Research and Course Guides: Rome Core Program: ARTH 310

ARTH 310

This page will show you library online resources for Art History 310 - Roman Art & Archaeology.

(Image: Image: Bernardo Bellotto, Roman Caprice with the Colosseum, 1745. Galleria nazionale di Parma, Italian and other European Art (Scala Archives).

Background Information--Electronic

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Excellent background source for art research. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome
The encyclopedia offers a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world—Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman—from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE.
Oxford Companion to Archaeology
Entries on human fossils, historical sites, geographical areas, and the people, history, theory, and substance of archaeology.
Oxford Bibliographies - Art History
Oxford Bibliographies Art History is a guide to scholarly literature in the field, covers major categories of research with bibliographies and recommended resources. Articles are written by established scholars.

A Companion to Roman Art by Barbara E. Borg (Editor)
Publication Date: 2015-12-21
A Companion to Roman Art encompasses various artistic genres, ancient contexts, and modern approaches for a comprehensive guide to Roman art.
Companion to the Archaeology of the Roman Republic by Jane DeRose Evans (Editor)
Publication Date: 2013-05-06
A Companion to the Archaeology of the Roman Republic offers a diversity of perspectives to explore how differing approaches and methodologies can contribute to a greater understanding of the formation of the Roman Republic.
The Oxford Handbook of Greek and Roman Art and Architecture by Clemente Marconi (Editor); Deborah Steiner
Publication Date: 2014-11-04
The study of Greek and Roman Art and Architecture has a long history that goes back to the second half of the 18th century and has provided an essential contribution towards the creation and the definition of the wider disciplines of Art History and Architectural History. The Handbook includes thirty essays, in addition to the introduction, by an international team of leading senior scholars, who have played a critical role in shaping the field, and by younger scholars, who will express the perspectives of a newer generation.
A Companion to the Roman Republic by Robert Morstein-Marx (Editor); Nathan S. Rosenstein (Editor)
Publication Date: 2006-12-06
This Companion provides an authoritative and up-to-date overview of Roman Republican history as it is currently practiced.
A Companion to the Roman Empire by David S. Potter (Editor)
Publication Date: 2006-05-22
A Companion to the Roman Empire provides readers with a guide both to imperial history and to the field of Roman studies, taking account of the most recent discoveries.

Use LibrarySearch to Find Books, Articles, and More

Search Tips:

to focus your search, use the limits on the left side of the result page
try the Peer Review limit to focus your results on scholarly articles
learn more about LibrarySearch

Articles

LibrarySearch is a good place to search for articles (as well as ebooks, reference materials, images, etc.) across many different databases and publishers. For more focused searching, try the following as well:

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Art Full Text is a database providing access to over 320 full-text periodicals. It is a comprehensive resource covering fine art, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture, and much more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access ebooks and scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and the social sciences. Journal content is often not available until 1+ years after publication.
Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984 This link opens in a new window
An international database, Art Index Retrospective provides 55 years of indexing to nearly 600 art journals, plus references to important yearbooks and museum catalogs. The fields of decorative, commercial and fine arts are included.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Excellent background source for art research. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides online access to a large selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals, supporting a diverse array of research needs.

Bibliography of the History of Art
A comprehensive bibliographical database of scholarly writing about the history of western art, containing abstracts and indexes of current publications in the history of art, including scholarly journals, conferences, book, exhibition reviews, and exhibition catalogues.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across a wide range of academic literature indexed by Google. Use this link to get full-text access to articles available through the library via “GET IT@UST Libraries” links in search results.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full text for thousands of peer-reviewed journals and general interest sources across many subject areas.

Roman Art Websites

Art History Librarian

Kathryn Burke

Email Me

Contact:

O’Shaughnessy-Frey Library | LIB 117

651 962-5027

Subjects: Aerospace Studies, Art History, Catholic Studies, Environmental, Geography, Geology, Mathematics, Philosophy, Physics, Sustainability, Theology & Religion

Images

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Over 2 million images from around the world, covering many time periods, cultures, and disciplines; discoverable alongside JSTOR’s journals, books, and other primary sources.

Videos

Our library provides access to thousands of streaming video titles. The link below is a Summon search (limited to just streaming videos) for "Roman Art." Check out some of these titles, or modify the search with your own terms.

Roman Art videos
LibrarySearch for "Roman Art", limited to videos.

Rome's Invisible City

Example video