Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This page will show you library online resources for Philosophy 214: Introductory Ethics
Background Resources (Electronic)
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Based on the 1998 authoritative print edition, this encyclopedia features over 2,000 signed articles across the breadth of the discipline by international experts. Each year new or revised entries are added. The 10 volume print edition is available in Reference at both Ireland and OSF Libraries. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Contains many extended articles on a range of topics in philosophy from classical times to the modern day. Links to relevant sites are included in the articles.
Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library (formerly Blackwell Reference Online) is a vast online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences.
Use CLICsearch to Find Books, Articles, and More
- to focus your search, use the limits on the left side of the result page
- try the Peer Review limit to focus your results on scholarly articles
- learn more about LibrarySearch
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers.
Now with over 200 full-text titles, the renowned philosophy index offers even more for undergraduates, graduate students and researchers. International in scope, The Philosopher’s Index with Full Text offers content from 139 countries. It provides full-text journals published in the United States and Britain as well as in 27 other countries.
JSTOR provides access to ebooks and scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and the social sciences. Works best in Chrome (Firefox creates problems with pop-up blockers).
Project MUSE provides online access to a large selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals and ebooks.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus
Our primary theology and religion index, with 50 plus titles in full-text out of over 400 total indexed, primarily academic journal articles, books, reviews, and essays in collection; international scope. Scriptures search: find articles about passages by citation; browse by Book title, carefully look for applicable verse ranges.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Access to full-text available through UST subscription resources. Click "Get it@UST Libraries." to get free full-text.