CALI Lessons - Property Law
Black Letter Outline on Property by
Black Letter Outlines are designed to help a law student recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a law school course. Black Letter Outlines can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and as a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination. Each Black Letter Outline is written by experienced law school professors who are recognized national authorities in their subject area.
Moynihan's Introduction to the Law of Real Property by
This classic monograph presents a simple, concise and readable text of the history of the English common law scheme of estates in land, including future interests, and the scheme's importation to the United States. The text specially treats the types of interests a person can hold in land today and the associated legal rules that affect those interests. The text is peppered with many review problems to assist the reader in learning the material in the monograph.
The Law of Property by
The Law of Property provides an incisive and clear summary of the doctrine and theory animating the law of private property. The book is organized around three main themes: acquiring property, dividing property, and limiting rights in property. Specific topics include, the law of capture, creation, adverse possession, estates and future interests, concurrent ownership, marital property, leaseholds, land transfers, recordation, easements, covenants, land use controls, and the Takings Clause, among others. The book synthesizes these diverse topics by highlighting the overarching themes that join them together. It is essential reading for any property student, and can be used in conjunction with any leading property casebook. The Second Edition features new cutting-edge property topics including a recent Supreme Court case interpreting the Takings Clause, and disputes around hydrofracking and short-term rentals (like Airbnb). It has been edited to account for changes to marital property following new constitutional law on same-sex marriage. It now includes references to the Sprankling & Coletta casebook, as well as updated citations to the most recent editions of the leading casebooks.
Property by
Examples & Explanations: Property, Sixth Edition, is a study aid that offers clear textual introductions to legal terms and concepts in property law, followed by examples and explanations that test and apply the reader's understanding of the material covered. Both authors have years of experience presenting material in a clear and compelling way. With its rich pedagogy that features boldfaced legal terms and visual aids, Examples & Explanations: Property, Sixth Edition, fills a niche that is distinct from other books. Using a six-part topical organization, accomplished authors Barlow Burke and Joseph Snoe ensure that the rules and doctrines making up the first-year course on the law of property are well covered. New to the Sixth Edition: Revised and rearranged coverage and examples to focus on major points and concepts and to clarify more obscure issues Simplified examples and questions to highlight the main issue A more structured development of Chain of Title problems inherent in recording systems An added discussion of Construction Industry of Sonoma County v. City of Petaluma in the exclusionary zoning section Incorporation of the Department of Justice's regulations and examples interpreting the Religious Land Use and Institutional Persons Act Expanded guidance on the Wireless Communication Facilities Act Reorganization of the chapter on Takings to emphasize how exceptions build on the Penn Central Transportation Co. v. New York City ad hoc factors Discussion on Muir v. Wisconsin in the Takings analysis (states' ability to conceptually merge parcels to defeat a Takings claim) Follow-ups on the effect (or lack thereof) of Stop the Beach Renourishment, Inc. v. Florida Dept. of Environmental Protection Brief discussion of Marvin M. Brandt Revocable Trust v. United States in easement chapter (whether a railroad abandoning a strip of land held an easement or a fee simple determinable) Clarification and expansion of the discussion of landlord-tenant issues
Property by
This study aid presents eight examinations pertaining to property rules and their application. The book contains 200 objective questions; all are actual final exam questions being released for the first time. Each exam consists of 25 objective problems and includes tear-out answer sheets to simulate exam conditions. The accompanying answers and detailed analysis foster a better understanding of each rule and how to apply it.
Questions and Answers: Property by
There is no better way to improve your understanding of property law doctrines, concepts, and theories and to evaluate your progress in a course than to engage with rigorous practice exam questions. This updated study guide provides more than 200 multiple-choice, true/false, and short answer questions arranged topically and designed to test your comprehension as you learn. And, there is practice exam with more than 50 questions that covers most of the subjects taught across a semester in the typical property law course. The correct answers to all the book's practice questions are available to compare against your own responses.
Real Property in a Nutshell by
This concise work discusses most rules covered in real property casebooks. The text is divided into three sections. Part One provides an overview of property interests by covering lost v. mislaid v. abandoned property, adverse possession, gifts, common law estates, future interests, landlord-tenant law, concurrent ownership, marital property rights, easements, profits, licenses, real covenants, and equitable servitudes. Part Two covers conveyancing, including real estate brokers, contracts of sale, deeds, recording, title insurance, and mortgages. Part Three covers a variety of property rights and liabilities, including airspace, water rights, the right to support, agreed boundaries, fixtures, trespass, nuisance, and land use regulation.
A Short and Happy Guide to Property, 3D by
This book takes difficult subject matter and makes it accessible and easy to remember. Professor Paula Franzese, a nationally renowned teacher and scholar, sets forth understandable techniques for mastering estates in land and future interests (including the dreaded rule against perpetuities), concurrent estates, landlord-tenant law, servitudes, land transactions, the recording system, zoning, and eminent domain and includes, in this expanded Third Edition, added treatment of adverse possession, homeowners' associations, common interest communities, future interests, the rule of capture, and the law of finders. Learn from this ten-time recipient of the Professor of the Year Award and become a property connoisseur!
Understanding Property Law by
Understanding Property Law is a comprehensive and authoritative treatise from our Understanding series that is suitable for use in conjunction with any Property casebook. Features include: Complete coverage of all standard property topics, including landlord-tenant law, adverse possession, rights in personal property, estates and future interests, marital property, land sale transactions, servitudes, nuisance, zoning, takings, and other land use issues; Analysis of cutting-edge topics, such as property rights in human bodies, current takings issues, the new Restatement (Third) of Property (Servitudes), rights and duties of homeowners associations, and property rights in personal names and likenesses; Discussion of the policy and historical underpinnings of property law doctrines; and Clear writing and detailed organization to facilitate student understanding of both basic concepts and controversial topics.