Research and Course Guides: Saint Thomas Aquinas: Home

Collected Works of Saint Thomas Aquinas Database

Thomistic Studies materials are located in both OSF and Ireland Libraries. The two main class numbers used for Aquinas at St. Thomas libraries are: B765 and BX1749. Some online versions of his works can be found in the next entries:

Collected Works of St. Thomas Aquinas This link opens in a new window
Contains: Summa contra gentiles -- Summa theologiae -- The disputed questions on truth -- On the power of God -- On evil -- On spiritual creatures -- Questions on the soul -- On the virtues in general -- On charity -- Quodlibetal questions -- Treatise on separate substances -- An apology for the religious orders -- The religious state, the episcopate and the priestly office -- On the uniqueness of the intellect against the Averroists -- On the unity of the intellect against the Averroists -- Aquinas on being and essence -- An introduction to the philosophy of nature -- "The letter of Thomas Aquinas 'De occultis operibus naturae ad quendam militem ultramonatanum'" -- On the eternity of the world -- The opusculum on lots of St. Thomas -- On kingship -- Compendium of theology -- Catechetical instructions of St. Thomas -- "On buying and selling on credit" -- Aquinas' exposition of Aristotle's Treatise on the heavens -- Aquinas' exposition of Aristotle's Treatise on generation and corruption -- Commentary on Aristotle's Physics -- Commentary on the Nicomachean ethics -- Commentary on Aristotle's "Politics" -- Commentary on the Posterior analytics of Aristotle -- On Meteorology -- Aristotle on interpretation : commentary by St. Thomas and Cajetan -- Aristotle's De anima with the commentary of St. Thomas Aquinas -- On memory and recollection -- Commentary on the Metaphysics of Aristotle -- Faith, reason, and theology : questions I-IV of the Commentary on Boethius' De Trinitate -- The division and methods of the sciences : questions V-VI of the Commentary on Boethius' De Trinitate, 4th edition -- The literal exposition of Job : a scriptural commentary concerning providence -- The Sunday sermons of the Great Fathers -- Commentary on St. John. Volume 1 -- Commentary on St. Paul's Epistle to the Galatians -- Commentary on St. Paul's Epistle to the Ephesians -- Commentary on St. Paul's Epistle to the Thessalonians -- Commentary on St. Paul's Epistle to the Philippians -- De quatuor oppositis -- The letter of Thomas Aquinas to Brother John "De modo studendi."

Corpus Thomisticum - Free Online Site

Corpus Thomsticum
The Corpus Thomisticum project aims to provide scholars with a set of free online instruments of research on Thomas Aquinas, including the Opera Omnia in Latin, a searchable Index Thomisticus, and other resources.

Saint Thomas Aquinas, O.P., also Thomas of Aquin or Aquino, was an Italian Dominican priest and an immensely influential philosopher and theologian in the tradition of Scholasticism. Within this world he was also known as The "Dumb Ox" "Angelic Doctor", Doctor Communis, and Doctor Universalis. He was the foremost classical proponent of natural theology, and the father of Thomism. His influence on Western thought is considerable, and much of modern philosophy was conceived by developing or refuting his ideas, particularly in the areas of ethics, natural law, metaphysics, and political theory. One of the 35 Doctors of the Church, he is considered the Church's greatest theologian and philosopher. He has been honored with the special praises of the Pontiffs, and is the patron of Catholic schools."

Beginner's Guides

Aquinas by Edward Feser
ISBN: 1851686908
Publication Date: 2009-09-01
The greatest of the medieval philosophers, Thomas Aquinas sought to reconcile Christian doctrine with the classical philosophy of Aristotle and Plato. As controversial in his time as he is influential today, Aquinas is perhaps best known for his "Five Ways", a collection of ingenious--but often misunderstood--arguments for the existence of God. In this multifaceted introduction to the renowned thinker, Edward Feser shows how Aquinas's works are as relevant today as when they were written. Defending his ideas from modern misrepresentation, Feser introduces the great Saint's views on metaphysics, ethics, psychology, and philosophy of religion. Arguing that Aquinas's thought avoids many of the pitfalls of contemporary philosophy, this comprehensive volume will captivate both the seasoned "Thomist" and the absolute novice.
Thomas Aquinas's Summa Theologiae by Bernard McGinn
ISBN: 0691154260
Publication Date: 2014-05-25
This concise book tells the story of the most important theological work of the Middle Ages, the vast Summa theologiae of Thomas Aquinas, which holds a unique place in Western religion and philosophy. Written between 1266 and 1273, the Summa was conceived by Aquinas as an instructional guide for teachers and novices and a compendium of all the approved teachings of the Catholic Church. It synthesizes an astonishing range of scholarship, covering hundreds of topics and containing more than a million and a half words--and was still unfinished at the time of Aquinas's death. Here, Bernard McGinn, one of today's most acclaimed scholars of medieval Christianity, vividly describes the world that shaped Aquinas, then turns to the Dominican friar's life and career, examining Aquinas's reasons for writing his masterpiece, its subject matter, and the novel way he organized it. McGinn gives readers a brief tour of the Summa itself, and then discusses its reception over the past seven hundred years. He looks at the influence of the Summa on such giants of medieval Christendom as Meister Eckhart, its ridicule during the Enlightenment, the rise and fall of Neothomism in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the role of the Summa in the post-Vatican II church, and the book's enduring relevance today. Tracing the remarkable life of this iconic work, McGinn's wide-ranging account provides insight into Aquinas's own understanding of the Summa as a communication of the theological wisdom that has been given to humanity in revelation.

