Research and Course Guides: PSYC 301--Psychopathology: Finding Articles

Psychology Databases

These databases are the ones you should use to start your search for research articles.

PsycINFO
Provides abstracts and full text of thousands of journals from the 1800s to the present in psychology and related disciplines, including education, linguistics, neurosciences, pharmacology, and social work.
PubMed
The National Library of Medicine's openly searchable and highly comprehensive database of biomedical literature, providing citations from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
PTSDpubs
PTSDpubs's goal is to include all research and developments regarding trauma-related experience. (Published by the Department of Defense)
Psychiatry Online (Including the DSM)
Every Diagnostical and Statistical Manual (DSM) from 1952 until the current DSM-5-TR. Plus textbooks, case studies, and practice guidelines.
MedlinePlus
Health resource curated by the National Library of Medicine. Focuses on consumer health.
BioOne
BioOne provides full-text access to both current and archival "bioscience research journals, featuring timely content on a wide-array of today’s most pressing topics, including global warming, stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation."
SciFinder-n
A comprehensive database of chemistry literature including articles, book chapters, dissertations, and patents. Find substance and reaction information as well as suppliers and chemical regulatory data.
SciFinder-n user guide
First-time users: You must first register an individual account by creating your own unique SciFinder username and password (when registering, use your UST email address).
If you have already registered for Classic SciFinder, that login should work for SciFinder-n.
Dissertations and Theses Global
This database provides citations for over 2.7 million dissertations and theses from colleges and universities around the world. Close to half are available in full-text PDF format, including all St. Thomas dissertations that have been submitted to the database. If you come across a document that does not have a PDF, you may request it through interlibrary loan.
NEW! Find key takeaways, important concepts, and suggested research topics with the AI-powered ProQuest Research Assistant.

Other Psychology Databases

These databases also include resources covering Psychology topics.

SocINDEX with Full Text
Includes resources in the fields of sociology and related subject areas.
Social Work Abstracts
Produced by the NASW, it contains records from journals on topics such as homelessness, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, and community organizations. Limited to 8 simultaneous users.
ERIC
Provides full-text research on a range of education topics. Due to federal funding cuts, this database will not be updated after April 23rd 2025. Please explore Education Source for current education research
Education Source
Covers a wide range of education topics from early childhood to higher ed as well as educational specialties like adult education, multilingual education, and more. Includes peer-reviewed journal articles, conference papers, books, and more.
Consumer Health Complete
A resource for consumer-oriented health content covering subjects such as aging, cancer, nutrition, and more.
Academic Search Ultimate
Full text for thousands of peer-reviewed journals and general interest sources across many subject areas.

GET IT

Click the GET IT button in any database to get the full text of an article. If UST Libraries doesn't own it, you'll be given an option to request it from another library.

More information

LibrarySearch - Audio search

Search Journal Titles

Find journals and newspapers subscribed to by St. Thomas. Enter all or the beginning of the title (e.g., New York Times or Harvard).