Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Background Sources - Philosophy: Encyclopedias, handbooks, etc
The Oxford Handbook of Aquinas by
Publication Date: 2012-01-25
Thomas Aquinas (1224/6-1274) lived an active, demanding academic and ecclesiastical life that ended while he was still comparatively young. He nonetheless produced many works, varying in length from a few pages to a few volumes.The present book is an introduction to this influential author and a guide to his thought on almost all the major topics on which he wrote. The book begins with an account of Aquinas's life and works. The next section contains a series of essays that set Aquinas in his intellectual context. Theyfocus on the philosophical sources that are likely to have influenced his thinking, the most prominent of which were certain Greek philosophers (chiefly Aristotle), Latin Christian writers (such as Augustine), and Jewish and Islamic authors (such as Maimonides and Avicenna). The subsequent sectionsof the book address topics that Aquinas himself discussed. These include metaphysics, the existence and nature of God, ethics and action theory, epistemology, philosophy of mind and human nature, the nature of language, and an array of theological topics, including Trinity, Incarnation, sacraments,resurrection, and the problem of evil, among others. These sections include more than thirty contributions on topics central to Aquinas's own worldview. The final sections of the volume address the development of Aquinas's thought and its historical influence. Any attempt to present the views of a philosopher in an earlier historical period that is meant to foster reflection on that thinker's views needs to be both historically faithful and also philosophically engaged. The present book combines both exposition and evaluation insofar as its contributorshave space to engage in both. This Handbook is therefore meant to be useful to someone wanting to learn about Aquinas's philosophy and theology while also looking for help in philosophical interaction with it.
The Oxford Handbook of Aristotle by
Publication Date: 2012-07-26
The Oxford Handbook of Aristotle reflects the lively international character of Aristotelian studies, drawing contributors from the United Kingdom, the United States, Germany, France, Switzerland, Italy, Canada, and Japan; it also, appropriately, includes a preponderance of authors from the University of Oxford, which has been a center of Aristotelian studies for many centuries. The volume equally reflects the broad range of activity Aristotelian studies comprise today: such activity ranges from the primarily textual and philological to the application of broadly Aristotelian themes to contemporary problems irrespective of their narrow textual fidelity. In between these extremes one finds the core of Aristotelian scholarship as it is practiced today, and as it is primarily represented in this Handbook: textual exegesis and criticism. Even within this more limited core activity, one witnesses a rich range of pursuits, with some scholars seeking primarily to understand Aristotle in his own philosophical milieu and others seeking rather to place him into direct conversation with contemporary philosophers and their present-day concerns. No one of these enterprises exhausts the field. On the contrary, one of the most welcome and enlivening features of the contemporary Aristotelian scene is precisely the cross-fertilization these mutually beneficial and complementary activities offer one another. The volume, prefaced with an introduction to Aristotle's life and works by the editor, covers the main areas of Aristotelian philosophy and intellectual enquiry: ethics, metaphysics, politics, logic, language, psychology, rhetoric, poetics, theology, physical and biological investigation, and philosophical method. It also, and distinctively, looks both backwards and forwards: two chapters recount Aristotle's treatment of earlier philosophers, who proved formative to his own orientations and methods, and another three chapters chart the long afterlife of Aristotle's philosophy, in Late Antiquity, in the Islamic World, and in the Latin West.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Based on the 1998 authoritative print edition, this encyclopedia features over 2,000 signed articles across the breadth of the discipline by international experts. Each year new or revised entries are added. The 10 volume print edition is available in Reference at both Ireland and OSF Libraries. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Wiley Online Library
Philosophy e-books on Aesthetics • African-American • Ancient • Continental • Descartes • Epistemology • Feminist • Hegel • Heidegger • Hobbes • Hume • Kant • Latin America • Metaphysics • Middle Ages • Natural Theology • Nietzsche • Phenomenology • Plato • Religion •Science • Wittgenstein • World Philosophies
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Contains many extended articles on a range of topics in philosophy from classical times to the modern day. Links to relevant sites are included in the articles.
Resource of reference materials providing access to about hundreds of online reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations from a variety of publishers. Covers both general reference and subject-specific reference titles for a variety of disciplines. Topic Pages give great background overviews on subjects.
Online Background Sources - Religion: Encyclopedias, etc.
New Catholic Encyclopedia
A standard work on the history of Catholicism and its relation to the world. It includes articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more.
Encyclopedia of Religion
Recently updated version of the classic resource for in-depth background on all topics in religion and religions, strong in East, West, and World religions. Authoritative articles by outstanding scholars.
Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
The single best one-volume overview of Church history, covering all periods. Great for looking up people, ideas, topics, issues, etc. new or unfamiliar to you.
Updated edition of a classic, the best source for background information on Judaism and Jewish topics
Quick Ready Reference
Covers both general reference and subject-specific reference titles. Topic Pages give great background overviews on subjects.
Use for quick look ups. Oxford Reference Online contains dictionaries, encyclopedias, and Oxford Companions on a wide variety of topics. Brief entries and information about art, biology, business, classics, computing, environmental science, economics, history, language, law, literature, medicine, physical science, political science, quotations, religion and philosophy, and science.
Full-text encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library (formerly Blackwell Reference Online) is a vast online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences.