Research and Course Guides: Emerging Technologies in Business: Other Technologies (Quantum/Edge Computing, 5G)

Research

Keeping Current: Sources & Search Strategies for Quantum, Edge Computing and 5G

Use these suggestions to perform your own searches for current content about AI and Machine Learning technology. As a keyword search strategy in LibrarySearch or one of the other research databases, try: "quantum computing" OR "edge computing" OR 5G. As a next step, add additional terms using a Boolean "AND" operator like: "quantum computing" AND "banking". As you find quality articles, look in the item's record for any subject headings that seem promising to expand your search.

(image credit: Pixabay, 2019)

Use LibrarySearch to find articles, books, and more

Search Tips:

to focus your search, use the limits on the left side of the result page
try the Peer Review limit to focus your results on scholarly articles
learn more about LibrarySearch

Suggested Library Research Databases: Quantum Computing, Edge Computing, 5G

Try the following sources to search for articles or data on this topic:

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier contains scholarly journals in all disciplines of business including management, finance, marketing and international trade. It also contains company, industry and country reports, SWOTs, and market research reports.
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry This link opens in a new window
ABI/Inform Trade & Industry contains business and in depth company and industry articles from over 2,000 scholarly, trade, and news publications. It also includes market research and industry reports from major and smaller, niche industries.
ProQuest US Newsstream, including Star Tribune This link opens in a new window
Searches the most recent U.S. news content back to the 1980s, featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Includes full text of The New York Times, Star Tribune, Pioneer Press, and Wall Street Journal.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista indexes statistics and studies. Search on a relevant topic, then look especially in the results or in the filters at left for dossiers, topics, or studies.
IBISWorld Industry Market Research This link opens in a new window
Industry analysis and data for United States, Canada, China, and global industries.
IBISWorld user guide
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Market research reports from the consumer perspective for U.S. and global markets.
Mintel Academic user guide

Harvard Think Tank Search
MIT Technology Review
A good source for timely tech articles. Use the link above for unlimited searching across all issues.

Economist, The This link opens in a new window
University-wide subscription to the digital edition of the esteemed British newsweekly. Includes current and prior coverage back to 1997; see the separate Economist Historical Archive for coverage back to 1843.
eMarketer This link opens in a new window
Analysis, market data, and statistics on the internet, e-commerce, online marketing, social media, and emerging digital technologies around the world.

Learn

Selected Readings: Quantum Computing

Commercial Applications of Quantum Computing
Bova, Francesco, Avi Goldfarb, and Roger G Melko. “Commercial Applications of Quantum Computing.” EPJ quantum technology 8, no. 1 (2021): 1-13.
Hyper-accurate Positioning is Rolling Out Worldwide
Xin, Ling (Feb. 2021). "Hyper-accurate Positioning is Rolling Out Worldwide," MIT Technology Review.
Quantum Computing
Hevia, Jose Luis, Guido Peterssen, Christof Ebert, and Mario Piattini. “Quantum Computing.” IEEE software 38, no. 5 (2021): 7–15.
Quantum Computing: National Security Primer
Kitchen, K. (2021). Quantum Computing: National Security Primer. Washington, D.C., American Enterprise Institute.
Quantum Computing: Progress and Prospects
National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences, Intelligence Community Studies Board, Computer Science and Telecommunications Board, Committee on Technical Assessment of the Feasibility and Implications of Quantum Computing, Mark Horowitz, and Emily Grumbling. Quantum Computing: Progress and Prospects. Washington, D.C: National Academies Press, 2019.
Quantum Computing - Statistics & Facts
Statista. Quantum Computing - Statistics & Facts. 2023. (also search for other reports.)

Selected Readings: Edge Computing

The Cloud-to-Thing Continuum Opportunities and Challenges in Cloud, Fog and Edge Computing
Lynn, Theo., John G. Mooney, Brian Lee, and Patricia Takako Endo. (2020) The Cloud-to-Thing Continuum Opportunities and Challenges in Cloud, Fog and Edge Computing. 1st ed.. Cham: Springer International Publishing, 2020.
Edge Computing
Statista. Edge Computing - Statistics Report. 2022. (also search for other reports).
Edge Computing: A Survey
Khan, Wazir Zada, Ejaz Ahmed, Saqib Hakak, Ibrar Yaqoob, and Arif Ahmed. (2019). “Edge Computing: A Survey.” Future generation computer systems 97: 219–235.
Edge Computing for the Internet of Things: A Case Study
Premsankar, Gopika, Mario Di Francesco, and Tarik Taleb. “Edge Computing for the Internet of Things: A Case Study.” IEEE internet of things journal 5, no. 2 (2018): 1275–1284.
Edge Computing - Statistics & Facts
Statista. Edge Computing - Statistics & Facts. 2023.
Edge Server Placement in Mobile Edge Computing
Wang, Shangguang, Yali Zhao, Jinlinag Xu, Jie Yuan, and Ching-Hsien Hsu. (2019) “Edge Server Placement in Mobile Edge Computing.” Journal of parallel and distributed computing 127: 160–168.
The Emergence of Edge Computing
Satyanarayanan, Mahadev. (2017). “The Emergence of Edge Computing.” Computer 50, no. 1: 30–39.
Fog and Edge Computing : Principles and Paradigms
Buyya, Rajkumar, and Satish Narayana Srirama. (2019). "Fog and Edge Computing: Principles and Paradigms." 1st edition. Hoboken, New Jersey: John Wiley & Sons, Inc., 2019.

Selected Readings: 5G

5G Explained : Security and Deployment of Advanced Mobile Communications
Penttinen, Jyrki T. J. (2019). 5G Explained : Security and Deployment of Advanced Mobile Communications, John Wiley & Sons, Incorporated.
5G for the connected world
Chandramouli, Devaki, Rainer Liebhart, and Juho Pirskanen. 5G for the Connected World. (2019). 1st edition. Hoboken, New Jersey: John Wiley & Sons, Inc., 2019.
5G in the United States
Statista. 5G in the United States - Statistics Report.. 2022.
5G Roadmap: 10 Key Enabling Technologies
Akyildiz, Ian F, Shuai Nie, Shih-Chun Lin, and Manoj Chandrasekaran. (2016). “5G Roadmap: 10 Key Enabling Technologies.” Computer networks 106: 17–48.
A business case for 5G mobile broadband in a dense urban area
Rendon Schneir, Juan, Ade Ajibulu, Konstantinos Konstantinou, Julie Bradford, Gerd Zimmermann, Heinz Droste, and Rafael Canto. (2019). “A Business Case for 5G Mobile Broadband in a Dense Urban Area.” Telecommunications policy 43, no. 7: 101813–.
eMarketer: 5G
Provides market data, statistics, and analysis on the Internet, marketing, and emerging technologies. This search scoped to 5G. If you hit a paywall off campus, log in to our subscription version and search for the content by topic or title.