Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This page will show you library online resources for English 203--Texts in Conversation: When in Rome.
(Image credit: Giovanni Paolo Pannini, "The Piazza and Church of Santa Maria Maggiore," 1744, Web Gallery of Art).
Background Sources & Selected Ebooks
Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library (formerly Blackwell Reference Online) is a vast online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences.
Full-text encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Gale Literature: Contemporary Authors
This resource provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on approximately 100,000 U.S. and international authors.
LibrarySearch: Travel Writing
This is a link to a LibrarySearch for "travel writing," limited to reference material only. Append an authors name to the existing search (e.g. "Mark Twain," "Charles Dickens," Goethe, etc.) to seek items on those authors.
Use CLICsearch to Find Books, Articles, and More
- to focus your search, use the limits on the left side of the result page
- try the Peer Review limit to focus your results on scholarly articles
- learn more about LibrarySearch
Literature Online (LION)
Literature Online is a single-point, online resource for the study and teaching of literature in English. It is a fully integrated service that combines the texts of over 357,000 works of literature with huge resources of criticism and reference. It lets users search across the two leading literary indexes - MLA and the Annual Bibliography of Language and Literature (ABELL) - and link directly to literary criticism and reference from an extensive collection of full-text literature journals.
Gale Literature Resource Center
A one-stop-shop resource providing access to biographies, critical analyses and reviews of authors from every age and literary discipline. It covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.
Gale Literature Criticism
Centuries of analysis - scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals.
Selected Ebooks & Chapters
JSTOR provides access to ebooks and scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and the social sciences. Works best in Chrome (Firefox creates problems with pop-up blockers).
Project MUSE provides online access to a large selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals and ebooks.
Academic Search Premier
A good place to start your research, Academic Search Premier provides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources.