Research and Course Guides: Rome Core Program: THEO 250

THEO 250

This page will show you library online resources for THEO 250: Global Christianity

(Image credit: Diliff - Own work, CC BY-SA 3.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=2065989)

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference contains full text dictionaries and encyclopedias from the Oxford University Press. It is easy to search and contains entries on a wide array of topics from business, computing and environmental science to art, biology, literature, religion, and political science.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Articles, journals, and books published by Wiley across a variety of disciplines.

New Catholic Encyclopedia
A standard work on the history of Catholicism and its relation to the world. It includes articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more.
Encyclopedia of Religion
Recently updated version of the classic resource for in-depth background on all topics in religion and religions, strong in East, West, and World religions. Authoritative articles by outstanding scholars.
Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
The single best one-volume overview of Church history, covering all periods. Great for looking up people, ideas, topics, issues, etc. new or unfamiliar to you.
more...less...
Over 6000 entries: theology; churches and denominations; patristic scholarship; the Bible; church calendar and organization; popes; archbishops; saints; and mystics, etc.
Encyclopedia Judaica
Updated edition of a classic, the best source for background information on Judaism and Jewish topics
Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology
Covers both general reference and subject-specific reference titles. Topic Pages give great background overviews on subjects.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A good place to start your research, Academic Search Ultimate provides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources.
Expanded content and coverage replacing Academic Search Premier.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus This link opens in a new window
Our primary theology and religion index, with over 470 titles in full text out of over 2,250 titles indexed, primarily academic journal articles, books, review, and essays: international in scope. Includes the contents of the Catholic Periodical and Literature Index. Produced by the American Theological Library Association.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access ebooks and scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and the social sciences. Journal content is often not available until 1+ years after publication.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across multiple disciplines and source types from one convenient place. Connect to Google Scholar through the library’s page to get free full text of articles brought to you by UST.

LibrarySearch: bible commentaries
Link to a keyword search in LibrarySearch for: "bible commentaries," limited to online only. Narrow this search by appending the name of a book of the bible or other keyword concepts.

Email Me

Contact:

O’Shaughnessy-Frey Library | LIB 117

651 962-5027

Subjects: Aerospace Studies, Art History, Catholic Studies, Environmental, Geography, Geology, Mathematics, Philosophy, Physics, Sustainability, Theology & Religion

1) Determine the Key concepts of your topic

2) Define your key words / search terms.

3) Choose your databases and resources

4) Formulate the search statement

5) Refine and focus your results

6) Evaluate and manage the results

7) Locate the full articles