Skip to Main Content

Eastern Orthodox Church: Liturgy and Other Services

The body of modern churches, including (among others) the Greek and Russian Orthodox, that is derived from the church of the Byzantine Empire, adheres to the Byzantine rite, and acknowledges the honorary primacy of the patriarch of Constantinople.

Liturgical & Prayer Books

The books required for the celebration of the Church's divine services are specific to each ecclesial tradition. The following books are those belonging to the Byzantine liturgical tradition that is the normal usage of the Eastern Orthodox Churches. There are some differences between the Greek and Slavic traditions within the larger Byzantine tradition, and these will be indicated below in the sections covering the relevant books. St. Seraphim of Sarov

The Orthodox Liturgy

Note: The Eastern Orthodox Church does NOT celebrate Mass.  The Mass is the Eucharistic celebration according to the Latin rite.  The Eastern Orthodox Church celebrates the Eucharist according to Byzantine traditions, and thus refers to it as a Liturgy.  The most commonly celebrated forms of the Divine Liturgy are the Liturgy of St. John Chrysostom, the Liturgy of St. Basil, and the Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts, but there are others such as the Liturgy of St. James; the Liturgy of St. Mark; the Liturgy of St. Gregory the Great and the Liturgy of St. Tikhon of Moscow.

St. John Chrysostom