50 Unique Legal Paths: How to Find the Right Job by
Following on the success of Fifty Legal Careers for Non-Lawyers, Ursula Furi-Perry authors this new book designed for lawyers looking to take a career path less traveled. Filled with resources and practical tips on how to break into these fields, this book is an invaluable resource for the law student just starting out, or the legal professional looking for a change in scenery.
Advice for the Lawlorn by
Ann M. Israel is the indisputable "Dear Abby" of the legal profession. Advice for the Lawlorn is the first collection of her "Advice for the Lawlorn" columns that have appeared for years in the New York Law Journal and have been syndicated all around the world. It covers a myriad of topics faced by lawyers young and old, including: Why should I become/stay a lawyer? Do law school grades really matter? How soon is too soon to start looking for a new job? At what stage in my career should I hire a recruiter to help me with my job search? Does BigLaw experience really train you to become a better lawyer? Should I immediately start looking for a new position if I don't make partner? Will taking maternity leave two years after making associate sabotage my career? What do I do when I (an associate) feel I am being sexually harassed by a senior partner? In her signature upbeat an breezy style, Ann answers all of these questions and more from the perspective of more than 35 years as a legal headhunter. Advice for the Lawlorn is simply the must-have career guide for all attorneys, "wannabe" attorneys, law students, and undergraduates thinking about becoming law students because it covers from soup to nuts all aspects of looking for a job in the legal industry. The questions are written by real attorneys, associates, and law students, and the answers are composed by a woman who really has been in the thick of the legal trenches, helping people just like you along their way to a rewarding and long-lasting legal career. Book jacket.
The Bridge by
The Bridge is a blueprint for students to help in obtaining the legal internship that is best for them and using that experience to take control of their career. The Bridge is rooted in extensive research and incorporates principles from various disciplines including human resources consulting, recruitment and relationship-building, professional development, leadership training, experiential learning, behavioral, cognitive and organizational psychology, and law practice management. These principles are applied to real situations that arise during internships to provide color, context, foreshadow what to expect, and to resonate with the reader. The Bridge covers every angle, is endorsed by legal professionals of all experience levels and sectors and, perhaps most importantly, addresses the issues that apply to legal interns today. It is relevant, comprehensive and practical. Following the guidance set forth in The Bridge will optimize your students' internship experience.
Developing Your Professional Identity: Creating Your Inner Lawyer by
Who will I be as a lawyer? This is the most important question any law student can ask. Yet, in traditional legal education, this question rarely comes up. The purpose of this book is to change this. Professional identity is a lawyer's personal legal morality, values, decision-making process, and self-consciousness in relation to the practices of the legal profession (legal culture). It provides the framework that a lawyer uses to make all a lawyer's decisions. This book takes a variety of approaches to help you develop your professional identity. Chapter One asks you to take a close look at yourself by asking questions about your childhood, your college years, and who you are today. It is important to know who you are before you can fit into a profession. Chapters Two (Becoming a Self-Regulated Learner), Six (Overcoming Cognitive Biases), and Seven (Attorney Well-Being) give you the tools you will need to develop your professional identity. Chapter Two introduces you to "practical wisdom," an important approach to understanding and solving ethical problems. Chapters 3, 4, and 5 deal with professional identity within certain topics-the attorney-client relationship, the lawyer and society, and attorney advertising and solicitation of clients. Chapter Eight presents the legal profession's and society's views on lawyers and the legal profession. Chapter Nine focuses on your role as a lawyer. It asks you what area of law you want to practice, how you will deal with clients, your place in the legal profession, standards of civility in the legal profession, and working with subordinates. Finally, Chapter Ten contains a variety of extended problems to help you further develop your professional identity.
The Education of a Lawyer : Essential Skills and Uncommon Advice for Building a Successful Career by
This book is a delightful read that provides invaluable advice about the practice of law. Written for aspiring and young attorneys, the book is a font of wisdom on a range of topics: legal writing, speaking, handling clients, staying current on the law, and managing all the relationships typically encountered by lawyers. Derived from the author's decades of experience as a lawyer and teacher, the book is filled with stories and telling anecdotes. Some are hilarious, some are cautionary, but nearly all contain a nugget of practical insight that readers can apply to their own practice. Decidedly original and consistently entertaining, The Education of a Lawyer will make readers laugh, think, and nod in recognition. And most importantly, it will help readers to become better lawyers.
