprehensive database that covers all disciplines of business including management, finance, marketing and international trade. It also contains company, industry and country reports, SWOTs and market research reports.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Emerald contains peer-reviewed articles from 175 management journals, and it is especially strong in management topics such as human resource management, operations management, and library and information management.Emerald also contains articles that focus on marketing,finance, information technology, and international company and industry information.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect offers access to the publications of Elsevier Science and its subsidiaries - nearly 2,500 journals and 30,000 books. The collection contains selected full text of journal articles (since 1995) and book chapters. The collection focuses on science, technology and medicine, it also contains many journal titles from other social science disciplines.