Skip to Main Content

Liturgical Studies: Other Western Rites

The Catholic Church is fundamentally liturgical and sacramental in its public life of worship. The main Catholic worship service is the Mass.

Personal Ordinariate of the Chair of Saint Peter

Anglican Use

Anglican Classic

Other Western Rites

Until the reform of the Council of Trent, there were dozens of different liturgical usages in the Western Church. About ten of these survived in a few religious orders and dioceses until the Second Vatican Council. Today, with the exception of the Ambrosian Rite which is used throughout the Archdiocese of Milan, they are used in only a very few churches and chapels.

Good Book