Law Firm Survival Manual : From First Interview to Partnership by
From interviewing for a position as an associate to achieving partnership, the Law Firm Job Survival Manual will help you run the gauntlet of your legal career faster and smarter. Written with humor and sensitivity, this concise handbook demystifies the etiquette and ethics of the law firm environment while equipping you with essential survival skills. Launch your career or jumpstart it with the observations and experience of Nancy B. Rapoport and Jeffrey D. Van Niel
A Law Graduate's Guide : Navigating Law School's Hidden Career and Professional-Development Curriculum by
Written to help the transition from graduate to lawyer, the Law Graduates Guide reveals that law school has a hidden curriculum. While studying, completing course requirements, and making progress toward a law degree, students should also be deliberately planning their career and professional development. This guide helps law students identify, organize, and make the best use of career and professional-development advice and resources in order to link their education with a meaningful career. The Law Graduates Guide has three parts organized around knowledge, skills, and ethics. Each of these has three parts of its own on: (1) school (the law school curriculum); (2) tools (professional-development resources); and (3) transitions (career paths and opportunities). The guide includes graduate success stories illustrating each practice; career and professional-development advice from dozens of judges, lawyers, and law school deans and professors; and exercises for each recommended activity. Appendix A lists the activities that each section of the guide describes, making for an index. Appendix B lists the same activities in roughly chronological order, recognizing that many of the activities are continuous and overlapping.
The Marble and the Sculptor : From Law School to Law Practice by
Let's face it. The entire legal industry is in a state of flux. If you're a new lawyer in today's economy, you're probably asking yourself one of the following questions: .How do I transition from law school to law practice? .How do I get a job? .How can I find like-minded mentors and colleagues? .How do I develop a book of business? .How do I become a good lawyer? These questions weigh on you and keep you awake at night, along with thoughts like "Was going to law school really the right decision?" or "Should I be doing something else with my life?" If you aren't asking yourself these questions, you are ignoring the world to your detriment. Written from the in-the-trenches perspective of a young lawyer, The Marble and the Sculptor provides a clear no-nonsense path from law school to lawyering. It presents a fundamental understanding of what is expected of new attorneys and a framework for becoming a successful both as a lawyer and in life. With advice on everything from choosing classes that matter in law school to the importance of writing well, attracting clients, and avoiding five basic mistakes in your first job at a law firm, this book is destined to become the go-to guide for all young lawyers regardless of law school or area of practice. Simply put, if you care at all about practicing law, you can t afford not to read it."
The New : What Can You Do with a Law Degree? : A Lawyer's Guide to Career Satisfaction Inside, Outside & Around the Law by
What's your career identity? -- Why this book was written (and for whom) -- The nature of transition -- The case for self-assessment -- Introducing the lawyer career satisfaction model (sm) -- Does your job fit your values? -- Does your job fit your psychological needs? -- Does your job fit your communication style? -- Does your job fit your motivated skills? -- Does your job fit your career interests? -- Identifying your ideal job -- The case for solo practice -- Finding work inside, outside & around the law -- Putting your best foot forward -- The personal obstacles to career satisfaction -- Should I leave the law? -- The disengagement process -- What comes next? -- Appendices: 800+ ways to use your law degree ; Legal & law-related certificate & credential-building programs ; Getting the most from career & outplacement counseling ; Homework assignments ; The values card sort exercise.
Rising Lawyer by
Whether you are a law student preparing for on-campus interviews and your summer associate position or a first-year associate embarking on your legal career at a law firm, this book is full of practical guidance ranging from preparing for your first day to protecting your health as a lawyer to requesting detailed feedback on assignments. Based on the advice and experiences garnered from numerous practicing attorneys, Rising Lawyer offers answers to the questions you are too embarrassed to ask and the real-world advice lawyers wished they had when they were starting out their legal careers. Other topics covered include handling mistakes at work, building professional relationships, examining your values and career goals, as well as marketing yourself as a junior associate. A quick read with a healthy dose of humor and self-awareness.
