Skip to main content

Liturgical Studies: Eastern Rites

The Catholic Church is fundamentally liturgical and sacramental in its public life of worship. The main Catholic worship service is the Mass.

Catholic Eastern Rites - Texts

There are a number of liturgical rites used by different Eastern Catholics. These include the Armenian, Byzantine, Chaldaean, Coptic, Ethiopian, Maronite, Syrian, Syro-Malabar, and Syro-Malankara rites. Of these the largest is the Byzantine.

The Eastern Orthodox Liturgy

St. John Chrysostom

Eastern Rites - Secondary Works

Subject Guide

Betsy Polakowski's picture
Betsy Polakowski

Theological Librarian / Collection Management Services

Subject Liaison to Theology, St. Paul Seminary School of Divinity

Archbishop Ireland Memorial Library