The 60 MINUTES: 1997–2014 collection from Alexander Street grants access to the CBS News archives from this period, including many episodes not widely seen since their original broadcast.
Academic Video Online is a collection of streaming videos covering the areas of art, architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, economics, education, ethnic studies, ethnography, gay and lesbian studies, health, history, humanities, law and public safety, literature, opera, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, science, theater, and women's studies.
Digitalia Film Library (streaming video database) is a multilingual, multi-national collection of films and documentaries from Spain, France, other European countries, North America (Classic) and Latin America (especially Mexico, Cuba, Argentina and Brazil). Among the subjects included in the documentaries are archeology, history, nature, arts, and more. Note: To activate the English subtitles, click under the CC icons.
Digital Theatre is an online streaming service with more than 150 productions from world-class theatre companies around the globe available for instant access, from drama and opera to musicals and dance productions.
More than 2000 videos from different distributors, including Bullfrog, Women Make Movies, Icarus Films, Good Docs, Film Movement, and more. Contains documentaries in a wide range of subjects including, Environmental Studies, Political Science, Peace & Justice, Criminal Justice, Immigration, International Studies, Race and Racism, Ethnic Studies, History, Art, Media Studies, and more.
Global selection of critically-acclaimed documentary films curated by film experts and leading academics. Includes many Oscar-nominated films and festival winners.
Multi-disciplinary database of streaming videos from Infobase. Provides academic videos in the subject areas of psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences, world cinema, and more.
Hundreds of full-length feature films for instructional purposes. The collection focuses on current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more.
NOTE: Limited to classroom and personal use (cannot be used for campus screenings/public events).
Hoopla provides streaming video (movies and TV shows) and audiobooks. Popular titles and classics, fiction and nonfiction are available. For information about devices and more visit Hoopla help.
NOTE: This resource is available only to current UST students, faculty, and staff who create an account with Hoopla. It is limited to classroom/personal use and cannot be used for campus screenings/public events. Limited to 7 borrows per month.
Access to more than 10,000 titles in all subject areas. Kanopy titles not available immediately can be requested by faculty for class use or by students for research only. If you find a Kanopy video that you can't access, click the link and follow the instructions to place a request.
Lumiere is a database sponsored by the University of California, Berkeley containing clips drawn from films in 62 languages. Faculty can use clips that have already been created or create their own. Full films are available also. The clips/films can be requested only from films St. Thomas and Berkeley both currently own.
Instructions on how to use Lumiere
Note: This collection is limited to faculty only for registered courses (cannot be used for campus screenings/public events). To register an account, you must agree to post links ONLY in Canvas, where access is limited to students enrolled in your class; do NOT send links via email.
Collection of documentaries and educational films on social, political, and cultural issues; education; and American history hosted by Kanopy.
A streaming music video database covering over 1,500 films in high definition with the best of classical music from Baroque to Contemporary, including concerts, operas, ballets, archival documents, portraits of artists and composers, master classes, and conductors in rehearsals. Over 100 live broadcasts every year from leading concert halls and classical music festivals. Plus, more than 500 jazz programs.
Curated collection of streaming films featuring filmmakers from underrepresented voices from around the world. It includes independent, international, and documentary films from distributors such as Grasshopper Film, MTV Documentary Films, and Canyon Cinema. Browse all the subject areas.
Psychotherapy.net features diverse collections of high quality training videos in the field of counseling, psychotherapy, addiction, and social work. The majority of the videos show therapists, social workers and other mental health professionals conducting therapy and demonstrating clinical skills, along with pre and post discussions. Includes most major theoretical orientations, including cognitive-behavioral, psychoanalytic/psychodynamic, family systems, existential-humanistic, motivational interviewing, and many others. Most video titles include downloadable Instructor’s Manual.
Swank Digital Campus allows the UST community to stream major motion pictures. Watch films directly through the Swank interface or add links to Canvas for assigned viewing.
NOTE: Limited to classroom and personal use (cannot be used for campus screenings/public events).
Under-Told Stories is a journalism project focused on the consequences of poverty and the work of change agents addressing them. Content is produced for highly respected news organizations and, in collaboration with educators, engages students on pressing issues of our time. This project is a partnership between PBS NewsHour and University of St. Thomas.
The Films on Demand World Cinema Collection includes more than 350 movies from directors across the globe. Includes the silent era, American and European films from the mid-20th century, and award-winning contemporary films featured by Global Lens. The collection is subdivided by regions: German Cinema, French Cinema, Italian Cinema, Latin American Cinema, Chinese-language Cinema, Turkish and Middle Eastern Cinema, and more.
Naxos Music Library streaming audio database offers over a million tracks of classical, film, world, and folk music. Users can search for music by composer, artist, period, year of composition, instrument, label, duration, mood, or genre. Added features include composer biographies, musical terms glossaries, work analyses, and K-12 curriculum resources. Playlists can be created for personal or classroom use.
Naxos Music Library Jazz streaming audio database offers tens of thousands of tracks of classic and contemporary jazz, blues, and R&B performed by international jazz artists. Users can select music by composer, artist, ensemble, instrument, label, or genre. Playlists can be created for personal or classroom use. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Smithsonian Global Sound streaming audio database has more than 40,000 individual tracks of music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds from Smithsonian/Folkways and other record labels. Included are readings of literary and dramatic works, historic speeches, language instruction, natural sounds, environmental and mechanical sounds, sound effects, children's music, and traditional music from virtually everywhere in the world. Playlists can be created for personal or classroom use.
Streaming audio database that focuses on hard-to-find yet culturally and academically important recordings of American classical, modern, and avant-garde music and ensembles. Contains over 4,000 albums from independent labels including New World, Composers Recordings Inc., Albany, Innova, and Cedille. Genres represented include folk music, opera, Native American, jazz, 19th-century classical, early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic, and more.
A streaming music video database covering over 1,500 films in high definition with the best of classical music from Baroque to Contemporary, including concerts, operas, ballets, archival documents, portraits of artists and composers, master classes, and conductors in rehearsals. Over 100 live broadcasts every year from leading concert halls and classical music festivals. Plus, more than 500 jazz programs.
Multi-disciplinary database of streaming videos from Infobase. Provides academic videos in the subject areas of psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences, world cinema, and more.
Academic Video Online is a collection of streaming videos covering the areas of art, architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, economics, education, ethnic studies, ethnography, gay and lesbian studies, health, history, humanities, law and public safety, literature, opera, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, science, theater, and women's studies.