Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus This link opens in a new window
Our primary theology and religion index, with over 470 titles in full text out of over 2,250 titles indexed, primarily academic journal articles, books, review, and essays: international in scope. Includes the contents of the Catholic Periodical and Literature Index. Produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Find Articles in Philosophy Sources
Philosophy Documentation Center (Formerly POIESIS: Philosophy Online Serials) This link opens in a new window
Formerly Poiesis. Searchable access to the full text of St Thomas subscribed philosophy journals, plus indexing to dozens more.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Now with over 200 full-text titles, the renowned philosophy index offers even more for undergraduates, graduate students and researchers. International in scope, The Philosopher’s Index with Full Text offers content from 139 countries. It provides full-text journals published in the United States and Britain as well as in 27 other countries.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides online access to a large selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals and ebooks.
JSTOR provides access to BACK FILES of digitized versions of complete runs of key scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and the social sciences. The Arts & Sciences collections represent the building blocks of an interdisciplinary scholarly journal archive
Articles in Basic Index: Good Starting Place
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A good place to start your research, Academic Search Premier is the world's largest academic, multi-disciplinary database. It provides full text for over 8,400 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals.
Why use periodicals?
Periodicals are useful for three primary reasons: they...
- provide a wealth of valuable information that is current and timely
- contain the latest discussions on a topic
- cover topics not yet published in book form
Periodicals are created for different audiences. Some are for general readers and others for scholars and researchers.
Although the terms periodical, journal, serial and magazine have
slightly different definitions, you will likely hear them used
interchangeably. These are works that come out on a regular basis
(weekly, monthly, annually) and contain articles written by various
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that
indexes the full text of scholarly literature (journals) across an array
of publishing formats and disciplines. It includes most peer-reviewed
online journals. Use FIND IT@UST Libraries to get the full-text if not available in Google Scholar.