Research and Course Guides: Eastern Orthodox Church: Reference Resources

Quick Ready Reference

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Use for quick look ups. Oxford Reference Online contains dictionaries, encyclopedias, and Oxford Companions on a wide variety of topics. Brief entries and information about art, biology, business, classics, computing, environmental science, economics, history, language, law, literature, medicine, physical science, political science, quotations, religion and philosophy, and science.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Full-text encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Articles, journals, and books published by Wiley across a variety of disciplines.

Reference Resources

12 Things I Wish I’d Known…First Visit to an Orthodox Church
by Frederica Mathewes-Green
A Dictionary of Orthodox Terminology
A Directory of Orthodox Internet Resources
Alaska's Digital Archives
Alaska's Digital Archives presents a wealth of historical photographs, albums, oral histories, etc., which includes a significant amount of materials on the Russian Orthodox Church in North America.
An Exact Exposition of the Orthodox Faith
The Complete Text by St. John Damascene
An Online Orthodox Catechism
Adopted from ‘The Mystery of Faith’ by Bishop Hilarion Alfeyev, Russian Orthodox Church
Basic Sources of the Teachings of the Eastern Orthodox Church
by Rev. George Mastrantonis
Book of Needs of the Holy Orthodox Church
Canons of the Seven Ecumenical Councils
Collected Works of Fr. Georges Florovsky
Fr. Georges Vasilievich Florovsky (August 23, 1893 – August 11, 1979) was a prominent 20th century Orthodox Christian priest, theologian, and writer, active in the ecumenical movement. His writngs cover nearly every aspect of Church life.
Historical Studies of the Russian Church Abroad
Holy Trinity Orthodox Mission School Texts
Large number of important Orthodox Church Reference titles.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook: Byzantium
Myriobiblos
Orthodox Christian Information Center
Welcome to the OCIC Web site, one of the largest and oldest sites on Orthodox Christianity. Think of the OCIC as a vast online article repository, with over 700 articles and 6,000 printed pages. This site has been online since 1996 and receives over 36,00
Orthodox Ecclesiology in Outline
George Dion Dragas, University of Durham
Greek Orthodox Theological Review, 26-3, 1981
Orthodox Wiki
OrthodoxWiki is in no way affiliated with Wikipedia. It does, however, use the same wiki software, models some of its structure on Wikipedia, and has derived some of its articles from there under the terms of the GNU Free Documentation License.
more...less...
The purpose of OrthodoxWiki is to present an encyclopedia of Orthodox Christianity as represented by the mainstream Chalcedonian churches ("Eastern Orthodox").
OrthodoxHistory.org
The Society for Orthodox Christian History in the Americas
OrthodoxPhotos.com
This photo gallery brings you no less than 1867 pictures of different orthodox sights.
Our Faith Articles
From the Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of America
Questions and Answers About Orthodoxy
Sacrement of Holy Orders
St. Pachomius Library
Synaxis.Info - Library of Eastern Orthodox Resources
The Longer Catechism of The Orthodox, Catholic, Eastern Church
Also known as the Catechism of St. Philaret (Drozdov) of Moscow
The Orthodox Faith
An introduction to the Eastern Orthodox Faith.
Theology and Mysticism in the Tradition of the Eastern Church
by Vladimir Lossky
These Truths We Hold
Short Eastern Orthodox Encyclopedia

Libraries & Special Collections

Archbishop Lakovos Library & Learning Resource Center
Orthodox Theological Society in America
The Society welcomes as members Orthodox Christians who reside in North America and are teaching theology at an institution of higher learning or are engaged in serious theological work or research.
Pontifical Oriental Institute Library
St. Tikhon's Orthodox Theological Seminary Library
St. Vladimir's Seminary Library
University of Illinois - Slavic and East European Library
Yale University

Eastern Orthodox Church: Reference Resources

Quick Ready Reference

Reference Resources

Libraries & Special Collections

Eastern Orthodox Schools and Institutes