Research and Course Guides: Rome Core Program: PHIL 214

PHIL 214

This page will show you library online resources for Philosophy 214: Introductory Ethics

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Over 2,000 signed articles across the breadth of the discipline by international experts. Each year new or revised entries are added. The 10-volume print edition is available in Reference at both Ireland and OSF Libraries. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Contains many extended articles on a range of topics in philosophy from classical times to the modern day. Links to relevant sites are included in the articles.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Articles, journals, and books published by Wiley across a variety of disciplines.

Routledge Philosophy Guidebooks
Mix of print and ebooks in a series about important figures in Western philosophy, including Aristotle, Berkeley, Hume, Hegel, Wittgenstein, etc.
Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy
E-version of a well known dictionary with brief definitions and descriptions
Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Revised edition of a classic in the field, now part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Now in the Gale Virtual Reference Library, this well known reference book traces significant ideas in Western civilization.
Blackwell Dictionary of Western Philosophy Online
PhilPapers.org
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers

Search Tips:

Philosophy Documentation Center This link opens in a new window
Searchable access to the full text of St Thomas-subscribed philosophy journals, plus indexing to dozens more.

PhilPapers.org
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers.

Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Citation database including journals and books related to philosophy, ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, metaphysic logic, and the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access ebooks and scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and the social sciences. Journal content is often not available until 1+ years after publication.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides online access to a large selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals and ebooks.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus This link opens in a new window
Our primary theology and religion index, with over 470 titles in full text out of over 2,250 titles indexed, primarily academic journal articles, books, review, and essays: international in scope. Includes the contents of the Catholic Periodical and Literature Index. Produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across a wide range of academic literature indexed by Google. Use this link to get full-text access to articles available through the library via “GET IT@UST Libraries” links in search results.

Email Me

Contact:

O’Shaughnessy-Frey Library | LIB 117

651 962-5027

Subjects: Aerospace Studies, Art History, Catholic Studies, Environmental, Geography, Geology, Mathematics, Philosophy, Physics, Sustainability, Theology & Religion