Roadmap by
What do you say when a potential employer asks, "Tell me about a project that you have managed and what you learned from that experience; tell me specifically about how you handled a difficult team member in implementing the project?" If you are like most law students, the slightest mention of "project management" or "difficult team member" makes you cringe, evoking painful memories of free-riding classmates. Once your discomfort passes, you either struggle to come up with a meaningful answer or fail to think of an experience demonstrating your project management and teamwork competencies. Would it surprise you to know that was supposed to be an easy question? What happens when you get a tricky question, such as, "What value do you bring beyond just technical legal skills to help our clients be successful?" The Roadmap process transforms this type of challenging question into an opportunity to differentiate yourself from other students. You will not need to wait for a specific question about the value you bring beyond technical legal skills to help legal employers and clients. Instead, you will understand what skills legal employers and clients need and will be able to explain how your strongest skills can help them succeed. You will be prepared with your best stories to demonstrate persuasive evidence of your strongest skills.
Succeeding after Law School in the New Economy by
Succeeding After Law School in the New Economy is a succinct book that takes the reader through the various components of a successful transition from being a law student to being a legal practitioner. Chapter by chapter, it conveys the attitudes and skills that are necessary for law school graduates to succeed in the current legal market. Carol Montgomery, recently retired Associate Dean for Career Development at The George Washington University Law School, spent 12 years advising law students and alumni about their career goals and job search strategies. She's worked extensively with employers in legal and non-legal sectors, as well as with law school career services professionals, and she has researched in depth what employers today are looking for. She is uniquely suited to help recent-or not so recent-law school graduates find employment in the new economy.
Swimming Lessons for Baby Sharks by
The go-to book for new lawyer success at leading firms and schools, Swimming Lessons for Baby Sharks contains critical advice new graduates need to thrive. Completely revised and updated, the Third Edition includes vital new information on navigating a hybrid work environment. The new edition also includes expanded guidance on networking, client service, business development, time and project management, and many other topics. The goal is simple: to help new lawyers start strong, because experience is the most effective way to learn. With an easily readable style, Swimming Lessons for Baby Sharks helps new lawyers finesse unwritten rules and stay afloat in a challenging profession. The book contains hundreds of tips with inside information from successful lawyers nationwide. Humorous, real-life examples illustrate the lessons along with checklists to provide comprehensive advice quickly. The book has been called a "game changer" and partners at firms nationwide recommend it for associates.
The Legal Job Interview by
As a result of dynamic changes in the current legal job market, most legal professionals today have to spend a substantial amount of time planning their careers while still in law school, refining those plans as their careers unfold, and keeping their eyes open for changes in the legal environment. With so many of their peers vying for the same positions, legal job candidates who understand the special art of interviewing for legal jobs will stand out from the crowd. This unique guide covers all the topics they need to know, including:What’s different about legal job interviewers What work needs to be donebeforescheduling and arriving at the interview The step-by-step process of a typical interview What to do (and not to do) to maximize the chance of getting that job offer Guidance for lunch, cocktail, or dinner interviews (whose purpose is often different form the in-office interview) Strategies for dealing with common legal job interview questions Using your interviewing skillsafteryou’ve landed the job you want
Nail Your Law Job Interview : The Essential Guide to Firm, Clerkship, Government, In-House, and Lateral Interviews by
Nail Your Law Job Interview provides substantive advice for law students, laterals, government lawyers, and senior attorneys through real-life interview examples and tips from hundreds of prominent legal professionals. Topics include: Unique challenges facing foreign and "involuntary" job applicants. Questions not to ask and answers to avoid. Body language, gap-fillers, and effective interview questions. Dealing with inappropriate questions and arrogant interviewers. Tips for working with a headhunter and negotiating an offer. Book jacket.
Knock 'em Dead Cover Letters by
Knock em Dead Cover Letters 11th edition--cover letters and strategies to get the job you want. Step-by-step guide for how write cover letters and every type of letter you will use in a job hunt. How to build, edit and polish professional letters for maximum impact and how to use them to get four times the interviews.
Knock Em Dead Resumes by
Knock Em Dead Resumes, 11th edition. How to write a killer resume and use it to get more job interviews and job offers than you have ever had before. Every page packed with practical, easy-to-follow advice for creating your resume.
