Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nonprofits: What is a 990 Form?
Private and corporate-sponsored foundations in the U.S. submit a 990-PF to the IRS each year. This document provides fiscal data for the foundation, names of trustees and officers, application information, and a complete grants list.
ProPublica's Nonprofit Explorer
Searchable database of IRS TI-990 nonprofit organization tax filings. Also tables of revenue by state.
990 Finder - Candid
Search for a nonprofit's IRS return. Formerly, the Foundation Center's 990 Finder.
Founded in 2001, Charity Navigator has become the nation's largest and most-utilized evaluator of charities.
Search site for nonprofit organizations. You need to register to look at the financial data.
Minnesota Nonprofit Information
Minnesota Council of Nonprofits
Information about starting and managing a nonprofit organization. Additional free resources include job listings and a "Nonprofit Yellow Pages".
Minnesota Council on Foundations
This organization offers local information and resources for news, trends, and learning opportunities relating to charitable giving and grantseeking in Minnesota.
Sources for Articles on Nonprofits
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
Contains articles and industry reports from trade and news publications, and is good for researching smaller, niche industries.
Business Source Premier
Includes articles from trade publications and scholarly journals as well as company profiles, investment research reports, industry reports, market research, country reports, and SWOT analysis.
ProQuest US Newsstream, including Star Tribune
US Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, along with national and regional news sources including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Star Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, and Chicago Tribune.
Access World News
Contains thousands of national and international newspapers and other news sources, including college & university news, broadcast news transcripts, and business news. Excellent source for smaller news outlets.
- Suggested keywords: Bookstores, Charities, Colleges & universities, Donations, Foundations, Fund raising, Museums, Nonprofit organizations, Philanthropy, Schools, Volunteers.
College newspapers & radio stations
Minnesota College & University Newspapers
From the Minnesota Newspapers Directory.
List of radio stations in Minnesota (Wikipedia)
List of FCC-licensed radio stations in the state of Minnesota, from Wikipedia. Includes college radio stations.
List of radio stations in Wisconsin (from Wikipedia)
List of FCC-licensed radio stations in the state of Wisconsin, from Wikipedia. Includes college & school radio stations.
Gale Directory Of Publications & Broadcast Media
Detailed information on magazines, newspapers, journals, radio and television stations, and cable systems. Includes publications and broadcasters by city, subscription rates, advertising rates, and circulation statistics. Primarily U.S., with some international coverage. Part of Gale Directory Library.
Editor & Publisher Newspaper Data Book (print)
Call Number: OSF Ref. PN4700 .E42
Data on newspapers in the U.S. and internationally. Includes advertising rates. Formerly Editor & Publisher International Data Book.
Related Guides: Nonprofits & Charitable Organizations
More resources for nonprofit and charitable organizations.