Don't fret dear students, just because you are not physically in the UST Law Library this summer, that doesn't mean we aren't still here for you. On top of your continued access to the Law Library resources, you always have access to your friendly Law Librarians themselves.
During the summer, we are still available Monday - Friday, 8am - 5pm, for the following:
How can you find us? Great question, there are lots of ways to contact us:
Yes, you know the Law Library best for giving you access to Westlaw, Lexis+, and Bloomberg Law (you're welcome), but little did you know we were really keeping all the good stuff to ourselves. Just kidding, that would make us horrible at our jobs. Here are some other specialized legal databases you have access to that will help you in your summer positions:
That's right, we're not the only game in town! Not only is the community of Law Librarians strong, but each Law Library has resources and experience that another might not. Whether you're looking for research help, practical guidance like CLE materials and forms, or for access to Westlaw during the summer, these public Law Libraries are here for you.
Hennepin County Law LibraryHennepin County Government Center
|
Minnesota State Law LibraryMinnesota Judicial Branch
|
|
|
Lexis provides two different certifications to law students. With the aim of ensuring you have the research skills that employers expect, it also is a great add to your resume and shows your dedication to legal research. Each certification contains guided videos and quizzes. Once successfully completed, you will be added to the Lexis+ Certification Registry.
Part 1: Proficiency Certification on Lexis+
Part 2: Practice-Ready Certification
Westlaw provides 6 (SIX!) different certifications for law students. Ranging from Foundations of Legal Research to more focused topics like Litigation Research and Transactional Research, your Lawyering Skills class will be reinforced and expanded. Consisting of videos and guided quizzes, upon completion these are worth the time (and look great on your resume).
The Bloomberg Law Certification Program guides you through mastery of legal research and the resources available to you on Bloomberg Law. This page is the gateway to the certification platform. You will first need to register for a certification account with the registration link. With 7 (SEVEN!) certifications to choose from, you can get as detailed as necessary for your summer employment.
A Deskbook is written and edited by experienced practitioners on a particular topic. They offer detailed analysis of case law, statutes, regulations, court rules, and more to help you navigate a particular area of practice. Your law library offers a variety of Deskbooks in print and online. You can use LibrarySearch to search your topic and deskbook, or stop by the library service desk for assistance.
A Form Book provides examples, templates, guidelines, checklists, and other practical assistance in a particular area of law, for example, Wills, trusts, and estates. The library provides access to print and online Form Books on many topics. You can use LibrarySearch to search your topic and formbook, or stop by the library service desk for assistance.
The Law Library has a number of books in print and online to help you navigate the practical day-to-day at a law firm or judicial clerkship. These are just a few you might find helpful. See the Career and Professional Development Library Guide for additional resources.
Introduction to Law Firm Practice by
For both the law student and young lawyer, this guide provides an introduction to the basics of working in a law firm. It discusses how a lawyer can get around within the firm to succeed in law firm practice.
The Marble and the Sculptor by
Let's face it. The entire legal industry is in a state of flux. If you're a new lawyer in today's economy, you're probably asking yourself one of the following questions: How do I transition from law school to law practice? How do I get a job? How can I find like-minded mentors and colleagues? How do I develop a book of business? How do I become a good lawyer? These questions weigh on you and keep you awake at night, along with thoughts like "Was going to law school really the right decision?" or "Should I be doing something else with my life?" If you aren't asking yourself these questions, you are ignoring the world to your detriment. Written from the in-the-trenches perspective of a young lawyer, The Marble and the Sculptor provides a clear no-nonsense path from law school to lawyering. It presents a fundamental understanding of what is expected of new attorneys and a framework for becoming a successful--both as a lawyer and in life. With advice on everything from choosing classes that matter in law school to the importance of writing well, attracting clients, and avoiding five basic mistakes in your first job at a law firm, this book is destined to become the go-to guide for all young lawyers regardless of law school or area of practice. Simply put, if you care at all about practicing law, you can't afford not to read it.
Swimming Lessons for Baby Sharks by
The go-to book for new lawyer success at leading firms and schools, Swimming Lessons for Baby Sharks contains critical advice new graduates need to thrive. Completely revised and updated, the Third Edition includes vital new information on navigating a hybrid work environment. The new edition also includes expanded guidance on networking, client service, business development, time and project management, and many other topics. The goal is simple: to help new lawyers start strong, because experience is the most expensive way to learn. With an easily readable style, Swimming Lessons for Baby Sharks helps new lawyers finesse unwritten rules and stay afloat in a challenging profession. The book contains hundreds of tips with inside information from successful lawyers nationwide. Humorous, real-life examples illustrate the lessons along with checklists to provide comprehensive advice quickly. The book has been called a "game changer" and partners at firms nationwide recommend it for associates.
The All-Inclusive Guide to Judicial Clerking by
The All-Inclusive Guide to Judicial Clerking is a comprehensive resource ideal for current and prospective law clerks and judicial externs as well as law professors who teach judicial drafting courses or direct judicial externship programs. The book explores the purpose and function of a law clerk, the nature and structure of the judiciary, how to apply for and obtain a clerkship, and most importantly, how to perform it well. Among other things, the book explains how to draft judicial opinions, bench memos, orders, and chambers correspondence as well as how to prepare for oral argument, hearings, and trials. It also discusses judicial ethics, professionalism, confidentiality, courtroom decorum, docket management, and other issues that law clerks commonly encounter. The book breaks down complex tasks, such as opinion drafting, into a series of simple, concrete steps and provides checklists, graphical illustrations, annotated judicial opinions, and sample emails, letters, and samples of other documents that law clerks often prepare. The book also shares practical guidance gleaned from law clerks who have served judges across America.
Behind the Bench by
Author Debra M. Strauss, J.D. explains all aspects of clerkships in this newly revised edition. The book provides updated information and resources as your go-to source on judicial clerkships, focusing on what clerkships are, what kind of work clerks do, why you should apply, how to find and apply for the type of clerkship that would be right for you, how to give a strong interview, and why clerkships give you stellar credentials that prospective employers will actively seek out. Behind the Bench: The Guide to Judicial Clerkships, Third Edition is filled with nuts and bolts advice on all elements of the application process, including building a successful application, interviewing, etiquette of offers and acceptances, and special strategies designed to help you in your quest for the perfect clerkship. To further lay the groundwork for a positive experience, this title also features an exclusive section on how to prepare for your clerkship. The third edition adds current developments such as remote interviews and the virtual clerkship experience; recent data on women and minorities in clerkships; new Supreme Court feeder judges along with statistical analysis on the trends; and extra resources for further reading. As an entrée into the world of the courts, this is an indispensable handbook for every law student, lawyer, judge, and potential judicial clerk! A must-have resource for colleges, law schools, courthouses, and legal organizations!
So Ordered by
This textbook offers concise guidance on how to become a successful judicial writer using common judicial documents, including bench memos, trial court orders, jury instructions, appellate opinions, dissents, and concurrences. So Ordered explains how to conceive, express, and revise each of the principal parts of these documents, from the case caption and introduction to the legal analysis and conclusion. Handpicked, annotated examples from the nation's best judicial writers will inspire students to develop successful legal writing strategies and craft well-polished documents. A straightforward, accessible textbook that shows--rather than tells--students how to approach their writing assignments with care, So Ordered instills valuable lessons on lawyering that students can draw on throughout their careers.