Research and Course Guides: STCM 244: Research, Measurement, & Evaluation: News/Articles

LibrarySearch

Search Tips:

to focus your search, use the limits on the left side of the result page
try the Peer Review limit to focus your results on scholarly articles
learn more about LibrarySearch

Scholarly Research Journals

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A good place to start your research, Academic Search Ultimate provides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources.
Expanded content and coverage replacing Academic Search Premier.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from trade publications and scholarly journals as well as company profiles, investment research reports, industry reports, market research, country reports, and SWOT analysis.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Communication Source is an essential research tool in areas related to communications and mass media. It is also useful for literacy or ESL research in the field of education.
Expanded content and coverage replacing Communication & Mass Media Complete.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Emerald contains peer-reviewed articles from 175 management journals, and it is especially strong in management topics such as human resource management, operations management, and library and information management.Emerald also contains articles that focus on marketing,finance, information technology, and international company and industry information.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across multiple disciplines and source types from one convenient place. Connect to Google Scholar through the library’s page to get free full text of articles brought to you by UST.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Start here when you need to find research in psychology. Which areas of psychology? Just about all of them. PsycINFO covers mental health, counseling, cognitive science, neuroscience, education, learning, family studies and language. Provides full-text access (back to the first issue) of the journals published by the American Psychological Association, as well as other association journals and many books and book chapters.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text identifies resources in the field of sociology and related subject areas. It indexes over 3000 journals and provides full text for 890 journals, several dating back to 1908. It also includes full text for over 850 books and monographs, as well as over 16,800 conference reports. It also includes a thesaurus of sociological terms.
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains industry reports and articles from trade and news publications, and is good for researching smaller, niche industries.

Major Newspapers

Economist This link opens in a new window
The Economist is an important and respected English-language newsweekly magazine. This link gives access to a university-wide website subscription that should give you access to the content without paywalls. Includes current and prior coverage back to 1997; see the separate Economist Historical Archive for coverage back to 1843.
New York Times (Digital) This link opens in a new window
Direct access to nytimes.com paid for by St. Thomas. First-time users need to create a free account using their St. Thomas email address. Existing paid New York Times subscribers must cancel their subscription before authenticating via the school funded program. Includes access to nytimesineducation.com (separate registration required), timesmachine.nytimes.com, The Athletic (separate registration required), use of the app, and more. Does not include Cooking, Wirecutter, or Games. Available only to current UST students, faculty, and staff.
Once registered, students will have access until 12/31 of the graduation year they choose and faculty/staff will have 4 years of full account access, after which they must re-authenticate by visiting accessnyt.com.
Wall Street Journal (Digital) This link opens in a new window
Direct access to wsj.com paid for by St. Thomas. First-time users need to create a free account using their St. Thomas email address. Includes news, commentary, podcasts, WSJ+, use of the app, and more. Available only to current UST students, faculty, and staff.
Students will be prompted to enter their graduation date upon activation. If you have a change in your graduation date and need to extend access, please contact a librarian.

Faculty and staff will receive an email to renew their academic pass every 364 days.
Washington Post (Digital) This link opens in a new window
Direct access to washingtonpost.com paid for by St. Thomas. Click more to set up a free personal subscription you can use online and via the app.
Current UST students, faculty, and staff can follow these steps to activate your free subscription.

1. Enter your St. Thomas email in the Sign up box and follow the prompts to set up a new account
2. Click on your name in the upper right-hand corner
3. Click My Post
4. Click Manage Account on the right hand side
5. Click Send verification email. If you don't receive an email, be sure to check your spam folder
6. Once you've verified your email, click Subscription & Billing tab
7. Click Activate free digital access

How to Read a Journal Article

How to Read a Journal Article
Explains the typical layout of a scholarly journal article and what kinds of information you can find in each section; advice on how to read. From ICPSR.

Scholarly Research Journals

Scholarly journals provide scholarly research on topics related to specific professions. They are generally published through a peer-reviewed or juried process, which means that one or more scholars in the field have read and approved the article for publication.

LibKey Nomad

Searching Google, PubMed, or some other website? LibKey Nomad is a browser add-on that facilitates access to articles available from St. Thomas Library subscriptions without needing to go to the library website. It's like a shortcut to our GET IT service. And because it is a browser tool, you will know if an article is available before you have to log in to your University of St. Thomas library account. LibKey Nomad is available for Chrome, Firefox, Edge, Safari, Vivaldi, and Brave internet browsers. Get started downloading LibKey Nomad here.

Follow these steps to add Libkey Nomad as an extension to your Chrome browser:

LibKey Nomad on the Chrome Web Store

Follow these steps to add LibKey Nomad to your Edge browser:

You must then allow extensions from other stores:

Once LibKey Nomad is installed, you will be prompted to select an institution. You can type thomas in the box to get a short list quickly. Click on University of St. Thomas to complete the process.

When you land on a page with an article that is available to download, you get a banner alert at the bottom of your screen. Click to download the PDF. If you are off-campus, you will be routed through the proxy server to authenticate as an authorized user.

LibKey Nomad will connect you to our GET IT service when you land on a page where we don't have current access. In this example from Current Nutrition Reports, the Library does not have access and clicking "Access Options" will give you the option of submitting an Interlibrary Loan request.

Search Journal Titles

Find journals and newspapers subscribed to by St. Thomas. Enter all or the beginning of the title (e.g., New York Times or Harvard).