Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

THEO 424 - Christianity and World Religions: Christian Denominations

A guide that serves as a brief introduction to several world religions. It is intended to whet your appetite for further study and to help you understand the religious beliefs of others in today's global society.

Roman Catholic

ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES

Our Sunday Visitor’s Encyclopedia of Catholic History. Matthew Bunson. Huntington, Ind.: Our Sunday Visitor, 1995.

The Encyclopedia of American Catholic History. Michael Glazier and Thomas J. Shelley, eds. Collegeville, Minn.: Liturgical Press, 1997.

Historical Dictionary of Catholicism. William J. Collinge. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1997.  

THE PAPACY

Chronicle of the Popes: The Reign-by-Reign Record of the Papacy from St. Peter to the Present. P. G. Maxwell-Stuart. New York: Thames and Hudson, 1997.

The Oxford Dictionary of Popes. 2nd ed. J. N. D. Kelly. New York: Oxford University Press, 1986.

Dictionary of Popes and the Papacy. Bruno Steimer and Michael G. Parker, eds., trans. Brian McNeil and Peter Heinigg. New York: Crossroad, 2001.

Encyclopedia of the Vatican and Papacy. Frank J. Coppa, ed. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1999.

The Papacy: An Encyclopedia. 3 vols. Philippe Levillain, ed. New York: Routledge, 2002.  

 

 
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              

Eastern Orthodoxy

Eastern Orthodoxy
 
The Blackwell Dictionary of Eastern Christianity. Ken Parry, et al., eds. Oxford: Blackwell, 1999.
 
Historical Dictionary of the Orthodox Church. Michael Prokurat, ed. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1996.
 
The Coptic Encyclopedia. 8 vols. Aziz S. Atiya, ed. New York: Maxwell Macmillan Inernational, 1991.

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints

Jehovah's Witnesses

Jehovah’s Witnesses: Portrait of a Contemporary Religious Movement. Andrew Holden. London: Routledge, 2002. 

 

Cults and New Religious Movements

GENERAL DATABASES AND RESOURCES

 

Sects, “Cults,” and Alternative Religions: A World Survey and Sourcebook. David V. Barrett. London: Blandford, 1996.  

 

Charts of Cults, Sects, and Religious Movements. H. Wayne House. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2000.  

 

The Encyclopedia of Cults, Sects and New Religions. James R. Lewis. Amherst, N.Y.: Prometheus Books, 1998. L 

 

Historical Dictionary of New Religious Movements. George D. Chryssides. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2001.  

 

Peculiar Prophets: A Biographical Dictionary of New Religions. James R. Lewis. St. Paul, Minn.: Paragon House, 1999.