Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This page will show you library online resources for History 111: Origins of the Modern World
(Image credit: City of Rome during time of republic. This is a picture out of the book " Geschichtsbilder" published in 1896 by Friedrich Polack (1834-1915). Copyright expired.
Finding Background Information Online - Handbooks and Companions
Cambridge Histories Online
Is a collection of more than 350 full text books published by Cambridge University Press. Subjects range widely across the humanities, including Ancient History, American history, British history, Economic history, General history, Political and social theory, Regional history, Religious studies, and more.
Finding Background Information
LibrarySearch book search
Results here are limited to books, ebooks, and book chapters.
Find Journal Articles
Use the following databases to find scholarly and peer-reviewed articles on your topic.
JSTOR provides access to ebooks and scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and the social sciences. Works best in Chrome (Firefox creates problems with pop-up blockers).
Academic Search Premier
A good place to start your research, Academic Search Premier provides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
Index to journal articles and bibliographic citations to books and dissertations on the history of the world (except for) the U.S. and Canada from 1450 to the present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Our library provides access to thousands of streaming video titles. The link below is a Summon search (limited to just streaming videos) for "Rome history" Check out some of these titles, or modify the search with your own terms.