Skip to Main Content

Liturgical Studies: The Roman Rite

The Catholic Church is fundamentally liturgical and sacramental in its public life of worship. The main Catholic worship service is the Mass.

The Roman Rite - Latin Rite

The Roman Rite is the liturgical rite used in the Diocese of Rome in the Catholic Church. It is by far the most widespread of the Latin liturgical rites used within the Western or Latin autonomous particular Church, the particular Church that itself is also called the Latin Rite. Like virtually all other liturgical rites, the Roman Rite has grown and been adapted over the centuries. The development of its Eucharistic liturgy can be divided into three stages: Pre-Tridentine, Tridentine, and the Post-Tridentine.

Under the conditions indicated in the document:  Summorum Pontificum (2007), Pope Benedict XIV approved the continued use of the Tridentine Mass, as found in the 1962 Roman Missal, within certain limits.  It is still authorized for use as an extraordinary form of the Roman Rite.

See the box to the right for an English translation of this Apostolic Letter, and in several of the books below.

The Roman Rite: Official Current Latin Texts

Roman Rite - Texts

What are the liturgical Rites of the Catholic Church?

Summorum Pontificum

The July 7, 2007, document on the "extraordinary form" of the Roman Rite made the liturgy used before the reforms of the Second Vatican Council more accessible to the universal Church.

Celebrating the Mass through the Ages

Selected DVDs at OSF Library