Cambridge Companion to...

The Cambridge Companion to the Summa Theologiae by Philip McCosker (Editor); Denys Turner (Editor)
ISBN: 0521705444
Publication Date: 2016-06-13
Arguably the most influential work of systematic theology in the history of Christianity, Thomas Aquinas' Summa Theologiae has shaped all subsequent theology since it was written in the late thirteenth century. This Companion features essays from both specialists in Aquinas' thought and from constructive contemporary theologians to demonstrate how to read the text effectively and how to relate it to past and current theological questions. The authors thoroughly examine individual topics addressed in the Summa, such as God, the Trinity, eternity, providence, virtue, grace, and the sacraments, making the text accessible to students of all levels. They further discuss the contextual, methodological, and structural issues surrounding the Summa, as well as its interaction with a variety of religious traditions. This volume will not only allow readers to develop a comprehensive multi-perspectival understanding of Aquinas' main mature theological work, but also promote dialogue about the vital role of the Summa in theology today.

The Westminster Handbook of...

Ambrose of Milan's Method of Mystagogical Preaching by Craig Alan Satterlee
ISBN: 9780814661857
Publication Date: 2002-02-01
Mystagogy, or sustained reflection on baptism and the Eucharist, is the method of post-baptismal catechesis used in the R.C.I.A. program.

Librarian

Kathryn Burke

Email Me

Contact:

O’Shaughnessy-Frey Library | LIB 117

651 962-5027

Subjects: Aerospace Studies, Art History, Catholic Studies, Environmental, Geography, Geology, Mathematics, Philosophy, Physics, Sustainability, Theology & Religion

Thomas Aquinas Subject Headings - search these in our LibrarySearch.

To search by "Subject Headings" in the library's online Catalog, type the following:

Thomas, Aquinas, Saint, 1225?-1274 and click "Search". You will see the list of additional subject headings, which you can use to further narrow down your subject.

Some of the examples of subject headings include:

•    Thomas, Aquinas, Saint, 1225?-1274. Summa theologica.

•    Thomas, Aquinas, Saint, 1225?-1274. Summa contra gentiles.

•    Thomas, Aquinas, Saint, 1225?-1274--Theology.

•    Thomas, Aquinas, Saint, 1225?-1274--Philosophy

•    Thomas, Aquinas, Saint, 1225?-1274--Metaphysics.

•    Thomas, Aquinas, Saint, 1225?-1274--Anthropology.

•    Thomas, Aquinas, Saint, 1225?-1274--Criticism and interpretation.

•    Thomas, Aquinas, Saint, 1225?-1274--Contributions in Christology.

•    Thomas, Aquinas, Saint, 1225?-1274. De ente et essentia.

•    Thomas, Aquinas, Saint, 1225?-1274. Ethics.

•    Thomas, Aquinas, Saint, 1225?-1274--Knowledge, Theory of.

• Thomas, Aquinas, Saint, 1225?-1274--Contributions in Christian ethics.

LibrarySearch

Off Campus Access

ACCESSING ONLINE RESOURCES from OFF-CAMPUS

Online databases and electronic journals subscribed to by the UST Libraries are licensed for use by the St. Thomas community ONLY. Because of this restriction, we need to verify that anyone accessing these databases is a current member of the St. Thomas community.

Off Campus Access

Credits

THANK YOU.

With their permission, we have based this guide on one done by Dustin Booher, Kevin Gunn, Taras Zvir from the Catholic University of America.