Research and Course Guides: Liturgical Studies: Finding Articles

Journals in the area of Liturgical Studies

Antiphon: a Journal for Liturgical Renewal
A new journal founded in 1996 and published by the Society of Catholic Liturgy. Appearing three times per year, its focus is the renewal of the liturgy in the spirit of Vatican II with an emphasis on a wide range of topics including sacramental theology, art, architecture, and sacred music. This journal has quickly become an important resource for all who are interested in Catholic liturgy.
Catechumenate: a Journal of Christian Initiation
ISBN: 1040-659X
A resource of the Archdiocese of Chicago published six times per year by the LTP, this journal focuses on practical topics and questions concerning the RCIA.
Ephemerides Liturgicae
A major international journal founded in 1887 and published in Rome. Includes articles in the major European languages on all aspects of liturgy.
Faith & Form
The professional journal of the Interfaith Forum on Religion, Art and Architecture which appears 3 times per year. Focus is on art, architecture and related subjects. The annual awards issue features new buildings, renovations, project designs, and artworks that have received awards.
Liturgical ministry
A quarterly pastoral journal now published by the Liturgical Press. The editor states that the publication attempts to awaken pastoral ministers to academic concerns and sensitize academics to pastoral issues. Many issues are thematic with topics including: GIRM, the liturgical calendar, holiness, and saints and relics. A good resource for all engaged in pastoral ministry.
Liturgy
A quarterly publication of the Liturgical Conference, an interdenominational group headquartered in Washington, D.C. Articles are focused on practical matters of liturgy and worship with many issues centered on the liturgical season.
Newsletter - Bishops' Committee on Divine Worship.
A publication of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops that provides documentation on liturgical matters from the Vatican, Roman congregations, and the USCCB. A basic resource for all liturgical ministers.
Pastoral Music
Bimonthly publication of the National Association of Pastoral Musicians. Focus is on serving the life and mission of the Church through fostering the art of musical liturgy in Catholic worshiping communities in the United States.
Questions Liturgiques - Studies in Liturgy
Quarterly journal founded in 1910 and published by the Liturgical Institute at the Catholic University of Louvain. A scholarly journal publishing articles in French and English on all aspects of liturgy from the early Church and patristic period through the current day.
Sacred music
Published by the Church Music Association of America, this is the oldest continuously published music journal in the United States. Formerly entitled Caecilia and Catholic Choirmaster, its aim is to assist church musicians to maintain the highest artistic standards and preserve the treasury of sacred music especially Gregorian chant and encourage composers to write new music for the active participation of the people.
Worship
The foremost Catholic liturgical journal published in the United States. Founded in 1926 at St. John's Abbey, Collegeville Minnesota as Orate Fratres it publishes both scholarly and practical articles on all aspects of liturgy and worship. A basic resource for all liturgical ministers.
Thirty-five years of the BCL newsletter / Bishops' Committee on the Liturgy.
This is a compilation of BCL Newsletter.

Keywords for the Order of the Mass in the Roman Rite

Forms Pre-Tridentine Mass · Tridentine Mass (extraordinary form) · Mass of Paul VI Types

Missa Cantata · Coronation Mass · Chapter and Conventual Mass · High Mass · Low Mass · Nuptial Mass · Papal Mass ·

Pontifical High Mass Red Mass · Requiem Mass · Missa sine populo · Votive Mass

Introductory rites Vesting prayers · asperges · Introit · Penitential Rite / confiteor · Kyrie · Gloria · collect · Dominus Vobiscum · oremus Liturgy of the Word

Old Testament reading · Responsorial Psalm · Epistle · gradual · tract · sequentia · Alleluia · Gospel · homily · credo (Nicene Creed) ·

general intercessions · offertory · Orate fratres · secret prayer

Liturgy of the Eucharist

Eucharistic Prayer · Canon of the Mass (texts & rubrics / history) · Preface (Sursum corda / Sanctus / Hosanna) ·

Words of Institution (Transubstantiation) · Elevation · Memorial Acclamation / Mysterium fidei · Epiclesis · Lord's Prayer ·