Telling Your Story by
Message to students : why did I write this book? -- Introduction : how can I use this book help me get a job? -- Legal Resume. Identifying information : who are you and how can I contact you? -- Education : where did you go to school and what did you do while you were there? -- Work experience : general information and format, what skill categories best describe your work experience? -- Work experience : substantive descriptions, what specifically did you do in each position you held? -- Special skills and interests : what do you do outside of law school and work? -- Cover Letters. Purpose and logistics : why do I need a cover letter and what should I put in it? -- Heading, addressee and introduction : who are you and why are you writing this cover letter? -- Facts : what are one or two things that you want me to know about you? -- Discussion/argument : why are you a good fit for our organization? -- Closing : how do I end my letter and what is the next step? -- Writing Samples, References and Recommendation Letters, And Networking. Writing samples : what is a legal writing sample and how do I put one together? -- References and recommendation letters : what are they and how do I get one? -- Tips for job prospecting and securing a job : what can I do now to start establishing my professional network and career?
Ultimate Job Search by
Starting work or changing jobs can be one of life's most stressful experiences, and with today's crowded job market it is more of a challenge than ever. Even when your CV does get you through to an interview, competition is so strong that you can't leave any of your preparation up to luck. A 'one-stop shop' for all job hunters, Ultimate Job Search takes the stress out of job hunting and provides advice on every stage of the job hunting process, from preparing a powerful CV that will get you noticed; sample cover letters and emails that come across as genuine; making a great impression at interviews; to dealing with offers and rejections in a positive manner. From the best-selling Ultimate series, the guidance in this book will help you shine and will demonstrate to future employers that you're not only able to do the job, but that you are committed and highly receptive to opportunities around you. With an exhaustive breadth of detail and real-life up-to-date comments from employers and recruitment professionals, Ultimate Job Search is invaluable to anyone looking to get their dream job at any stage of their career.
A Lawyer's Guide to Networking by
This book contains a compilation of quotes about networking from 60 individuals, most of whom are lawyers or judges. The book contains worksheets and exercises designed to help the readers build their own career networks. The result is a career-development guidebook for younger lawyers or those wishing to build out a new practice area.
Networking for People Who Hate Networking, Second Edition by
Would you rather get a root canal than face a group of strangers? Does the phrase "working a room" make you want to retreat to yours? Devora Zack, an avowed introvert and successful consultant who gives presentations to thousands of people at dozens of events annually, feels your pain. She found that other networking books assume that to succeed, you have to act like an extrovert. Not at all. There is another way. Zack politely examines and then smashes to tiny fragments the "dusty old rules" of standard networking advice. She shows how the very traits that make many people hate networking can be harnessed to forge an approach more effective and user-friendly than traditional techniques. This edition adds new material on applying networking principles in personal situations, handling interview questions, following up--what do you do with all those business cards?--and more. Networking enables you to accomplish the goals that are most important to you. But you can't adopt a style that goes against who you are--and you don't have to. As Zack writes, "You do not succeed by denying your natural temperament; you succeed by working with your strengths."
Networking Is Not Working : Stop Collecting Business Cards and Start Making Meaningful Connections by
Over the last few decades, networking has devolved into an endless series of cattle call
events full of open bars and closed fists. Perfect strangers, after a long day at the office,
agree to show up and bump into each other, randomly exchanging business pitches for
business cards.
Needless to say, traditional networking isn't working anymore. For successful 21st
century business people, large networking events and the mountains of business cards
they produce have become a waste of time and valuable resources. It's time for a new,
modern approach to networking.
Born out of author Derek Coburn's frustration with having spent thousands of fruitless
hours attending traditional networking events, this book offers fresh, effective,
unconventional strategies for growing and nurturing a powerful network. These
strategies grew Coburn's revenue by 300% in just 18 months and can have a major
impact on your business.
You will learn how to:
* Become the Ultimate Connector
* Become the Ultimate Resource
* Identify and develop relationships with world-class professionals
* Enhance the value you deliver for your best clients
* Position yourself for more quality introductions to ideal prospective clients
Once you implement the networking strategies in this book, the quality of your clients,
your business, and your life will improve dramatically.
The Opportunity Maker by
This book is designed to help you harness your potential for networking, marketing, and business development. The techniques it contains for defining your personal brand and leveraging technology to maximize your success will empower your legal career from law school through partnership. The second edition is updated with over 70 pages of new content and features tips from Lawcountability. Rainmakers, PR experts, elected officials, marketing masters, in-house counsel, business executives, career advisors, associates, and others who have walked in your shoes offer perspective on issues ranging from dynamic public speaking and strategic use of social media to starting conversations and beginning to blog. They also provide guidance on hosting your own television show, starting a charity, and raising your profile with ease. Each chapter highlights genuine strategies for connecting with others and establishing meaningful professional relationships.