Embolism · Doxology · Sign of peace / Pax · Agnus Dei · Fraction · Holy Communion · Communion (chant) · Ablutions ·

Postcommunion (Thanksgiving) · Dismissal (Ite missa est / Benedicamus Domino) · Last Gospel

Participants

Acolyte · altar server (female) · bishop · boat boy · cantor · choir · crucifer · deacon · Extraordinary minister of Holy Communion ·

laity (Eucharistic Congress) · lector · priest · subdeacon · usher

Objects

Alb · ambo · altar · altar bell · altar candle · altar candlestick · altar crucifix · altar rails · aspergillum · ciborium · collectarium ·

collection basket · corporal · chalice · chasuble · Credence table · cruet · dalmatic · episcopal sandals · evangeliary · flabellum ·

funghellino · headcover · holy water · humeral veil · incense (use) · kneeler · lavabo · lectionary (revised) · liturgical book · mantilla ·

manuterge · misericord · music · pall · pallium · Paschal candle · paten · piscina · processional cross · pyx · Roman Missal ·

Roman Pontifical · sacramental bread (wafer) · sacramental wine (or mustum) · sacramentary · sanctuary lamp · stole · surplice ·

tabernacle · thurible · triple candlestick · tunicle · vestment (pontifical) · votive candle · vimpa · water

Concepts and actions

Antiphon · Blood of Christ · Body of Christ · church etiquette · closed communion · commemoration ·

Communion and the developmentally disabled · Communion under both kinds · Crucifixion of Jesus (atonement) ·

ecclesiastical Latin · Eucharistic discipline · Eucharistic fast · First Communion · General Instruction of the Roman Missal ·

genuflection · grace (ex opere operato) · Host desecration · infant communion · In persona Christi · intercession of saints ·

intinction · Koinonia · the Last Supper · liturgical colours · liturgical year (proper) · Melchizedek priesthood · Order of Mass ·

prayer (effects of prayer) · Ordines Romani · Real Presence · reserved sacrament · responsory · Sign of the Cross ·

Sunday (Lord's Day) · viaticum

Agape feast · benediction of the Blessed Sacrament · Catholic liturgy · Congregation for Divine Worship

and the Discipline of the Sacraments ·Council of Trent · church music (Mass) · Corpus Christi (feast) ·

Ecclesia de Eucharistia · Epiousios · Eucharistic adoration ·Eucharistic miracle · Eucharistic theology ·

Fourth Council of the Lateran · historical roots of Catholic Eucharistic theology ·Holy Day of Obligation ·

Liturgical Movement · Missale Romanum · Mysterium Fidei (encyclical) · origin of the Eucharist ·

Pope Pius XII Liturgy Reforms · Pro multis · Quo Primum · Roman Catholic theology · Sacraments

of the Catholic Church ·sacristy · Summorum Pontificum · traditionalist Catholic · Tra le sollecitudini ·

Vatican II (Sacrosanctum Concilium) ·Year of the Eucharist

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus This link opens in a new window
Our primary theology and religion index, with over 470 titles in full text out of over 2,250 titles indexed, primarily academic journal articles, books, review, and essays: international in scope. Includes the contents of the Catholic Periodical and Literature Index. Produced by the American Theological Library Association.

Old and New Testament Abstracts

New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Advanced tool. Abstracts (short summaries) from over 500 academic journals about field of New Testament studies; international scope. Also abstracts books on related topics. Limited subject and/or citation searching.
Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Advanced tool. Abstracts (short summaries) from over 500 academic journals about field of Old Testament studies; international scope. Also abstracts books on related topics. Limited subject and/or citation searching.

LibrarySearch

JSTOR

JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to BACK FILES of digitized versions of complete runs of key scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and the social sciences. The Arts & Sciences collections represent the building blocks of an interdisciplinary scholarly journal archive

Oxford Index

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text of scholarly literature (journals) across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. It includes most peer-reviewed online journals. Use FIND IT@UST Libraries to get the full-text if not available in Google Scholar.

UST's InterLibrary Loan Service

To borrow materials one cannot find locally.

Interlibrary Loan Services